We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view at the top and the temple down the road is beautiful”

Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.68*
and up
Khao Takiab and Plearnwan Tour in Hua Hin Including Lunch
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view at the top and the temple down the road is beautiful”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The temple was nice and the view on the top was very impressive too. Did not like the monkeys, they were really agressive, jumped to my kids, took theirs water and ice cream. Are they so hungry..???

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tnbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    343
    219
    50
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“fun & scary”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

visited based on hotel recommendation.
was interesting to see, but those monkeys go nuts (!) at the slightest hint of food. they will grab your water, even coke bottle from your hand.
One decided to jump & climb my friend, if it had been me, I'd probably faint :-)
the area is quite dirty & unkept. I guess they gave up long ago fixing what the monkeys break.

many abandonded houses & the funny part is all the houses windows, balconies are caged up. the ac units, the satelite dishes are all under protection from the monkeys.
so the monkeys are free & humans live in cages, if the monkeys threw them nuts, that'll be something !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One wrong turn and we ended up with a great side trip!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

So we were trying to get to the beach and ended up driving up the hill to this cool little spot. The view of Hua Hin was amazing and there were monkeys everywhere. Be careful, monkeys are not pets. This is a very steep staircase so please watch your step. If you are in Thailand and looking to emmerse yourself in religion, culture and tradition, then this is a cool temple. The bells are not found at all temples so that was an experience we did not have elsewhere on our trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatPlayDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice view at the top”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's one of the popular attractions in Hua Hin, I guess because of the temple and the view. However, I wasn't a fan of the monkeys. I had a bad experience in the past about monkeys and almost passed this place up because of that.

When I came here, all of the establishments at the bottom of the hill are closed so this place looked more like a deserted area with a lot of monkey poop. The view at the top was nice, and make sure you go down the dirt road to access the temple to the other side of the peak.

To get here, just ride the green song thaew (green truck that has two seats, like that of a jeepney) where the night market is located, at the corner of Sasong and Dechanuchit. The last stop is Takiab so you don't need to ask directions if you don't speak Thai. Ride is 10Baht. The hill is about 10-15minute walk from the song thaew stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ariel_dapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Monkeys everywhere!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A very popular tourist attraction and worth a couple of hours of your time, its a steep road up to the top but once your there the view is magnificent and the temple just down the road is very impressive too.
watch out for hundreds of monkeys, which you can feed by buying bananas or monkey nuts.... they will climb all over you and even pinch your drink or ice cream from your hand.... I know this from personal experience! but some good photo opportunities. Lots of souvenir shops and places to buy drinks etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulandSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab) also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing