We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a simply journey”

Baan Itsara Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 625 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“a simply journey”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very good food, assorted of selection, variety of local product. we have tried so many spicy food and they really are!!! fantastic service with nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaysorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    79
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“TripA. is not always right ! Typically under-rated / just go ad discover”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the typical situation when Tripadvisor is not necessarily right ... If this restaurants was only reviewed by Thais or by Asian, it would be muche better rated. One good sign for good local food: if the place is crowded and full of locals, it is most likely a good bet.
And there we are. The place is packed, to a point you need to book on weekends. And the guests are 90% Thai !
The food is delicious, and the service extremely friendly and attentive.
We recommend the fish (grouper ) and the crab omelette .
Come on be adventurous and get away from the usual werterns spots of Hua Hin ! Enjoy !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thierry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
780 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Great quality seafood - not that cheap though”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We've been here twice during our stay in Hua Hin. My wife - originally from Thailand - chose this place. She knows fresh and good seafood and this placed made her - and me - very happy.

The location is great. Just right at the beach a bit north from the Night Market. There's some tourists, but mostly Thai people. The place was pretty packed both times, but the service was friendly and fast anyways.

The menu is pretty huge and there's all kinds of seafood and fish. There's also meat dishes, in case you're not into seafood. The spicy Chicken was very well done, as was the spicy fish soup. Great was the whole Crab. Be sure to mention if you want a male or female (with eggs inside) crab.
The food was really well prepared and really fresh. Great flavours! They cook very authentic Thai (sea-)food. The restaurant loses a point for its quite high prices. It's ok by European or American standard, but for Thailand it's on the pricey side. The food's great of course, but you can get the same kinda meal in other towns for less than half the price.

But if you're in Hua Hin surely this place is a great option for good fish and seafood!

Wanna know more about my travels? Check my profile (with a link to my website).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Seafood restaurant that does not have seafood”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Going to a seafood restaurant I believe it is fair to expect that they have a selection of Seafood. No oyster no shrimp, but we could get a fish.

And the bill for 3 dishes and a water + a coconut THB930 Very disappointing. As we might have been unlucky visiting on a Thursday I suggest future dinners to visit only in the weekend and hope for a better selection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asiaunknown_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great place right by the beach”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a delicious dinner here.
When we arrived we were seated by the washing-up station so we asked to move and were seated right next to the beach.
Excellent local fare and some great fish. Very friendly staff.
Like most restaurants in Hua Hin it emptied quite early so don't try to eat too late.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Itsara Restaurant also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Baan Itsara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing