We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super resort at Hua Hin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Fantastic hotel in a quiet area about 30 minutes walk from the city center. The hotel consists of several three storey buildings containing rooms. In the hotel there are bars and restaurant. Super swimming pool with water slide.
Rooms large, clean and with a large terrace. Service very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good with a wide choice of dishes.
I recommend especially for families with children.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaLodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

We visited Hua Hin in a Group of 6 adults and 2 kids one aged 2 and the other 3. It was during the Easter break in April and would recommend this Hotel to both families with kids and couples alike (albeit it is a family oriented hotel so expect to hear have kids around all the time everywhere!). Stayed for 6 nights and would easily have stayed for another 6!!!!

The best part of the this hotel is that even after being a fully family-oriented hotel, the Spa makes it ideal for couples - so best of both worlds.

1. Kids Pool and Artificial Beach – This is probably the best thing in the entire hotel (second only to the Spa! as is everything else) - the kids pool and this artificial kids beach is a few steps from the real beach! So for young kids (upto 3-4 yrs) its ideal as you don’t risk letting your kids out of your sight and still the kids have a ball while you sit around and sip chilled cocktails!

2. Location – right on the beach with what looked like a private beach, very clean and well maintained with not many hawkers. Although looked like anyone had access but given that the hotel is in a nice location the beach was always empty.

3. Travel time for BGK – its about 3 hrs but a comfortable ride, we knew someone in BGK who arranged but I am sure the hotel can arrange it.

4. Layout - The hotel layout is very resort feel – long landscaped gardens, artificial ponds outdoor areas are just beautiful

5. Pool (goes all around the very large hotel – so is huge) accompanies with a Huge Slide (not suitable for kids below 6/7 yrs) but brilliant fun all the same. As the pool goes all around the hotel

6. Food – is spectacular, especially the local food and the standard holiday fare (fish n chips, burgers etc.) at the pool side café and the McFarland lounge and cheap as hell. However, the fancy Thai food restaurant is just OK we had the Thu night full sea food buffet but were left unsatisfied, the Thai food we had on the stretch of restaurants built on wooden logs the water on another beach (about 20 mins away) was exceptional. Not sure what areas that was it but it was much more lively (with alternative entertainment – not very suited to families, but worth an evening visit for food).

7. Rooms / Accommodation - Nice large and practical rooms (don't expect exceptional / plush rooms) they are standard resort rooms but pretty good size and a huge bathroom with 3 areas and a big tub in every room. All the rooms are the same layout (including the Regency Wing), however the ground floor rooms are larger as the balcony area (on the 1st and 2nd floor rooms) is included in the covered area. We much preferred the outdoor balcony with a bit of a view and some fresh air and a bit more privacy. I think all rooms open to the beach or the pool so don’t worry abut getting a room with a ‘courtyard room’.

8. Upgrade to Regency Wing - Did not stay there but it looked much quieter and then you get some freebies and a separate pool area (although the access is not restricted, I think as we did not use it – it’s a long walk away from main block.

9. Activities - The Hotel had some activity / event on everyday – the kids loved the Easter egg hunt. There are also local operators offering water sports and horse rides etc. on the beach.

10. Breakfast – standard huge breakfast layout as expected in any big asian hotel – but we stayed in the room and ordered breakfast through room service (about 600 thb) in which was exceptionally good and much better that queuing up at the buffet! If you get a good rate without breakfast take it!

Downsides
1. The one thing I hated the fact that the drapes in the room were white and let the sun shine through at the first strike of dawn – did not mind it as we were travelling with kids so were up anyways – otherwise we would have been furious!
2. Pool shuts at 6.30 pm, which is really a downer if one wants to stay a bit longer, they literally just shut it – take all the sun-beds away, there is no service after 6.30 so no lounging around the pool after that time.
3. 3 out of the 4 restaurants are shut for lunch! ad none of the restaurants have air-conditioning! Although having said that the pool café (which I ate at 4 out of 6 days) was amazing.
4. The hotel is very big and spread out over a few square kilometres so if you don’t want long walks try and request a room not too far away from the main hotel lobby area.

Must Do’s whilst in Hua Hin

1. The Barai Spa at the Hyatt Hua Hin is the best Spa I have ever seen (and to provide context, I have been to Spas including Amrita Spa (run by the Raffles Hotels) but this one outshines any Spa in the world – hands down no questions. Entering the spa it is like entering a different world, the design is UNREAL, never seen anything like it! I only went on the last day but if I had gone on the first day I would have been there everyday for at least a few hours – planning the next trip already to just stay in the Spa. They also have Spa suites (although pricy, but if can splurge this is the thing to splurge on), The Spa is built in a completely separate area of the hotel, so is very tranquil and away from the crowds and people – if you want to Spa this is the place to be! The Spa’s wet areas and changing rooms feel like you have been transported to an opulent Thai Palace which is both steeped in tradition and modern at the same time. I can probably write about 2 pages on the Spa, but I wont as I don’t want to ruin the experience for you!

2. There is a resteraunt right outside the hotel which has a cultural show and dinner – a spectacular live show with Thai dancers and live music! All for like THB900 (3 course meal served alongside!!!!!), never seen a better live performance (also saw the thai song and dance show at the hotel and in a word there was no comparison to SASI). Wherever you may stay in Hua Hin this one is NOT TO BE MISSED AT ALL. Was fine to go with kids (although they did not have enough baby chairs!). equally good for a nice romantic evening with a lot of song, dance and lights and not to miss the great food.

3. Local Food / Local Handicraft Fair / Carnival – In the same complex where the Sasi theatre is located – it is like a carnival with live food counters (mostly local) and small shops selling local handicrafts – a must go

4. Hua Hin Night Market – a little over-rated but worth a visit anyways! Good food and bit of shopping never hurts!

5. Elephant Show – Great but it is very hot in the morning so choose a later afternoon show.

6. Village Market Mall – Air-conditioned with a wide variety of food and shops selling everything under the sun. Great for shopping local stuff in the comfort of an air-conditioned environment.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTravellerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Picture yourself in the middle of beautiful tropical gardens and let yourself slide into a pool that seems like a river that taking you towards the sea. When you finally see the sea, look to the right and you'll find much further a huge statue of the Buddha. It's like a dream. The service is smooth and very professional. The tea offered to you at the lobby is divine.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
Thank TeodoraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Fantastic from start to finish, set in acres of beautiful well kept gardens with an excellent pool. The rooms were very good and extremely clean, the staff could not do enough for you. Breakfast had every food you could ever want. A wide range of nationalities stayed here which means you are not over run by one country. Make sure you take a trip to monkey mountain. Would I stay at this hotel again yes without a doubt. I have never felt so chilled out in all my life the Barai spa is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayHepburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

The Hyatt in Hua Hin was truly a nice surprise living up to its five stars. The surroundings are even better than on the pictures. The whole laguna swimmingpool and the river and the slide - our children (10 and 14) and we just loved the place. The swimmingpool is nicely placed up to the beach giving you an outstanding view every day. The rooms are spacious and nice. The service at the pools and the restaurants is really very attentative and friendly. So many smiles and kind words, we experience this not in Europe. Our youngest son got sick during our stay, the staff was efficient and helped out. Asked frequently and sent fruits and notes encouring him to get better. The breakfast is a chapter for itself. We have stayed at many great hotels, but this was really outstanding in taste, quality and choices. You don't have to eat again before evening. Hua Hin center is close by and it is great to be a little bit off road compared to the hotels in the center. The Barai is a luxurious Spa, which is a must, when you visit the Hyatt. Just the building itself takes your breath away. We will definitely come back and stay longer. The only downside were noisy guests, but there are several quiet areas, one can seek to. However, with children, you're forced to stay nearby the pool.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Christoffersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I was looking for the WOW factor when I booked this hotel and that is exactly what we got.
We stayed at the Hyatt Hua Hin for 9 nights in July 2010. Two Adults and three kids 12, 6, 5 in connecting rooms, ground floor with lagoon/garden views.
The pool areas are this hotel's best asset along with the highly attentive staff.
The hotel location is 5ks from Hua Hin centre and it will cost you $150 baht each way into town. Tuk Tuks and taxi's are everywhere, as are motorbikes and bigger people movers for larger families.
This hotel is best suited to those who want to relax by the pool during the day and then party in town at night.
The hotel has babysitting available and I felt relaxed enough to leave my children at the hotel and enjoy the nightlfe.
Because of it's location there are not many places to eat just outside of the hotel during the day unless you head for town. Breakfast was fantastic and a high standard but always busy. There is a good lunch menu at the pool side cafe, service is fast and Happy hour is 4 till 6pm. Buy one drink get one free.....gotta love that!

There is a Shopping Plaza that is open from 10.30am till late which is also a $150baht ride and a couple of minutes away. There are many restaurants and lots of great shopping in air conditioned comfort.

Things to do at the hotel during the day include - Massages either with the hotel at The Barai $$$ or on the beach which is around $250baht for 1 hour, Jet Ski's, Banana Boat rides, horse riding and all the usual hotel activities.

If you want adventure take a tour outside the hotel - Monkey Mountain, Hua Hin Safari and the Royal Palace.

At night in Hua Hin head for the night markets for shopping or have dinner at one of the many restaurants on the ocean side. There are lots of bars to stop at and if your looking for live music head to The Hilton Bar, it has a great atmosphere, good live music and is open till 2am.

There are always a couple of down sides to a holiday and here are my observations whilst staying at the Hyatt Hua Hin.
The kids club is a small room with very limited activity. I never saw more than 1-2 kids in there at a time and so my young children were disappointed. The best fun for the kids is the water slide area of the pool where most of the kids hang out.
The rooms lack storage space so for large families at least one or two of you will be living out of suitcase.
There are a few restaurants inside the hotel but they are very quiet and most times I saw only a few tables occupied. There was a Duo singing at Figs restaurant but I think they would put me to sleep rather than get me into the party mood.

I would stay here again if I return to Hua Hin although if I was travelling without children I may also like to stay at The Hilton as it's right in the thick of it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Amazing hotel, i really dont know how to explaine it with words.. we had welcome drinks and warm towels in the luxury lobby after a looong flight, and you just feel the calm atmosphere here and the stress just ran of me..
The hotel garden is fantastic, and the pool is like a river around the garden, amazing!

The rooms was clean, we had a big nice balcony and the staff were so helpful and nice to us. We went out for a trip one day, and we left the hotel at 5 in the morning, before the breakfast was open, so we got a doggybag whit breakfast from the staff. So sweet.
The breakfast buffet by the way, is out standing! You have fresh fruits, fresh squezed juice, pancakes, thai dishes, eggs, bacon, fruit yoghurt, sandwiches... everything!

The location is really good, because its on the best beach, and you can sunbathing on sunchairs in the garden just by the beach if you dont like sand, and also you dont have to be disturbed by sellers.

Its a bit from he city, it takes like 30 mins to walk, so you better take a tuk tuk or a taxi. The staff is wery helpfull and call you a taxi right away.

If i go to hua hin again, I will stay att this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.9 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
2.4 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 144 in Hua Hin
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hua Hin

Address: 91 Hua Hin - Khao Takiap Road | Prachuap Khiri Khan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $180 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin is a premier beachfront resort ideal for families, honeymooners and couples who are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The hotel enjoys a 250 meter stretch of prime white sand beach, plus lush tropical gardens and swimming pools. THE BARAI, the hotel's brand-new residential suite and luxury spa destination, is a sanctuary for beauty, pampering and wellness. Hyatt Regency Hua Hin also offers Pet-Friendly programme to welcome you and your pet as our guests. The resort has assigned five pet-designated Deluxe Rooms in the same area for guests with dog or cat up to 10 kgs. With advance reservations, the resort will provide a bed and bowl to be arranged in the room with a supplemental charge of only THB 800 per night fee plus tax and service charge per reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Hua Hin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing