We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa(Hua Hin)(Great Value!)
$124
$80
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Hua Hin(Hua Hin)(Great Value!)
$81
$67
Amari.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$100
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruenkanok Thai House(Hua Hin)(Great Value!)
$88
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin(Hua Hin)(Great Value!)
$80
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,459)
Filter reviews
2,459 results
Traveler rating
1,721
527
143
41
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,721
527
143
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarai spamcfarland housefigs restaurantclub poolthai restaurantcicada marketthe general managerpoolside restaurantamazing poolkids clubnight markethotel grounds aresliderspool staffground floornice beachf b
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 2,459 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Well what can I say ! 5 nights in and 6 nights left !!!!!!On arriving from Bangkok 3 hours drive due to protesters ! We were here celebrating my husbands 50th and 30 year anniversary, two special occasions, they acknowledge this by horrid pass there sell by date flowers and a small cake with happy anniversary , but yet to acknowledge birthday !!!!!
On checking in could not get adjacent rooms travelling with 2 sons 19/21 years of age.
We were shown 2 rooms both on second floor, first was awful and smelled of smoke and seeing full ashtray my instinct was right. Second room overlooked roaming pool was ok a bit on small side which the boys opted for, this room has a balcony but can't use due to Mosquitos ! We opted for ground floor room no balcony but larger room with settee nothing special but that's all they offered us unless we paid 70 pounds a night extra for regency club which would have cost us 140 pounds for two rooms x 11 nights ??
With the Regency club rooms you get treated like royalty and not peasants ! They should adapt this service to all and perhaps would make this hotel 5 stars !!!!
Tried to book fishing for a treat for my husband at Hua Hin fishing lodge was told by reception we would have to book our selves ! Reception staff were very dismissive and not helpful at all !
We wasted half an hour trying to find code etc to make call and a lot of money calling from our mobile????
Tried to book a monks blessing for our anniversary being a spiritual person and celebrating 30 years, yet again after 20 minutes with the reception staff who were dismissive yet again , I've given up !!!!
Breakfast is lovely plenty to choose from each morning.
What makes this hotel is the pool and gardens !!!!!
I will finish and add to review when we have finished our holiday!
But 5 nights in very disappointing and nothing special for our 2 special occasions !!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to regency club if you can afford you have added benefits and attentive service !,,,,
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashbradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear ashbradz

I am sorry to hear that the first five nights experience at the resort was below your expectations. We are in the business of making people relaxed and happy and therefore it was disappointing to learn that we failed to meet this expectations on your first five nights.

Thank you for taking the time to finally meet with me and our other team members as to give us a chance to make amends. We truly hope that the last six nights were to your expectations including the private alms offering and blessings from the monk on your wedding anniversary and the romantic dinner during the full moon night for both of you.

With regards to the Regency Club or non Regency Club guests, it is our duty to ensure that guest will have wonderful experience regardless where they stay and treat every guests with the same conducts and hospitality. Nevertheless for the Regency Club guests, as they opt to get additional benefits with a surcharge obviously they will get additional privileges i.e. access to the lounge, private club pool, beach lawn area. It is the same principle like in the business class in the airlines or other executive floors in many hotels.

We hope to welcome you again on certain auspicious date of anniversary or just for a relaxing stay.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Suddenly you can feel Thai hospitality and warmth walking into the lobby and most of all, its pool design and spectacular beach line would make you feel like staying hotel all day ! However the room on ground and 2nd floor would be less privacy unless you enjoy "open space" kind of connect to the garden walking paths and pools.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Weijen_Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Mike M

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin. We are pleased that you had a good time and appreciate the feedback about the service from our team members as well as the facilities of the resort.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The pool is sprawling and well designed with a really fun water slide that provided hours of amusement. It has many features, a sand area, a waterfall, lazy river, etc. This is important as the beaches all along Hua Hin earned a big Ho Hum in my book, between the horse poo and the numerous jellyfish. So the pool is important and this one does not disappoint!

The grounds are very nice. Service was really friendly and extremely helpful. We had a problem with our room and the staff was more than attentive to resolve the issue.

Th restaurants were fine - not outstanding but perfectly acceptable.We have access to the Hyatt club lounge, which was lovely and I think kept us from getting bored with the restaurants. The fitness center was in good shape and pleasant to use. Staff at the kids club was also as friendly as you could imagine.

As for the rooms, try to get a renovated one. The renovated rooms are larger (and nicer). At first we were put in an older room, which unfortunately was far too small for our family. We were squeezed in there and looking to switch hotels but the staff was able to move us after one night. The second room was larger and more than enough space for us. As for that first night, the staff moved furniture so that the rollaway bed would fit in a way that made spacial sense, rather than just rolling it into the middle of the room, so we did appreciate that.

The staff also helped us adjust our Bangkok reservations and transport - could not have been more helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tralmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear tralmix

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin with your family recently and we appreciate the feedback about our resort's facilities and services. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.

As the beach area in Hua Hin is a public beach, therefore all people are free to pass by along the beach including the horses. However it is our responsibility to ensure that the beachfront area of the resort is clean at all times. As far as i know the horse owners/operators are obliged to clean up after the horse's 'nature calls' and not allowed to bury under the sands anywhere along the Hua Hin beach. Nevertheless we will certainly bring this up to the relevant authority for better supervision to ensure the cleanliness of the beach.

We are grateful for your comments about the service, food, kids club and pool of the resort. We sincerely hope to welcome you and your family again in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

First the positives: The pool and landscape are very nice, particularly the waterside and kids pool with real sand if you've got little ones with you. Listening to the waves on the beach is great too. That's all I liked about this hotel however.

The service was very poor. I asked for a menu to be delivered to my room, and while they did eventually bring it, it took a while of arguing with them to do so! I asked for a coffee near the pool around 9:30 and they said I'd have to wait an hour! Seriously? Someone should bring it. At the price they charge, service quality should really be improved. We stayed at the Amari down the road for 1/3 of the price and the service was miles better there.

Also, the food at the pool bar was really horrible. The Thai Chicken Wings seemed like they were out of the microwave and then just covered in ketchup as an example...

Anyway, we had fun at the pool but were disappointed overall and don't think we'll be back.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank zousan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear zousan

Our apologies for letting you down on your recent stay at the resort especially from the room service as well as the food at the You and Mee restaurant. Although this is an isolated incident however there is certainly no excuse for this to happen. Rest assured we have addressed this matter for immediate improvement.

Thank you for your feedback about the pool, beach and ground of the resort and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again to witness the improvement that we strive to make.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

First of all, whomever said that Thailand is inexpensive has been pulling your leg. Granted, we stayed during the peak of the peak season (Christmas/New Years) but even though this Hyatt was a breath of fresh air (in more ways than one) it still felt like they were fleecing us. Nonetheless, this is the best resort in Hua Hin, and actually, as it later turned out, the best value for its class of service. So now I will explain in detail:

* Now, the biggest problem at this Hyatt (and throughout Thailand this is pervasive) is the enormous difficulty of communication. Thai people cannot speak coherent English. No, really, they cannot. I don't care what guidebook you read or what your Thai friends told you, they just need to go back to school. And fail them repeatedly until their Concierge manages to have a lucid conversation with you that does not involve a mangled "I don't know“ and a blank stare and awkward smile (and that's the end of the conversation apparently), or where it takes a guest three different tries just to figure out where the Summer Palace is, and, yes, we want to go there; please order a taxi for us. By the way, it's not worth going there, but I'll get to that later. Anyway, my point is that for a Hyatt Regency, a 5-star resort, it should NOT be this difficult to get out simple information. Mind you, I've lived and traveled all over China for over 3 years, and I've met old peasants in remote areas with better a command of English than these 20-30 year old employees at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin.

* The second problem is tied with the first, but it's a mixed a bag. Some criticism, some praise. You will hear that Hua Hin is a laid back and friendly community. Well... I think, from a Western perspective, we could equate "laid back" with "lazy" here. The service was very uneven. Sometimes you would meet staff who would jump to their feet and be eager to help you (and over eager as well) and other times where the very fact that you requested something from them is their worst nightmare.

* Third, —while this is a service related item, it warrants its own bullet point— the highly aggressive waiters. Why are they are in always such a hurry?! No, I don't mean they run around (although they could walk a bit faster), I mean they push you to finish your meal and drinks so they can, quite literally, snatch your plate away. This happened on more than one occasion where someone hadn't finished their drink nor their plate and it was taken away from them. Actually, this consciously influenced us to eat slower just so that we could spite them. That and always hovering our hands over our meals to guard from would-be food thieves.

*Fourth, we were a bit unhappy with some of the policies of the resort. There is complimentary (free) WiFi, which at 1.5Mbps requires you to daily (sometimes many multiple times) log in... which was annoying. Coverage is okay in the rooms and restaurants but spotty towards the beach lounge areas. You're better off with 3G or 4G there if you have it. There is premium (4Mbps) WiFi available for 300 bahts daily. Now, the laundry service was shocking, both in a good way and bad. The good news was that they do a superb job -- two of my shirts came back pressed so well I thought they were someone else's at first. The bad news is that it's going to cost you a pretty penny: an average of 150 baht PER ITEM. And that's just regular laundry! Dry cleaning will set you back 250 baht per item. Mind you that 150 baht is about Hyatt's price for a beer. Finally, the resort does not offer refunds for bookings. Our party happened to do a walk-in booking due to unforeseen circumstances, but, nonetheless, not possible. It turned out that the resort overcharged us, realized their error, and offered a credit on our balance. It turned out alright in the end, but still upsetting.

*Fifth, the clientele seem mostly European, gauging from their lack of smiles and hellos. This isn't necessarily a problem in of itself, but would have created a friendlier atmosphere. The resorts policy on smoking wasn't very clear since they apparently don't allow it in rooms (but that doesn't prevent people from smoking on balconies) and it was annoying to occasionally be breathing fresh salty air one moment and then cigarette next.

Now, I've listed such a string of negatives here that you must be wondering how I'm giving the Hyatt Regency Hua Hin 4 stars, or why I wrote earlier that's it's a "breath of fresh air". It's because of the following:

*The resort is a landscaped paradise. The grounds are beautiful, with lush tropical plants everywhere and very well maintained and clean. The groundskeepers rake the grass every morning to remove leaves and other organic matter. There's also lots of water features throughout, including, of course, swimming areas. It's tastefully done though, unlike some other resorts I've seen. The plethora of singsong birds complete the picture of feeling like in paradise. This is why I believe the Hyatt Regency Hua Hin is the best resort in Hua Hin for its looks. It makes the Kingdom of Thailand's nearby Summer Palace look like a shabby seaside hovel. And for further comparison, the nearby Intercontinental hotel is apparently great for people who love water but hate trees and shade. And also for people who like to pay twice as much for everything.

*The Barai Spa is minimalism done well. It's next to the McFarland House. Generally this area is much much quieter than anywhere else. The McFarland House (named after an expat who lived an interesting life in Thailand) is best for quiet dinners, in groups or pairs.

*The food is superb. The breakfast buffet, which keeps generous hours — until 11am — is sumptuous. And our New Years Eve dinner at the McFarland House was world-class. On par with a Michelin Star restaurant. The duck comfit tortellini were to die for. Obviously their chefs (one of whom I noticed is a foreigner) and cooks are very well trained. Oh, and, such delicious butter!

Tips

* The ground floor standard rooms are roomier but the upper floors are smaller but have balconies. The balconies have overhead fans that make sitting there on all but the hottest days (above 27C) comfortable. The furniture is soft and comfortable but a bit heavy to move.

* Bathrooms are well appointed but don't have locks on the sliding doors. There's a clothesline in the shower stall but you're better off drying any hand washed laundry outside if you have a balcony room. Good water pressure. Only one sink though.

* All rooms have (old style) ipad docks. Beds are comfortable and they provide a hypoallergenic pillow. Closet roomy and the safe is quite big to fit a medium sized lady's handbag. Slippers are super comfortable; robes okay. The power key card shuts off almost immediately when taken out. Air-Con powerful and easily gets cold. The nightlight near the closet/bathroom can be turned off by the lights by the bed(s). There didn't seem to be an exhaust fan for the bathroom.

* Unless you have your own car, it will be difficult to get around due to the communication problem. Just be patient and persistent. Hyatt offers excursions to something like 20 local sites like waterfalls or vineyards. Average cost is 3000 baht per person. Of course you can do everything on your own, but it's difficult to flag a taxi in Hua Hin. If you're heading back to Bangkok, there's a Hyatt shuttle that will take you to a Hyatt there for 600 baht. If you have another destination in mind, or, just going straight back to the airport in Bangkok, you can go to the Ibis Hotel to order transportation for 1/3 to 1/2 less than what Hyatt will quote you.

* If you're a professional walker, the best times to walk on the beach are at night when the low tide causes the beach to stretch out about 100m. You also don't have horses, jet skis, or para gliders to worry about. Bring a flashlight though, it can get to be pitch black. Of course you can wade into the sea during the day, but be aware of jellyfish.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
10  Thank smarthippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear smarthippo

Thank you for finding the paradise in Hua Hin and I appreciate your detail feedbacks of your recent stay during the recent Christmas/New Year period.

Rest assured all raised points have been noted and we will certainly address this for service enhancement of the resort. The English proficiency of some of our team members is something that we are working harder with various methods. The service that you highlighted could have been more consistent throughout the resort and basic courtesy should have been exercised before removing any dishes/plates.

The WIFI issues has been addressed with our provider. We will install additional WIFI Access points around the beach area and rectify the issues of guests having to login several times a day. We regularly review the prices of our services including the laundry. In fact the laundry prices have actually been decreased recently but we are glad that you are satisfied with the quality of the laundry service.

It is correct that we don't allow smoking inside the rooms and guest may smoke at the outside balcony. The outdoor balcony is equipped with the electric ceiling fan which is helpful with the air circulation around the balcony.

We appreciate your comments about the landscape, BARAI Spa and food quality during breakfast and the New Year's Eve dinner at McFarland House as well as your kind opinion on why you felt our resort is the preferred one in Hua Hin.

It is our hope to be able to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews