We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Hilton but hated the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Merseyside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved the Hilton but hated the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Just arrived home from my first holiday in Thailand, the second hotel was the Hilton, Hua Hin. Would highly recommend the hotel, service and
staff were excellent, breakfast was one of the best I have eaten with enough choice for every taste imaginable - I can particularly recommend the omelettes, made to order while you wait.

The pool area is large and suitably impressive with attentive waiter service on hand, pool bar and two convenient lunch venues (should you need lunch after that breakfast). Comfortable loungers, plenty of shade and no shortage of sunbeds or towels during our stay and the hotel was pretty full. We tried all three of the hotels restaurants and whilst they are considerably more expensive than some of the places in the town, the quality of the food was also superior. We also
ate at the Sofitel once and found that to be equally good. Restaurants
around the town that we tried and liked were the Chao Lay (great seafood) and one or two of the street restaurants at the night market.
Most of the places to eat along the stretch opposite the hotel are cheap and OK but nothing special.

Can recommend the hotel spa, had a massage, facial and hair do - three
and a half hours for around 75 quid. Very professional job and a lovely calming experience.

The popular night market and an evening at the thai boxing stadium are are not to be missed and trek along to take a look at the extraordinary railway station - a good photo opportunity. Many good cheap bars around to spend an hour or two watching the world go by and spotting the many elderly western gents 'entertaining' young thai women (quite sad but very amusing!)

Don't come here if you want amazing beaches. The beach directly out of the hotel is a narrow strip of reasonably clean sand completely spoiled by makeshift bars, cafes, hair braiding, massage, manicure etc, etc outfits, all renting deckchairs and hassling you as soon as you set foot on the sand. There are also horse rides available which all makes for a very crowded beach. The sea is also quite rough and hardly crystal clear. There is also no requirement to keep dogs off the sand and on both occasions when we ventured along the beach we witnessed dogs defeacating. The beach does get slightly less crowded and wider towards the Sofitel (just South of the Hilton) but still didn't do it for me.

  • Liked — Sevice, food
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelbunny011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    836
    271
    100
    41
See reviews for
592
859
103
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

This is a hotel for complete relaxation. The staff are excellent at their job, respectful yet friendly. As a Diamond HHonors member, we were upgraded to a Club level, one-bedroom suite with the biggest balcony I have seen, overlooking the pool and beach.
The Club lounge has great views, the breakfast is adequate but you can use the main restaurant instead. The canapes in the evening are minimal but cocktails are free from 6.00 to 8.00 p.m.
The food in the restaurants is well-prepared, good portions, and very reasonably priced.
The hotel is in an excellent position with direct access to the beach and night markets are within a few seconds walk. There is an indoor/outdoor shopping mall about a 20 minute walk away bit it only costs $2 or $3 U.S. in a tuk-tuk.
All-in-all this would make an excellent choice for all as you can relax or participate in the various activities (indoor and outdoor) for all ages. One great rule is that no inflatables are allowed in the pools.

  • Liked — size of rooms and balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Rook3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham, Cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

In sept this year my wife and I stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Hua Hin.

The only way to describe it was Fantastic. The rooms were great, the staff were brilliant and the whole atmosphere was terrific.

When we booked the holiday originally we were in a " Club Bay " room on the 16th floor, we had mentioned to the travel agent when booking that it was our 4th anniversary while we were away.

After having spent two nights in Bangkok, when we arrived we were told that we did not have the room that we had originally been booked in for and that we had been moved to the first floor. You can imagine that we started to get a bit down hearted at the news.

However, when they took us to the room we could not get our heads around what they had done for us, we had been given a suite which was out of this world.

It was bigger than most one bedroom flats at home (UK) the wet room was stunning, the four poster bed was blissful and the tv was the biggest I have ever seen. Add to this that we had a stunning sea view fromour own private veranda that stretched for 10meters with sun loungers and chairs.

And they brought fresh cakes to our room every day, plus having the use of the facilities on the 17th floor which meant private breakfast each day, free soft drinks all day, and pre dinner drinks between 6 - 8pm every evening.

Until you have sat on the roof top terrace watching the lightning storms with a cold singha beer or glass of wine, you wont appreciatte how great it is to behold.

I would say better than watching the sun set from the sky bar at the state tower in bangkok.

All I can say is that the money we spent was worth the trip, must rate as one of my best chilling holidays ever. Really great could not find fault with anything at all.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JRW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed in the Hilton for our Honeymoon.
It was fantastic, fresh flowers every where in the hotel, fresh fruit in our room.
The staff there are a credit to the hotel, you coudn`t ask for better.
Food was perfect.
We had a suite with a balcony in the lounge & bed room, there was a four poster bed, the bathroom was huge.

Everybody smile in the hotel, they are so happy to help.
This hotel is a must, i am booking to go back next year.

  • Liked — Clean & great staff
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TJJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

Review of the Hilton Hua Hin

We stayed at this hotel during August and I must say it was one of the best holidays we have had it suited all our needs. The hotel is in Hua Hin its self so getting around was no problem. May people describe this hotel as a concrete monstrosity but it is no different to many we have stayed in all over Thailand and the ambiance and hospitality of the place is second to none. When we arrived we were allocated a room on the second floor, we asked for higher, and it was no problem and we ended up on the 10th floor

The room was really lovely and the view fantastic we were looking towards the Sofital. After a day we decided to see if we could upgrade to a suite (nothing to do with the room we were in, as there was no fault with it this was just a personal choice). The manager showed us several options and could not have been more helpful and was prepared to negotiate a price agreeable to both of us. We paid a 1000 bat per night, which is a lot cheaper than booking a suit for 14 nights through a travel company.

The Sitting room of the suite was on a corner and has glass patio doors and ceiling to floor windows on all sides so it was really bright and airy; there was a large television, CD player and DVD player, large fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The sleeping area had a four poster bed and plenty of storage space, with another television, and again with patio doors. There was a really large patio which curved around the whole of the suite and this was furnished with what they call a day bed and a wooden set of furniture.

The pool at the hotel was lovely with plenty of sun beds so one did not have to join the brigade of up at the crack of dawn to get one. One report mentioned loud music playing but I must say we did not encounter that.

The breakfast was one of the best, every choice imaginable; we loved the juice bar where you could have any fruit or vegetable made into a juice. We only had an evening meal once in the hotel (the first night we arrived) it was generally more expensive but not overly so, compared to what we pay to eat out in the UK, but the quality was very good.

The staff of the hotel were fantastic from all areas and cannot find fault with any of them.

Now onto the beach which has been the subject of quite a few discussions, around the Hilton it is a bit crowded but once passed you can walk and walk in peace and stop for the occasional beer at one of the beach bars. I found the beach clean and the water ok though I do prefer a pool. There are horses on the beach, I myself ride and had many an enjoyable sunset ride on my own. Once the owners were happy I could ride they just let me go and we did see people poop and scoop up the mess, no complaints there.

Hua Hin and everything you could wish for in restaurants we never had a bad meal. Eating in the night market is a must, do not be put off, the quality of the food is great and fresh. For those who worry about toilet facilities in the restaurants they are modern and clean. The fishing piers are ok and we enjoyed the one meal we had there.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and most certainly stay there again.

Happy holidays.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank shelleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

I'm writing this review for the blissful, peaceful and idylic surroundings of a unique hotel approximately 10 kilometres from the Hilton Hua Hin. The fact that I booked the Hilton for 16 nights and left after 2 should give you an idea on the direction this review is about to go.

To keep it short and simple - The hotel itself is a concrete monstrosity with endless corridors that put one in mind of a soviet army hospital.The hotel caters primarily for "value for money" package holiday tourists and their needs - functional rooms, buffet breakfasts, buffet lunches and evening buffets are the order of the day. Loud pool music, adults behaving like primates in the pool, people walking the lobby and breakfast room in bare feet and swimming trunks. It would be unfair of me to say everyone was like this (they werent) but a sizeable minority were.

The hotel is located on the beach - as soon as you leave the hotel there are a collection of locals trying to sell you everything from swimwear, jewellery to horseback rides (lots of horses on the beach).

Conclusion: If you like the simple things in life then try the Hilton in Hua Hin - if you've more of a discerning nature avoid the place at all costs. Finally, I cant fault the staff at the Hilton Hua Hin as they were extremely courteous and helpful at all times.

  • Liked — The Exit
  • Disliked — The pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank mcwilliam32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

Just home from Hua Hin and we had an amazing time - again 10 out of 10 for the hotel - great room, friendly staff and location spot on. The only down side was the beach which was full of dead jelly fish. we were worried about going in sept due to the rsin but it was fine - a shower most days but nothing more.... Along the beach there is a small beach hut called Mrs Pous - she does the most amazing thai food and the location - right on / in the sea is Amazing and very very cheap...We did a day tri out to an Island called Koh Talu - it was 3 hours drive and a short boat ride but it was heaven.....blue sea white sand etc and you can stay on the island too - when we were there we were 2 of 8 people staying - heaven... you defo go back to Hua Hin and the Hilton - great memories

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank becks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.8 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
1.1 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Address: 33 Naresdamri Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#13 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#17 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of Hua Hin, the Hilton Hua Hin Resort and Spa hotel provides the perfect combination of bustling urban life and relaxed seaside living. Every guest room offers panoramic views over the Gulf of Thailand from your private balcony. Escape from the stresses of everyday life when lie back on a sun lounger, sip a tropical cocktail from the pool bar and bask under cloudless skies. Keep active with a swim in the pool, a game of tennis or squash or a workout in the fitness center.Refuel with a trip to one of the resort’s ten bars and restaurants. Choose from fresh local seafood, outdoor fine dining, live music and cocktails or award winning Chinese cuisine.Stay connected from the comfort of your Thai-influenced guestroom thanks to WiFi. With five flexible meeting and function rooms this resort is an ideal venue for a Hua Hin meeting, conference or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Hilton Hua Hin Resort And Spa
Hua Hin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing