We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but away from civilization and too many flies and dogs !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn
Ranked #114 of 142 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed May 30, 2013

the good points:

the rooms, bathroom, pool were good. the staff were good.

negative points:

1.dogs roaming in the compound. my mother fell down trying to avoid the dogs and broke her wrist.

2.flies at night. there were so many flies at night that we had to leave the compound for few hours and we did actually consider moving to another hotel. there was no spray or anything to control the flies.

3.far away from civilization. this is too far away from everything. in the middle of nowhere.

4. cleaning is not done everyday. with such high rates surely cleaning should be done everyday. even drinking water is not provided daily ! toiletries were provided once even though we stayed for 4 nights !!

5. no english channel on tv.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer007Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear explorer007Kolkata,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our resort.

We were happy to hear that you liked the style of our property.

Thank you very much for instructive criticism. We have certainly taken many of your points to heart and are working on the changes.

Lastly, we do hope that your mother has recovered from the injurie occured during her stay with us. We wish her a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I’ve stayed in Black Lotus with my friends during May 2013. We expected to have a good time there but it turned out to be a disappointment.

Good Thing
- Staff has quite good service mind

Bad things that should be improved
- Facility should be ready to use as promised or at least you should have an expert to stay by and fix it in timely manner. (Jacuzzi in my room didn’t work and they could not fix it/ doors were jam and hard to lock/ bathroom amenity was not equal between my room and my friends room)
- Lighting in communal area, like swimming pool, should be improved
- There’re dogs in resident area during the night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Win R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear UdeeStaff,

Thank you very much for your comments. As with every establishment feedback from their customers, may they be good or bad - are necessary to let us know where we lack in service and how we exceed your expectations.
Please rest assured that your experience will not be forgotten and swept under the carpet.
Nevertheless, we do hope that you will come and visit us again should your travels bring you to Hua Hin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Luxury villas, generally nice but then when you are inside you find small problems, such as no hot water in the jacuzzi bath, handles falling off doors and fridge/freezer smelling of fish. Pool very nice. No English tv channels (that we came across) although do have DVD player. Hotel quite far from the main town, so make sure you take the hotels free shuttle bus. Some staff were very helpful and nice, but reception staff let the whole hotel down as they have very poor english and instead of trying to find someone with slightly better english they on occasions just laughed and walked away from us. Overall a few small changes could make this hotel as good as it looks on the brochures. Restaurant service is poor, waited in restaurant 10 minutes, with no other customers and still nobody came to serve us so we left and ordered room service which was better. Staff on reception seemed very confused when we asked them do the hotel charge our card we reserved the villa with or do we pay cash on departure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0e_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Joe_Sarah,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our resort. Comments like yours help us to make the necessary improvements and since your stay here in November several changes have already been made.
Reception Staff as well as Restaurant Staff have been notified about your experience and please be informed that each Villa is being checked before the customers check in so defects are taken care off beforehand.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and hopefully you will let us know that your comments have made a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for five nights on the 28th March with our children aged twelve and fourteen. We stayed in a two bedroom villa. The villa was beautiful and very nicely furnished. It was great having your own pool and it was very private with a lovely garden. We used the shuttle service provided lots of time to get into Hua Hin. In the evening we just got a cab back. If you get a cab back at nightime please make sure you give them directions that reception can give you. As Black Lotus is quite new it can be difficult to explain where it is located. We got a cab to the Black mountain waterpark which is well worth a visit, my kids loved it. We had breakfast at the Black Lotus and a few meals also. They were very good If you want to have a few special dinners go to the Centara Grand Beach Resort to eat one night and the Anantasila which is right on the beach. One of the highlights was the meal and setting. One thing is that at the Black Lotus all the staff are brilliant. They can't do enough to help you. They arranged golf for my husband and son to play. The food was nice and good cocktails around the pool. We were very sad to leave to go onto Phuket for our next week. It was lovely and quiet not much construction noise to complain about. I would go back again and would recommend for a real chill out week. You are only ten/fifteen minutes to the centre. We enjoyed being away from the town. The Edwards Family Surrey England 16.04.13

Room Tip: We stayed in Appt 3
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Family Edwards,

Thank you very much for taking the time and commenting on your stay with us. The Black Lotus Team was very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
We do hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Villa 2 as much as we did last year. The staff there are really nice people all the way from the room manager to the gardener. There has been significant improvements in both prices and quality of the food and baverages that´s available in the restaurant. We simply enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Villa 2 (3 bedrooms, kitchen/living room, private pool)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAhoer, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Peter P.

The entire Black Lotus team would like to thank you for your comment of your stay with us.

We certainly try our best to improve our services to provide a most pleasant stay for all our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we do hope that we may welcome you back to Black Lotus soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Black Lotus for 2 weeks in December. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and were on the whole pleased with this. The villas with their double height , floor to ceiling windows are very light and spacious . The layout of the villa was good. The main living area contained dining area , lounge and kitchen all on open plan. Furnishings were minimalist and tasteful . Wifi , TV, DVD, Ipod dock etc were all very good quality. There was a choice of 300 plus channels but unfortunately non worth watching ie no BBC, CNN etc. Air conditioning in the lounge area was effective and this was a comfortable area to spend some time relaxing.

The kitchen area was fine with full oven , 4 position hob , good size fridge and freezer but no washing machine or dishwasher. We found it a little surprising that such a high quality property with great effort on the ICT front had such basic kitchen accessories ie, crockery , cutlery, pans , etc. There was however sufficient to prepare and cook a meal.

Both bedrooms were generously sized. The master bedroom had a huge bathroom with massive bath , walk in shower , double vanities and plenty of storage. There were a small amount of toiletries provided on arrival .These were not replenished during the stay but they were not of particularly good quality anyway. There is plenty of storage space for clothes , luggage etc . The bed was generously sized and comfortable. We did find the air conditioning in the bedroom could have been better.

The garden and pool area were very pleasant . The pool is well sized and cleaned weekly. The gardens are well maintained and the outdoor furnishings very good. There are twin loungers that were very comfortable , a comfortable seating area and an outdoor dining area. There is also a toilet that can be accessed directly from the pool area . There is an electricity supply around the pool area and we were able to use the standing fan to bring a cooling breeze while we relaxed on the loungers. Our villa was in shade until about 2PM in the day and shaded again by about 4:30pm which was a shame . However the area around the pool was beautiful and one of the best assets of the villa.

There is a complimentary shuttle service to the Hua Hin area that takes about 10 mins. The shuttle leaves a few times a day and we tended to take the shuttle into town and a taxi back which was around 300 bahts. The mini mart described on the web site is under construction but there is a reasonable sized Tesco Lotus at Market Village that the shuttle will drop you at where you will be able to get a range of supplies. Further up the road a little is a higher end store with pretty good quality groceries available.

Black Lotus does however have a few areas of difficulty and areas that really do need some development. We experienced the construction noise , power cuts and water stoppages mentioned in previous reviews. Thankfully ,these were an irritation rather than a major problem but I agree with previous reviews that future guests should be prepared for this. You should be aware that there is construction work going on all around you.

Our greatest difficulty with Black Lotus was the service. The staff were without exception pleasant and eager to be of help , however appeared very inexperienced. A visit to reception usually proved to be fraught with difficulty . Housekeeping ,when they came (usually every three or four days ) were ok but were unpredictable. The provision of towels was not generous to begin with but on some occasions these were not replaced. Room service was also inconsistent. On one occasion food had been brought from the kitchen to our villa completely uncovered and open to the night air. On another occasion food that should have been hot arrived fridge cold. We arrived back from town planning to dine at the restaurant one night to be advised that the restaurant and room service would be closing in 10 mins and would not be open again that day/night because of a birthday party that had been booked .We also had to endure pool party music that evening until midnight.

The one exception to our comments regarding the service was Alex , one of the management team. When Alex was on duty she provided excellent service and you knew you were in safe hands. She assisted with arranging golf trips for us and also cookery courses. Both Banyan and Black Mountain courses are recommended and Banyan can be booked directly via reception rather than through and agent.

The communal pool area was not to our taste . There were no pool towels , the lounger covers looked soiled and there was cigarette ends and other bits of rubbish that lay around for days at a time.The other issue at the pool was the several different sources of music all competing with each other. The Ibiza style music that was played at the pool would not be our taste but the addition of the radio from the kitchen and the music from reception made this all a bit frustrating when we were simply looking for some relaxation.

We ate at the restaurant a few times .There is a selection of western and Thai dishes .We stuck to the thai food and on each occasion this was good . We considered the prices very reasonable and there was a good selection of wines.



Overall we found Black Lotus confusing , not clear whether this is an establishment seeking to establish itself as a high end holiday location or a party venue. It clearly has the potential to achieve the former but really needs to pay attention to the detail one would expect of a 5 star property and to guest services.

For all of these critical comments we did enjoy our stay at Black Lotus and would recommend it on the basis that it will grow in experience. It is also fair to say that we booked the property at a very modest price . The villas are lovely and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We do hope these comments help with service improvements

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank miramol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan550297922, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Miramol.
Thank you so much for your review which I found fair and informative.

Regarding the construction noise, the worst and noisiest part, digging foundations and setting up the general structural is done. Soon all will be nice and quiet around here again.

Bringing uncovered food is of course totally unacceptable and should simply not have happened. I sincerely apologize for that. It happened not because lack of training or experience, It happened because that particular employee simply did not follow the correct procedure. That and other service issues that you mentioned I have taken up with my staff.

Thank for you kind comment about Alex. She is a dear college and I have the same feeling of comfort when she is in charge.

Regarding the common pool area the issues that you are mentioning are now solved.

Thank you again for taking time to reviewing our resort. I can assure you that we are doing our outmost to give our customers a relaxing and pleasant experience. In our work to better ourselves your feedback is most appreciated.
I am happy that your overall experience was very good and I hope you will honor us with your presence here at Black Lotus very soon again.

Kind regards,
Jan Steen
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We rented a two-bedroom pool villa during the first week in January; our two one-year-old twin children accompanied us. The villa looks exactly as what is pictured on their website. It is simply beautiful. The rooms are very spacious, well lit, and perfectly equipped with large screen televisions, iPod docking stations, and even a surround sound stereo system in the living room area. The kitchen is equally equipped with state-of-the-art appliances. Poolside, the patio is lined with comfortable rattan lounging furniture. There is even a dining room table outside that seats six; we did not take one meal indoors.

In all, the overall experience was very good. However, a few things are not in the brochure. First, the resort is undergoing an extensive renovation / expansion program. There are literally a dozen villas being simultaneously constructed. The noise was not too bad, and you are shielded in large part from the project. However, of the resort on a whole, more than a third is currently under construction.

The main issue that we had is that they bill themselves as a five-star property (and price themselves accordingly), and yet, fall woefully short when it comes to details. To start, when we arrived, no one greeted us or introduced the resort or the villa. There was no room service menu or safe in the villa. They delivered the menu and safe shortly after we called, but the safe was never mounted to anything to prevent a would-be thief from just walking away with it. There was also no television program guide. The next morning we ordered our breakfast and the coffee was delivered without cream or sugar. In fact, every meal that was delivered either was missing something or was not quite what was described on the menu.

There were several power outages during our stay; each left us bumbling around, lost in the dark and disrupted the Wi-Fi connection for hours. The front desk does not have a concierge and is ill equipped to make even basic recommendations. Aside from one tour offered to a snake and crocodile show, they could not provide assistance with booking sightseeing tours. The sparse material that was provided was presented in what looked like a recycled folder and on paper from a subpar office printer. It was a painful experience just to get them to recommend a bakery where we could buy cupcakes for our children’s first birthday.

Of the positives: The chef at the Black Lotus is outstanding and is worthy of a five-star resort. Though there were the ever present inconsistencies, the food presented was delicious. The staff is more than willing to accommodate. With every concern, they were very quick to respond. The grounds that are finished and the pool villas themselves are very beautiful. The resort is within close proximity to the city center and beaches.

The Black Lotus is an incredible resort with lots of potential that still requires considerable refining to achieve true five-star status. This is obviously a rating that they have given themselves. With a better training program in place for the staff, a little more care in the kitchen, and a whole lot more attention given to the details, Black Lotus is certainly well within reach of the coveted five stars.

Room Tip: The villas further from the main entrance (restaurant and community pool) are closest to the constru...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradSDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan550297922, General Manager at Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear BradSDay.
Thank you so much for your review, I very much appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us all.
I am very sorry for the construction noise and that we fell short regarding some of the details. We are continually working to improve and i can assure you that I take your comments very serious, thank you.
I am very happy that your overall experience was very good and I hope you will honor us with your presence here at Black Lotus very soon again.
/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.3 mi away
Prinz Garden Villa
Prinz Garden Villa
#22 of 142 in Hua Hin
161 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
The Lapa Hua Hin Hotel
#42 of 142 in Hua Hin
142 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#12 of 142 in Hua Hin
774 reviews
3.0 mi away
My Way Hua Hin Music Hotel
My Way Hua Hin Music Hotel
#43 of 142 in Hua Hin
82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn

Address: Soi 112 | Tap Tai Subdistrict, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Black Lotus Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 142 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range: $44 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2010 we introduced "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" under the motto "Invite only your best friends". "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is the ultimate resort concept, where we have combined the concepts of dining, music, fashion, luxury and entertainment to a unique experience. A lifestyle that not only attracts Europeans, but people from all over the world, and especially the high society environment in Thailand. "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is all about enjoying life and having the courage to "be". And not least, enjoy being among others who appreciate the same qualities in life. "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is for young and old, families and singles. Common is that they all can recognize the above and find it appealing. "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is 17 Jacuzzi Pool villas and 38 one or two bedroom apartments - surrounded by 10,000 m2 of tropical gardens and lakes, with our facillities as a hub for services and events. We have no ambition to be a 5 star resort with the formalities that go with it, we will however give a 5 star service in a spirit that fits fully to the concept."Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" is to be experienced. With the "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" concept is Hua Hin undoubtedly become more "sexy" as the "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin" has already been noticed on the local as well as the International scene. Most recently in august 2012, we had former Miss Universe and current Miss Thailand among our guests, which in itself was a great event for the city and especially "Lotus Villas & Resort Hua Hin". We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lotus Villas & Resort Hua HIn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing