We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, no-frills, good value”
Review of City Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Beach Resort
Ranked #91 of 137 Hotels in Hua Hin
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Basic, no-frills, good value”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an enjoyable stay overall. The hotel is quite old and faded and could do with some refurbishment, but staff were nice, it's in a good location and it's cheap, so to me it represents good value for money.

Breakfast was poor, with cold fried eggs, boiled ham and cheap frankfurter-style sausages and not much else. Lower-3 star standard really - I stayed here a couple of years ago and I'm sure it was better back then.

Location is good, being close to the beach, the night market, train station and plenty of restaurants and bars.

The rooms were very basic but clean enough and fine for somewhere to sleep at the end of the day. The shower and other bathroom fittings all worked.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, although we didn't have much cause to do much more than say hello to them in the morning.

Overall, for the price, I'd say City Beach fits the bill. Somewhere I'd consider returning to if I was on a bit of a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    62
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
30
53
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Fairly average hotel, but the location is good. Breakfast.....hmmmnnn, if you don't mind your ham floating in water......everything fairly basic.
Tried several times to speak to reception staff for information, not very informative I am afraid. Good aircon.......just take the aerogard.....lots of mosquitos in the breakfast room and around the internet.
Average, and a bit dated.
And the pool...ok if you want to share it with lots of pigeons.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

stayed 8nts the hotel is great the lobby has air-con so its a great place to relax after all the shopping at the night markets. breaky was ok buffet. just outside there are many restaurants and fast food ones as well. there is a german restaurant down towards the beach on the left hand side its called Saeng Duean we ate there 4 times its the best for pork sausages,sourcraut and fried potatos. they have yummy cakes as well.
we walked down to tesco shopping mall its about 5km, but we got a tuk tuk baht only 100 bt one way

Room Tip: pool facing its in the shade of an afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

A good place to stay if you want to be downtown and close to the beach. The beautiful city beach is within a 5 - 10 min. walk from the hotel which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukrainian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Great location for short stay located in the centre for the city 2 minutes walk to the beach, surrounded by great restaurant and bar options within a few minutes walk. The hotel is dated and pretty standard but was ok value for money. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was extremely average and next time I`ll give it a miss, the choices were limited and the surrounds were a bit grubby and in need of a facelift. When im on holidays i like to enjoy a leasurely lazy breakfast but this was like eating in a school canteen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cortez48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Room was dirty and needs a upgrade so it becomes more modern and attractive. Location is ok.5 min walk to the beach. Breakfast average.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bartjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

Brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

City Beach Hotel Hua Hin Thailand

October 2010,

A Trip Adviser Member

I have just returned from two weeks vacation in Hua Hin. I have stayed at City Beach on seven occasions previously, mainly due to its central position .

Regrettably the hotel is in need of much work, it has become quite shabby with a couldn't care less attitude from its staff. They used to be friendly and helpful but now they even look unhappy. For the two weeks I was there one of the elevators was out of order and the other was in constant use by workmen transporting cement and other materials to higher levels for some sort of renovation. The rooms are really rundown with significant mould issues in the bath and shower areas. There was also a bug problem in the bathroom. The bed linen is now that old it is starting to fray and has gone grey.

Breakfast is from 6.30am to 10.30am. On two occasions I went down to eat at around 10.10am and found the buffet had already been removed. On one other occasion there was no buffet and when I asked why, I was told there was nothing today as only a hand ful of guest rooms were being occupied.

City Beach does not measure up to the mark. I checked out a couple of other hotels which were also central and comparible in cost and service offered, and they appeared significantly superior.

Until City Beach realise they are struggling and do something to fix their issues I certainly would not return nor would I recommend this hotel to other individuals or families.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rossco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#40 of 137 in Hua Hin
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
#77 of 137 in Hua Hin
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sirin Hotel
Sirin Hotel
#51 of 137 in Hua Hin
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Hua Hin
MANATHAI Hua Hin
#36 of 137 in Hua Hin
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fresh Inn Hotel
Fresh Inn Hotel
#53 of 137 in Hua Hin
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Manthana Hotel
Baan Manthana Hotel
#50 of 137 in Hua Hin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beach Resort

Property: City Beach Resort
Address: 16 Damnoenkasem Road | Hua Hin Beach, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Beach Hotel Hua Hin
Beach City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing