We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of Hua Hin and lots of monkeys to see and photograph”

Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.98*
and up
Khao Takiab and Plearnwan Tour in Hua Hin Including Lunch
US
Level Contributor
161 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice view of Hua Hin and lots of monkeys to see and photograph”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great views of Hua Hin from the top of the stairs where a small temple is located. The stairs are a steep climb but worth the views.  The monkeys at the top of the hill are entertaining to watch and take some photos.  Be careful of them as they are not shy! There are people who will sell you food to feed them though there are signs all over not to feed them. If you choose to feed them be prepared to have monkeys climbing all over you. 

Helpful?
Thank chatterbox-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    335
    212
    48
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Monkey madness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Got a taxi to the top. The monkeys know the rattle of the key in the locked food stores & come running. They are amusing to watch, particularly the youngsters chasing each other around.
Steps to the temple are quite steep, so pace yourself. The views are worth the climb. You get great panorama shots & a breeze!
We found the drive through the fishing village that you go through at the bottom of the mountain worth a look too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
698 reviews
543 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Nice views of Hua Hin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We took a taxi which took us to the top of the the hill. There is a temple which is OK. There is the usual dress code so if you don't have long pants and shirt being a man or covered shoulders and knees being a woman you won't be able to climb up the steps to see the temple. It was an awfully hot day but I took a shirt to put over my strappy dress and my husband took a sarong he had to buy at Bangkok. There are people selling sarongs so you can always buy one there. The temple was tiny and nothing special but the views over Hua Hin were nice. We walked around the market which sold souvenirs, I bought two beautiful sea shells and was given a discount without asking, I was prepared to pay the full price as hate to haggle.
We saw quite a few monkeys but they were just laying around probably being too hot to bother anyone.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from the top”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The best thing was the views over Hua Hin - there are tourist shops at the top as well as a Temple and lots of monkeys.

Helpful?
1 Thank maggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Temple, monkeys and great view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice place to see if not for the temple and numerous monkeys but for the wonderful views along the coast past Hua Hin. The steps to the temple are quite long and steep and might not be for people who have a fear of heights. Several shops to browse through and then a short walk down the road to the bottom of the mountain puts you into a small fishing village where cheap fresh seafood meals can be bought and eaten. Nice way to fill in the morning and lunch.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank diinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab) also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing