We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Black Lotus Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn
Ranked #85 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Black Lotus Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall a pleasant and fun place for some needed R&R.

Plus points: 1. Quite, it was good to get away from city life. 2. Private, cuz we had our own villa. 3. Private pool. 4. Kitchen and all the eating and cooking utensils you would need provided in the villa. 5. They had a ping pong table and pool table in the restaurant area.

The only complaints I has was that 1. the water pressure for the jacuzzi was really low so it took about 4 hours to fill that up. We ended up not using it. 2. Quite a bit of ants but i guess you cant really complain when your in the jungle. 3. The bed was way to soft.

Other than that I would recommend this place to families or groups of friends looking for some R&R. Make sure to have a car though as it is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Chiu999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Steve_Chiu99,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Black Lotus Villas.

We were happy to hear that apart from some minor issues you enjoyed your stay with us.

Of course we take all your negative points to heart and are working on improvements.

Nevertheless, we do hope that we may welcome you back to Black Lotus Villas in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    35
    25
    24
See reviews for
83
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We loved the look and feel of the Black Lotus from the moment we arrived in June 2013. The 15 min drive from Hua Hin train station/town ending in pineapple fields had us a little nervous at first, but once we arrived and were greeted by Emmie and the staff at Black Lotus we new we had chosen the right place. Our boys (5) and (7) enjoyed having their own pool in what they called their own villa. the staff were very helpful, friendly and made us feel very welcome.

A few areas could be improved, such as the maintenance of the villa pools. our pool water started to turn green towards the end of our 3 week stay, and on our last day we needed to use the main pool (which was beautiful), but not ideal. The power went out a few times, however was fixed quite quickly. We ran out of water once, and that too was fixed quite quickly, so overall did not cause too many dramas.

The only real downside was that you could not move between each room in the villa, as access was through a front sliding door in each room. This meant that the kids could not be easily supervised, especially at night. Also, there were days when the weather was hot yet cool enough to leave the doors open, however there were no fly screens which meant the rooms quickly filled the Mosquitos and flies. But the air cons worked well and kept the rooms cool.

Katie, Emmie, Ton and all the other staff at Black Lotus made us feel very welcome, they helped us hire a car, get a car tyre repaired, assisted us when we needed it, prepared and served us great meals, and made us all feel safe and comfortable.

We thank all the staff for making our stay in June/July 2013 a great one.

Room Tip: The first 10 Villas are not too far from the lobby, main pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danpav73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Danpav 73,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Black Lotus Villas.

We were very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. The staff that you mention have been informed about how pleased you were with there service.

We hope that the small mishaps with the electricity and water will not hinder you and your family to come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and my family spend four weeks in Black Lotus during June/July 2012. We were picket up at the airport of Bangkok in the morning by a polite and nice driver. The van was very convenient and after 12 hours of travel, we slept during the trip to Hua Hin. At Black Lotus the reception staff was ready to follow us to our villa nr 11. This villa is very near the reseption area and also the pool area with the resturant. Our family has three children aged 5, 15 and 17. And it was very good to be near everything. Villa 11 has three very comfortable bedrooms with enuite bathrooms. The whole family where very satisfied.

The resurant has a varied menu with dishes from Europe and Thailand. For us this is great, as me and my husband have thai Food everyday, and our kids have more European food.

We used the free shuttle between Black Lotus and Hua Hin, but this has not so many departures every day, so we mostley used scooters to get around.

During July the weather can be unstable. We had some very rainy days, and on these days we had some trouble with one of the bedroom as the rain came into the room. I guess this is now ok. We also had a small issue with water supply. This also is fixed now I heard. We are really looking forward to get back on June 28 this year! We hope to find some of the great staff from the resurant that always had a good time with Silja. We also are looking forward to see all the nice staff that has been employed since we were there last year!

I can promise everyone that read this, that what you find in the brochyre is what you get, and much more! Nice smiles, good food, relaxing and very luxuriuos villas in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trude1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Trude1970,

Greetings from Black Lotus Villas and thank you very much for taking the time to make this review.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us the last year and are looking forward to see you again soon.
Villa 11 will be waiting for you. And the remaining staff that you know from last year as well as the new are very much looking forward to welcome you back and make this year another memorable stay for you.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

the good points:

the rooms, bathroom, pool were good. the staff were good.

negative points:

1.dogs roaming in the compound. my mother fell down trying to avoid the dogs and broke her wrist.

2.flies at night. there were so many flies at night that we had to leave the compound for few hours and we did actually consider moving to another hotel. there was no spray or anything to control the flies.

3.far away from civilization. this is too far away from everything. in the middle of nowhere.

4. cleaning is not done everyday. with such high rates surely cleaning should be done everyday. even drinking water is not provided daily ! toiletries were provided once even though we stayed for 4 nights !!

5. no english channel on tv.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer007Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear explorer007Kolkata,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our resort.

We were happy to hear that you liked the style of our property.

Thank you very much for instructive criticism. We have certainly taken many of your points to heart and are working on the changes.

Lastly, we do hope that your mother has recovered from the injurie occured during her stay with us. We wish her a speedy recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I’ve stayed in Black Lotus with my friends during May 2013. We expected to have a good time there but it turned out to be a disappointment.

Good Thing
- Staff has quite good service mind

Bad things that should be improved
- Facility should be ready to use as promised or at least you should have an expert to stay by and fix it in timely manner. (Jacuzzi in my room didn’t work and they could not fix it/ doors were jam and hard to lock/ bathroom amenity was not equal between my room and my friends room)
- Lighting in communal area, like swimming pool, should be improved
- There’re dogs in resident area during the night

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Win R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear UdeeStaff,

Thank you very much for your comments. As with every establishment feedback from their customers, may they be good or bad - are necessary to let us know where we lack in service and how we exceed your expectations.
Please rest assured that your experience will not be forgotten and swept under the carpet.
Nevertheless, we do hope that you will come and visit us again should your travels bring you to Hua Hin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Luxury villas, generally nice but then when you are inside you find small problems, such as no hot water in the jacuzzi bath, handles falling off doors and fridge/freezer smelling of fish. Pool very nice. No English tv channels (that we came across) although do have DVD player. Hotel quite far from the main town, so make sure you take the hotels free shuttle bus. Some staff were very helpful and nice, but reception staff let the whole hotel down as they have very poor english and instead of trying to find someone with slightly better english they on occasions just laughed and walked away from us. Overall a few small changes could make this hotel as good as it looks on the brochures. Restaurant service is poor, waited in restaurant 10 minutes, with no other customers and still nobody came to serve us so we left and ordered room service which was better. Staff on reception seemed very confused when we asked them do the hotel charge our card we reserved the villa with or do we pay cash on departure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0e_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Joe_Sarah,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our resort. Comments like yours help us to make the necessary improvements and since your stay here in November several changes have already been made.
Reception Staff as well as Restaurant Staff have been notified about your experience and please be informed that each Villa is being checked before the customers check in so defects are taken care off beforehand.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and hopefully you will let us know that your comments have made a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipstead surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for five nights on the 28th March with our children aged twelve and fourteen. We stayed in a two bedroom villa. The villa was beautiful and very nicely furnished. It was great having your own pool and it was very private with a lovely garden. We used the shuttle service provided lots of time to get into Hua Hin. In the evening we just got a cab back. If you get a cab back at nightime please make sure you give them directions that reception can give you. As Black Lotus is quite new it can be difficult to explain where it is located. We got a cab to the Black mountain waterpark which is well worth a visit, my kids loved it. We had breakfast at the Black Lotus and a few meals also. They were very good If you want to have a few special dinners go to the Centara Grand Beach Resort to eat one night and the Anantasila which is right on the beach. One of the highlights was the meal and setting. One thing is that at the Black Lotus all the staff are brilliant. They can't do enough to help you. They arranged golf for my husband and son to play. The food was nice and good cocktails around the pool. We were very sad to leave to go onto Phuket for our next week. It was lovely and quiet not much construction noise to complain about. I would go back again and would recommend for a real chill out week. You are only ten/fifteen minutes to the centre. We enjoyed being away from the town. The Edwards Family Surrey England 16.04.13

Room Tip: We stayed in Appt 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Family Edwards,

Thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on your stay with us. The Black Lotus Team was very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
We do hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
6.9 mi away
Ayrest Hua Hin Hotel
Ayrest Hua Hin Hotel
#33 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.6 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#30 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
ibis Hua Hin
ibis Hua Hin
#21 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#43 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn

Property: Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn
Address: Soi 112 | Tap Tai Subdistrict, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Black Lotus Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2010 we introduced "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" under the motto "Invite only your best friends". "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is the ultimate resort concept, where we have combined the concepts of dining, music, fashion, luxury and entertainment to a unique experience. A lifestyle that not only attracts Europeans, but people from all over the world, and especially the high society environment in Thailand. "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is all about enjoying life and having the courage to "be". And not least, enjoy being among others who appreciate the same qualities in life. "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is for young and old, families and singles. Common is that they all can recognize the above and find it appealing. "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is 17 Jacuzzi Pool villas and 38 one or two bedroom apartments - surrounded by 10,000 m2 of tropical gardens and lakes, with our facillities as a hub for services and events. We have no ambition to be a 5 star resort with the formalities that go with it, we will however give a 5 star service in a spirit that fits fully to the concept."Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is to be experienced. With the "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" concept is Hua Hin undoubtedly become more "sexy" as the "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" has already been noticed on the local as well as the International scene. Most recently in august 2012, we had former Miss Universe and current Miss Thailand among our guests, which in itself was a great event for the city and especially "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin". We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing