We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families though bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for families though bit overpriced”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights recently travelling from Bangkok where we live. We have made over 5 visits to Hua Hin in the last year and have tried a variety of options ranging from hotels to condos to house rentals These are the high and lows of hotel:

Highlights: Amazing kids pool that will entertain the babies to older kids with the great water slide. My son is 2 and average height for his age but could walk around the baby pool so I felt pretty secure in having him there though there was always an adult with him. They have this fantastic sand area built into the baby pool so its like you are at the beach with them but you are still sitting in your chair within 5 feet. The pool wraps around the hotel which is also great. The Barai bar offers great views and good drinks, we were there every night for our sundowner drinks. We didn't get breakfast with our room so can't comment on that.

Lows: The rooms are old and only the ones on the ground floor are spacious, the other floors have these large balconies that take up a lot of space. If you are family, opt for ground floor. A couple could easily do with upstairs and its nice to have a balcony. We had both and preferred ground floor. They have this strange and cheap policy of not refilling the toiletries so we had to call down and ask for some more. They are the only hotel where I've seen extra toiletries sold in the shop like they are prized items -expected more from the Hyatt. Their toiletries are very nice quality. Housekeeping was not great. They were inconsistent with the level of service they provided though the staff are friendly. Playroom is not great, just a room where you basically would have to pay for all the activities whereas other hotels (Phuket Marriott) have a playroom to lounge and play without extra costs.

Only the poolside restaurant is available at noon. It's a small menu and expensive for what it is. We tried the Tips Italian restaurant and found the food to be of good quallity and very good portions. The kids food was really well done.

Overall assessment. If you are a couple in Hua Hin, try somewhere else like Intercon with a better location in general and more eating options other than hotel and more likely to be newer. If you are a family with small kids who want to spend most of the day at the hotel or beach or at the Cicada weekend market, then stay at the Hyatt but be prepared to pay more than you normally would for a good hotel in Thailand and not caliber of other Hyatt hotels or five stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ngabkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Ngabkk

Thank you very much for your review and assessment of the resort during your recent stay. We appreciate the candid feedback about the highs and lows as this will assist us in looking for ways to enhance or improve our product and services.

We are grateful of your compliments about the resort's ambience especially the pool for the children which you and your family had a good time. Thank you also for your comments about the McFarland House for evening drinks, Figs Italian restaurant and the quality of toiletries.

The comment about the toiletries replacement will need correction. We do replace (not refill) the bathroom amenities every day during the room make up by the housekeeping team. It may be an oversight but it is certainly our standard to replace the used shower gels, shampoo, conditioner or body lotion plus other used amenities. Although it is definitely not in your case, but a few times we were asked by guests to replace the amenities 3 to 4 times per day and we found out later that the guests stocked up these amenities to bring back home. Obviously we informed this matter to the guests and would not replace the amenities unless they stop overcollecting these 'souvenirs'.

Your feedback about the housekeeping work has had our attention and this will be reviewed to ensure consistency in the service delivery. Although we have plans to upgrade our guestroom in 2014 but in the meantime our priority is to have all rooms are kept clean, comfort and functional.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    457
    128
    32
    26
See reviews for
805
790
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

To be fair, our very first impression of this hotel wasn't that good. Check in was done in a busy bar area away from the main lobby, our tired children were told to sit down but couldn't find seats and we had to share two welcome drinks between us all. When we were taken to our rooms, one had a leaking a/c unit which had flooded the floor while the a/c in the other room didn't work and the rooms smelled very damp. BUT....the front office manager was lovely about it. She really did do her best to help and was very kind about it all. We were moved to a junior suite, which wasn't ideal, but the rest of the stay was brilliant. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, with pretty waterways everywhere and an impressive central elephant water fountain feature. The spectacular pool meanders its way through lovely greenery and takes you to pretty waterfalls and an absolutely brilliant waterslide which adults enjoy as much as the kids! Part of the pool has a beach area too which is perfect for children, and it's all set right next to the actual beach. The beach itself is quite nice...nothing like the turquoise sea and white sand of the islands, but lots going on and good enough to enjoy. The rooms are well-appointed, contemporary and clean. We mostly ate in the Talay Thai restaurant and the food was superb. The hotel is well situated, just a short taxi ride into Hua Hin where we really enjoyed exploring the shops, visiting the night market, going to Bann Silapin artists' village, eating in the restaurants and getting a foot massage. We stayed for a few days before heading down to Chumphon and getting the boat to Ko Phangan, and on our way back we stayed at the Hyatt again. This time it was fabulous from the very start. They upgraded us to a wonderful suite and connecting room with glorious floor to ceiling windows. Check-in was done inside the room where everything was ready and waiting. Again, we all had a fabulous time relaxing and playing in the pool and, best of all, it was the weekend so we go to visit the best market in Hua Hin...Cicada night market. It's full of wonderfully artistic/crafty goods for sale, fabulous paintings and really delicious (and cheap!) food. Conveniently, it's situated right on the Hyatt hotel's doorstep, which is yet another great reason for staying there. If I had two suggestions for the hotel, they would be 1) To offer more evening entertainment which would have been welcome on the nights that we didn't venture out into the town 2) To encourage the breakfast staff to be a bit more friendly! The women making the pancakes/waffles in particular look pained when you ask them to make one and seem very unhappy with their jobs. More than once they packed up before breakfast time had officially finished when they would have known that our children hadn't yet made their usual pancake order. In general, though, we all absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again if we go back to Hua Hin!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamasChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Beachside Mama
I am glad to learn that overall you and your family had a lovely holiday in Hua Hin and had a happy ending. We appreciate the detail feedback that you have shared as it's very useful for all of us to note the both sides of the experience.
Thank you for your suggestion on the various trips in and around the resort and Hua Hin. We also appreciate your input about the evening entertainment which we do now on almost nightly basis in the various areas of the hotel as well as the improvement on the kitchen team interaction during the breakfast.
We are grateful for your patronage and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here during songkran holidays! In totality was ok with good swimming pools,nice beach,nice resort like experience. Service was ordinary except the valet parking. Breakfast was very ordinary, and staff inexperienced to handle rush. Long ......long...walk to the room. Overall the staff appeared tired and accommodation overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roys76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear roys76
It is our pleasure to have you with us over the Songkran holidays.
Thank you for highlighting both positive as well as areas for improvement which we will follow up. We sincerely apologize that you had to endure the breakfast rush in the morning. On the busy days, we normally open two restaurants for breakfast (Figs and Taly Thai) and both offers the same variety and quality. Both restaurants also have indoor with aircondition as well as outdoor. However for some reason, some guests only wanted to be sitting at Figs and did not want to be escorted to the other restaurant which caused unnecessary waiting time at one restaurant and not the other. Our restaurant manager is normally there at the restaurant entrance and assist in seating the guests.

Although the general feedback about the breakfast has been positive nevertheless we will certainly look into the breakfast selection and quality as you highlighted.

We shall also pay special attention to your comment about the staff appearance. I sincerely believe that with more tuned counselling and constant focus, the team can ensure the service levels remain on top.

Your kind patronage of Hyatt Regency Hua Hin is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We checked in this hotel on 9th April 2013 at around 1.30 pm.the hotel staff was not prepared for our arrival,although we have have made our booking well in advance.

We were given a room with 2 single beds although the booking was for 3 adults.It took us almost 2 hours to settle the things.No body cared about the special requests mentioned by us at the time of booking.

Such a highly rated 5 star hotel needs more professional and qualified staff to understand the customer needs.........poor housekeeping.....lack of english language understanding are big drawbacks gor this 5*****property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCHADHA123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear PCHADHA123456

Thank you for sharing your comments of your recent experience at the resort. I am very concerned of the various situation upon your arrival which should not have occurred. We are deeply disappointed about the outcome and have communicated our apologies and intent to you directly on a separate note.
Your feedback is warranted and we will take all on board to become even better in our service delivery.
Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the place to stay if you have small children; they have a great pool and many activities for the little ones. We stayed in the Regency Club and the rooms have just been upgraded. The pool area in the club section was empty as most people move down to the larger pool, most days we had the whole pool to ourselves. The pool area was not cleaned daily and this did raise questions about the cleanliness of the actual pool. We did hear of a number of ear infections and trips to the hospital.
The continental breakfast is adequate but service is slow and almost none existent.
We had dinner in all the restaurants. The food was fine but not good enough to encourage us to return to any of them. It’s easy and cheap to get into town and you will find some good quality restaurants with better food that is much cheaper.
Drinks and canapes served between 5pm and 7pm are great but a little repetitive if you are there for a long stay; however this makes the upgrade to Club worth the money. The team in the evening are warm, welcoming and great with kids, it’s also a good place to make new friends.
We had a 15 month old with us, we struggled to feed him. The children’s menus are not the healthiest and I would love to see them change to include a wider variety of healthier options. We had to request vegetables for our little one, which more often than not were not cooked enough or had been coated in oil.
We had a baby sitter a number of nights, who was great. It made our trips to town less stressful knowing our baby was in good hands.
A little investment in service and an increase in the number of staff would make your stay here truly memorable one and improve the overall experience. Sammy (GM) was always around and it was great to see so much management presence. He was friendly and considerate to his team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SezHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear SezHongKong
It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us recently and thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that overall you had a relaxing family time at the resort.
With regards to the pool cleanliness, kindly be advised that all of our pools are cleaned on daily basis which normally takes place early in the morning and also in the afternoon depending on the pool situation. We also measure pH water sample from the various pools three times a day. The cleanliness and water quality of the pool are extremely important and we won't compromise on this matter.
We have noted your comments about the service during breakfast at the lounge which will be reviewed for improvement. Being a family resort, we do have good variety of children's menu catered for the our younger guests and we've never had any issues with the menu. Nevertheless we will take your comments on board to see what can be done to enhance it.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again to Hua Hin in the near future.
Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went back to Hua Hin for our Holy Week vacation. As usual we chose to stay at the Hyatt Regency. We had a hard time booking as the hotel was almost full. We were asked if we wanted to use our member vouchers to upgrade to the Club Room & we enjoyed it. Although the rooms were farther away from the big pool than the rooms we got last year it was ok because we had our own Club Pool & Lounge. We enjoyed the food & drinks served from 5-7pm. We met great people during those times. Our son met new friends & talked about going back again next year. We got to enjoy the beach this time because there were no jellyfish. Love love love the beach with the powdery sand. Great staff! Great hotel!

Room Tip: Regular rooms have easier access to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear KayC18

It was a great pleasure to have you and your family once again at the resort and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during the season.

We are glad to know that you had a good time despite the hotel was busy and that you also enjoyed the beach too.

We look forward to having you and your family once again in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and two year old son stayed for 11 nights with another family. The resort is amazing, the manicured gardens are stunning, the pools are beautiful, including a perfect toddler/childrens beach style pool, the options for food are vast and varied, the rooms are a great size, clean and modern. The beds were too firm unfortunately. In typical Thai style, the staff are FANTASTIC! The resort is quite far from town, the night markets, restaurants etc (not in walking distance). Staying in a Regency Club Room equates to lovely additional benefits - seperate breakfast, dedicated guest services, drinks and canapes and best of all - THE BARAI! Probably the resort's biggest draw card. The architecture is breathtaking, the quality of the treatments is fantastic (speaking as a massage therapist myself) and the service is impeccable.

The only downside was trying to enjoy the resort, while chasing after our two year old!

Room Tip: Regency Club rooms are superior, however ensure you are away from the staff entry/exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HRHH, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hua Hin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear debambino

Thank you very much for your kind testament about the resort's experience that you have had recently. It is most appreciated.

We are happy to note that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay and were able to enjoy most facilities including THE BARAI. We will certainly pass on this message to the team who will be very grateful and motivated to hear your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the near future.

Sincere regards
Sammy Carolus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.9 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
2.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hua Hin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Address: 91 Hua Hin - Khao Takiap Road | Prachuap Khiri Khan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin is a premier beachfront resort ideal for families, honeymooners and couples who are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The hotel enjoys a 250 meter stretch of prime white sand beach, plus lush tropical gardens and swimming pools. THE BARAI, the hotel's brand-new residential suite and luxury spa destination, is a sanctuary for beauty, pampering and wellness. Hyatt Regency Hua Hin also offers Pet-Friendly programme to welcome you and your pet as our guests. The resort has assigned five pet-designated Deluxe Rooms in the same area for guests with dog or cat up to 10 kgs. With advance reservations, the resort will provide a bed and bowl to be arranged in the room with a supplemental charge of only THB 800 per night fee plus tax and service charge per reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Hua Hin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing