We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers and bbq ribs in Hua Hin”
Review of XXL Kitchen Hua Hin - CLOSED

XXL Kitchen Hua Hin
Price range: $2 - $41
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best burgers and bbq ribs in Hua Hin”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place with delicious burgers, nuggets, ceasar salad and very good ribs.
Service is adorable and the boss Uly is such a Nice Guy !
Good luck and All the best !
We have a couple Of lunch in july with my family and we had great Time and good food in This lovely place .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf_Hua_Hin, Inhaber at XXL Kitchen Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hey Mandounet

Thank you very much for your review and sorry for the late response. It has been verry busy lately.
I hope you will come back if you visit Hua Hin again.

Take care and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Obrigheim
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Farrang-Food in Thailand”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Thai food is the best in the world. But who wants to have a good variety should have try this. After 2 weeks Thai food I wanted to eat something elso and then I saw this wallpaper with this crazy guy and the big burger, so I decided to try XXL Kitchen one time. In the end I was 3 times there, because they have so many nice things. The first time I ate a burger, which had a very good taste (but I didn't try the XL) but when I saw the spareribs, I decided to go there one more time and try them and I didn't regret my decission. The spareribs were delicious. When u order a menu then u get some fingerfood, The third time in the lunchtime, I was a little bit hungry thats why I ordered just a mixed fingerfood-plate, which was enough and also very good, especially the sauces. I really would like to know how they do this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo12071980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf_Hua_Hin, Inhaber at XXL Kitchen Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
:) The crazy guy with the big burger is my business partner :)
Thank you very much for coming 3 times to our Restaurant.
I have to admit that the variety is not as big as you mentioned. We have around 30 products but we needed around 1 year of preperation to get the taste that we wanted.
We do not belive in the quantety of products (Like other Restaurants with a menu thicker then the bible) but the qualety of every single meal.
The sauces are homemade and will be our secret. Sorry for that ;)
Thank you very much for commenting. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Size is not everything”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever; cold, uninviting and like sitting in an empty room. No pictures on the walls, no decoration and the place looks unfinished - a shame as the mini-mall and hotel behind look beautifully constructed and attractive. The food left a lot to be desired. We had a double cheese (beef) burger with onion rings and a house burger (pork) with fries. It took an age to come as the staff were doing takeaway food - on a Saturday lunchtime. The house burger had no taste except maybe as I found out later a lot of MSG. The double cheese was OK but nothing special. The fries were horrible. We wished we had ordered other options as the ribs did look good but the sauce was said to be very sweet. Not a great experience. Perhaps better at night with lots of beer...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceBluemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf_Hua_Hin, Inhaber at XXL Kitchen Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
First of all. Thank you very much for taking your time to comment on our Restaurant even though I would have hoped you would have liked it more.

- About the atmosphere I give you right in some points. Pictures are behind the counter and on the way up the stairs but we know that we have to do a lot more which will happen in the near future. Please also note that we are only able to do construction or decoration work inside the building. The outside cannot be touched because it is excluded from the rent. I know that there needs do be done a lot more but we totally depend on the owner (Hotel and our building is the same owner).

- About the waiting time. I am very sorry that you had to wait so long but you came on a long weekend and as you know we were totally crowded with customers people were waiting inside and outside for seats. Our staff tried to work hard and professional to satisfy the needs of our guests. Sadly I had a shortage of staff. Those are things that we try to avoid but its not always possible. My deepest apologies for that.

- To the taste of the Burgers. The meat of the Housburger as the meat of the Cheeseburger and so are the spices inside. They are standardised and wont be changed. The toppings are the things that make a difference. Different people have different tasts but to say that the Cheeseburger was OK but the Houseburger has no taste cannot be so right. I don't know why the Houseburger was so salty but I have to apologize for that and will immidiately check on that.

- Frenchfries: I would have liked to know what was so horrible on the french fries. We have Big fries that come close to potato wedges. Not those thin ones like in some Fast food Restaurants. We also sprinkle them with salt and yellow curry powder which is very famous in Germany and other countries which makes it unique.

- The Spareribs are our topseller with about 80 halfrecks ordered every Weekend. I would have really recommended it to you. The BBQ sauce is not sweet at all.

All it would have been great if you would have come to me or my business partner to tell us right away what was wrong and we could have found a way out of this while you are over there. We are very opened to constructive criticism. That is the only way to improve a business. I hope that you can give us another chance some day in the future to change your opinion about our Restaurant.

Thank you very much for posting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The burgers are tasty and come in various sizes as does the drinks. They have that huge burger challenge if someone is brave enough. The only complaint I have was the restaurant was completely empty when we were there and everything we said echoed in this place, because it was so empty. Odd hours too, so check before you go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomad127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf_Hua_Hin, Inhaber at XXL Kitchen Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for that overall good comment.
As to the echoe. You are right. That is a problem that we sadly cannot change due to the high seeling. The odd hours (Wednesday to Monday opened from Noon - 8pm, Closed on Tuesdays) are due to the staff that we want to send on the same day to their day off to form a unity between them in order to function more as a team during work. We found out that they go to party and travel together which makes them happy to work together. And that is what the customers can see and makes them more comfortable. We also found out that after 8 pm nobody is coming any more. But please be ashured that if you come not later then 7.55 pm we will still take your order and you will have all the time in the world to finish your meel :)
With the hope of welcoming you back soon....... Thank you very much for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in Hua Hin 4 nights, and i ate 4 times in XXL Kitchen.
I strongly (BUT STRRRRONGLY) recommend the Spare Ribs, they are absolutely delicious.
The XXXL Burger is really big and very tasty, even though you don't expect to find a good burger in Hua Hin.
The fries or the onion rings come with 6 different dip sauces..even the drinks are XXL.
The service is good. The girls there might need some english courses, but they will understand you when you order, and all of this with a smile. The German owner is perfect in english and german, knows a little thai, he is always there and he always takes care everything to be perfect.
Don't miss XXL Kitchen if you pass by Hua Hin.
Dan und Mari

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZanGaBoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf_Hua_Hin, Inhaber at XXL Kitchen Hua Hin, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for posting.
On the drinks I would like to add that we are probably the only Restaurant in Thailand that serve their drinks in German 1 Liter beer mugs.
You are right on the english courses. Welcome to Thailand :) It is hard to find staff that speaks english even though it is a tourist country. But be ashured that there is always somebody (like our Restaurant manager) who speaks english.
As I see you are from Berlin. The next time you are in Thailand I hope that you will find the way back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XXL Kitchen Hua Hin also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing