We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hua Hin Beach

Hua Hin Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.54*
and up
5-Course Seafood Dinner at Coast Beach Club and Bistro by Centara Grand Beach...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Admittedly a review written by someone who doesn't 'do beaches' could be construne by some as pointless but I won't lie it was nice change from the hussle and the bussle of the Thai cities.

As written by others it is long and quiet and makes for a great walk to relax. We walked mid afternoon. By the number of the dead jellyfish we saw, swimming would be an unhealthy option.

I couldn't tell how far the sea came in, but with reminiscents of beach fires and some litter, I suspect it doesn't come in that far and perhaps it isn't cared for as much and showed signs that it has seen better days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank isnakebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    1,095
    778
    223
    123
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No nice beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is not a nice beach,small,overcrowded,not clean and the water is not as good of quality as ge would expect in a tropical country.If you sit with a towel on the beach,you are full of bites from sandflys,i stay there only a few hours and go back.Be carefull for the little rocks in the water

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dirty, and very busy with vendors, worst in Thailand so far”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Water was full of dirt, not natural dirt like seaweed or plans, but bottles, plastic bags, plastics cups and everything you can imagine like shoes and glasses.
Sand with equal amount of dirt and even poop piles from the horses.
Water is very shallow good for kids but not fun if you don't want your bikini full of sand trying to get a relaxing soak.

Beach very very annoyingly busy with vendors, half of the day is spent saying no thank you, no really no thank you, to all kinds of vendors every two minutes, it never ends.

Worst is the horses galloping with their owners trying to get tourist pay top dollars to ride along the beach, with little caution for children building sand castles or people sun bathing, a real hazard.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Long and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton which is at one end off a beautiful long beach which stretches' way down to a Golden Buddha. Nice for a peaceful walk and hotel watching, we stopped halfway for a refreshing cold drink at one of the beach bars. Even the opportunity for a massage.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good bye Hua Hin Beach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Thailand has been known for it's natural beauty. I am used to visit Pattaya when I was little. The locals turned it into the largest tourist trap in Thailand that rivals Patong of Phuket.

Yesterday was my second trip to Hua Hin Beach this year, the local vendors at the beach took me a row of chairs with a large umbrella. The price on the menu took me by surprise. The plate of fried rice is 300 baht with similar price scheme for the entire menu. Such activities seems to be encouraged as I am only steps away from the tourism police station. The menu itself even stated that the price gouging is approved by the local government. As I look back at my experience, the beach entrance was overcrowded by hawkers and horse rental. The stench from the animals and the feces were noticeable even from a distance. The public restroom and parking spaces cost money. All of this happens within meters from the tourism police station at Hua Hin Beach.

This is a sad day for another vacation spot that has been destroyed by the greed and corruption of the local authority.

Good bye Hua Hin Beach.

Helpful?
6 Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hua Hin Beach also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hua Hin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing