We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Chopsticks Hill (Khao Takiab)
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveler rating
238
409
296
74
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
409
296
74
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey mountain steep steps wild monkeys fishing village golden buddha hua hin beach standing buddha nice temple tuk tuk walk up worth a visit seafood hundreds shrine coastline baht donation
Filter
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Khao Takiab beach lies to the of Khao Takiab aka Chopstick Hill, aka "Money Mountain". If you are in the area, by all means go to Khao Takiab hill, but do not expect too much - a few monkeys, a nice view back along Hua Hin beach and a small shrine. There is also some sort of army signals post here. A few food stalls at the base and that is it. Really not worth a journey in itself.

Khao Takiab beach is the stretch of beach south from Chopstick Hill to the small, unappealing village of Khao Tao at the other end of the bay. Khao Tao has nothing to offer visitors and is best avoided. The beach comprises coarser, greyer sand than Hua Hin Beach and other than a cluster of hotels at its northern end and a couple of indeterminate Thai style resorts fronting the beach, is largely empty. See picture of beach in July.

The area is undergoing a boom of cheap condo building, presumably to meet the demand from over-wintering Swedes, which makes some parts of the village feel like a building site, producing condo blocks of stunning banality of design. Why anybody would want to live here, I do not understand, the area feeling soul-less.

The hotels and resorts are nothing special - save their price - and most are set well back from the beach. Facilities are few and eating opportunities very restricted outside the hotels themselves. Even in the height of the season, the place would likely have a dormant feel - for some, sleepy charm, for others, a dead in a live hole.

If you want only to lie on a beach and are prepared to drive / catch a taxi into Hua Hin, this may suit you, though I would suggest the less crowded southern end of Hua Hin Beach.

Will we go to Hua Hin again? Yes. Will we go to Khao Takiab again? No.

Date of experience: July 2011
4  Thank Pigman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

No idea what everyone is moaning about this place for! We went to Hua Hin on our honeymoon and stayed in one of the villas at the Sofitel (amazing) we went to Khao Takiab one day by Tuk Tuk - only about £12 from the centre of Hua Hin there and back and he would have waited for 2 hours as well included in that price - which some may say is expensive for Thailand but not expensive when you compare to UK prices so you dont mind!
Khao Takiab was very quiet - there are monkeys but the didnt bother us at all - if you are going to walk around with food and drinks in your hands then I guess you are asking for trouble but if you are sensible then all is good! (You wouldnt drive around a UK safari park with a dead cow hanging out of your open boot would you?!)
Lots of steps up to the top and ladies legs (I think above the knee) need to be covered but I was given a sarong to borrow from a stall at the botttom of the steps.
The views are amazing, it was very quiet when we were there and very serene. The ladies at the stalls can grate on you a little bit but they are only trying to make a living and we got 2 beautiful wooden bowls from here.

Its worth stopping further down the hill and going to stand at the bottom of the golden Buddah - quite a sight! - Our tuk tuk driver did this automatically for us - fabb!!! How many UK taxi drivers would do that?! - I was also given a 'lucky' string bracelet by a nun who blessed it too at the bottom of the tall Buddah. I have never taken it off and have got a new job and won a sweepstake at work since then so who knows!!! :)

Its worth remembering that a lot of people around here dont earn anything like enough to live on so please tip well!

Date of experience: June 2011
6  Thank LTimson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Driving up the hill (you could walk too) you will find some beautiful views towards Hua Hin. This gives some great photo opportunities. On the top beware of the large amount of monkeys. We came by car. The monkeys were just waiting for us. As soon as the door opened one larger one took the cup with ice tea and ran away. I guess we were still lucky. The next car didn't have anything eatable in the door so some 5 monkeys entered the car while the driver and passenger were still inside. They left faster than the monkeys. Watching it from a distance was a funny sight although the car owner seemed less happy. The nearby shop that sells bananas etc to feed the monkeys also feeds themselves sometimes. At that time you will see them coming from all corners and I guess there might have been at least 200.

4  Thank RonaldInBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I don't know why this place got so many great reviews. My husband and I went there because we were told that it is an exclusive place to visit for peace, quiet and beauty. On our way to the beach, we saw a river/stream that was oozing a foreign white, opaque liquid along with what smelled like sewage. Yes, sewage...human waste! We explored the area behind the statue of Buddha, where it was gated and closed off to the tourists. It was where the local fishermen lived. The whole area smelled like a septic tank. It was horrible. And guess where it all drained into? The BEACH!!!! It was the most disgusting smell... And the town has the nerve to advertise it as a high-end resort town!! Everything was over-priced by 3-10 times what it costs in Bangkok and Koh Chang Islands. For example, a small bottle of water will set you back 30 Baht (v. 10 Baht). I don't mind paying a lot to enjoy beautiful, pristine waters as long as it is true! It was a sham, and we felt sooo ripped off.

Date of experience: February 2011
8  Thank Malit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The monkeys are a nuisance at Takiab hill. A few years back they seemed to be just at the top of the mountain around the bottom of the temple area. However now they are groups of them all around and down the hill almost to the fishing boat area. Their nuisance value is that you could be threatened by groups of 10 or more but the main problem is that they will snatch bags from you particularly if they know there is food in them. I have seen a monkey chase after a motorcycle and grab the plastic bag from the pillion passenger without her being aware until it was too late. If you have food they will surround you, try to distract so that the one behind you can do the "snatch". The only remedy is not to walk up the mountain from the fishing boats (it is pretty steep and arduous in hot weather anyway) but to take motor transport to the top. And when you get to the top the monks do actually have a kind of "left luggage" where you can deposit your bags whilst you walk around and up to the temple etc. There is no actual charge but a donation box is prominent for the privilege!

Otherwise "chopsticks hill" is quite interesting albeit a little grubby if you are not used to the basics. And at the "bottom" of the hill the eating places near the fishing boats are very reasonably priced compared with say the Night Market in Hua Hin if not quite as salubrious!!

Date of experience: January 2011
Thank MikeH187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews