We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total bliss at the Barai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Total bliss at the Barai”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We have just returned from 10 blissful days at this hotel. Being a family of 4 (21 & 16 year old children) we booked a Barai Balcony suite and the kids had a twin Regency.

The siute was probably the best we have ever stayed in. Total contemporary luxury with every attention to detail and a Suite Butler to serve your every need at the end of a phone. The suite incorporated twin changing and washrooms a double bath, steam room and 2 massage tables as well as all the usual mod cons. We ended up having to lock the kids out, who were distinctly jealous.

The Barai Spa which has only been opened for 12 months was a spectacular experience, pricey treatments but worth it for a special treat.

Food was first class, staff ever so polite and friendly, only downside ( for teenagers), no entertainment people seemed to retire at about 10pm.

Only one complaint, the Swedish, German contingent were a surly bunch with the usual antics to get a good sunbed or jogging machine in the Gym. The only time a smile cracked their faces was after 20 bottles of wine on New Years Eve.

A well, you can't have everything. It will not stop us from going again.

  • Liked — The Barai suite
  • Disliked — Some of the Guests
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank spymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    465
    132
    34
    26
See reviews for
836
807
53
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

I stayed here with my family. We took the hotel shuttle as we were staying at the Grand Hyatt Erawan in Bangkok. It cost about 500 baht per adult. We were the only guests in the mini van, which was great, and the journey took about 2 hrs 15 minutes.

I liked:-
1. The fact that generally everything ran pretty smoothly.
2. There was tonnes of staff and security personnel. Service was generally rather attentive.
3. It is located rather close to the beach.
4. My kids loved the water slide which was fast, though short.
5. The Barai Spa - terribly pricey but the architecture and ambience was superb.

I disliked:-
1. The horse droppings on the beach.
2. The touts (horse rides, clothes, fake crocs, banana boat rides etc) that gathered almost at my feet when I sat on the deck chairs facing the beach.
3. Except for the breakfast buffet which was not too bad, the restaurants were pricey and the food mediocre.

A more detailed review can be found on my blog www.audreystwocentsworth.blogspot.com.

  • Liked — Clean, well-maintained, lovely beach views, water slide for my kids, fantiastic spa
  • Disliked — Lousy beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank See-to-believe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tessacate88
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This was our second visit to the hotel and the third visit to Hua Hin.
The hotel is right on the beach, although you wouldn't bother swimming
in the sea as it is very polluted. Pleasant enough to go for a walk along the sand though. The massage ladies along the beach from the hotel are excellent, very friendly, capable masseurs and much cheaper than the hotel's spa.

We paid the extra for the Hyatt Regency Club and enjoyed the quieter pool area. The room was lovely - large and airy with a big luxurious bathroom. On our first stay we had a first floor room with a balcony. The second stay was on the ground floor with a larger room instead of the balcony (we preferred the latter). The rooms were spotless, the bed comfortable.

Enjoyed the daily activities such as yoga and water aerobics (although
the aerobics teachers varied in quality).

The daily free happy hour which included snacks meant we weren't very hungry at dinner time.

Generally speaking we loved the resort. The only down sides fo the property were the cost of eating in their restaurants which were, in my opinon exhorbitant. It was also quite a long way out of town, although a shuttle bus was available and taxis and tuk-tuks were very cheap.

Would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness; luxury
  • Disliked — Food and cost at resort restaurants
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tessacate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Oh i wish i was there now!!!!!!!!!
December in the UK what a drag, august in Hua Hin just perfect not to hot, very little rain ( for the rainy season) & our 3rd visit to our favourite asian hotel. The brilliant staff, pool boys & girl excellent ! Food & drink very good , pricy (but its a european standard 5* hotel) so dont complain ! All in all just perfect & we met some super people. Will be back next summer .
Thanks Thor hope all is well . Marcus Suffolk UK.

  • Liked — clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marcustheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

As with a number of fellow travellers I must agree that the Hyatt Regency is outstanding in every aspect.
Friendly helpful staff, beautiful grounds & pools, peace & quite.
If offered the Regency club upgrade, seriously consider it ,comprehensive breakfast, coffee/tea/coke all day, cocktails \Hor d`oeuves, use of twin pool, snacks etc (egg cup of exquisite ice cream mid afternoon!) 1600Baht/room/night
Any criticism I would have had were of a very minor nature, yes it is out of town, but 100-120 Baht or a 50 baht shuttle bus makes this an irrelevance. In fact a Tut Tut taken back late evening could only in my opinion be a great pleasure on a warm evening.
Price of the meals & services in the hotel where expensive compared with town, but its comparing chalk & cheese. On one side a top international Hotel chain and on the other a small business in a medium sized Thai town.
What for me was a massive breath of fresh air being my first trip to Thailand was the attitude of everyone we met, they where so friendly and happy. From the hawkers on the street, to the gardeners in the Hyatt and the drivers on the road, whatever the size or mode of transport, amazing, what’s the secret? If only they could export this to the West we would all be a great deal better off.
What it does do is gives me a massive problem, that is, will we ever find a place as good.
I now know why so many people have made the 11.5 hrs trip to this part of the world, we will be back.

  • Liked — All round great standard
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MandMSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

The Hyatt in Hua Hin is beautiful and has very friendly staff, we have not stayed at other hotels in Hua Hin, but from what we did see of the other hotels it seems to be one of the best. The property is superb, the beach is quite nice (a lot of sand crabs though) however they do charge a lot for everything on site (mini-bar, restaurant food etc.) - a bit silly as it prevents you from feeling free to just enjoy everything. The 5 minute shuttle to downtown Hua Hin is a good offer. The rooms are not that big but nice, the open bathroom solution looks good but it a bit impractical. Being there in July meant a lot of rain and we only saw the sun for a few hours half the days we spent there.

We took the shuttle they offer from Hyatt in Bangkok (booked it by e-mail) and felt welcome from the first moment (when we waited for the bus we were treated superbly by the staff in Bangkok even though we did not stay at Hyatt there). The bus was cheap and comfortable (the driver could learn to keep a steady speed though...you'll see what we mean if you take it...).

For shopping try the Premium Outlet in Cha Am (cheap clothes from a lot of well known brands) .Ask the hotel to arrange the shuttle to the Premium Outlet stores to pick you up
at the hotel the next day. There is a shuttle stop in front of the Night Market in town, but if you ask the bus can pick you up directly at the hotel. (big sign on the wall of the sports shop
there saying the bus goes every hour, but it did not when we were there). The mall has a café that serves hot meals for 20-35 baht, the chickned noodle soup was good. You buy food tickets
and then give the tickets to the counter where they have the meal you want.

Hua Hin has plenty of tailors, some have people outside trying to persuade you to use them,others have learned that most people do not like that and they are typically the same tailors that have signs on their door showing that they are recommended by various travel agents. We had done some research up front and decided to try one of these - a tailor named Picasso. According to
the reviews I had read they were higher than average on the price scale, but trustworthy. We first visited them on a monday. They were friendly and humble. We were offered drinks and catalogues of suits and dresses. We had brought pictures of some dresses and they offered to make us whatever we wished. From the reviews I have read it is often pressed that you have to demand at least two fittings, however at Picasso this was never a problem - in fact they wanted us to do 3 fittings to ensure that everything was as perfect as possible. We did not stay in town so this actually became a bit of work for us, we ended having 4 fittings (one on tuesday, one on thirsday and two on friday).
The clothes were sent to our hotel room a few hours after the last fitting. We are happy with the clothes, however there were a few things that were not as they should have been:

We bought 2 suits, 10 shirts, 2 skirts, 5 dresses and a pair of trousers, everything in cahmir or silk-wool. The total price came to 57300 baht. The suits e.g. in cashmir wool cost 7000 baht,
the shirts were first priced at 1500 baht, but we extended the order and got them for 1000 baht.

  • Liked — The beautiful garden
  • Disliked — Prices on food and services
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank M07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

We went to stay for 1 night as a weekend getaway from Bangkok. The overnight package included breakfast buffet for two.

Liked:
- Great buffet breakfast.
- Great buffet grill dinner. I realized too late that it's probably better not to have the buffet dinner if breakfast buffet is included!
- Friendly, helpful, smiling staff.
- Lagoon-like, intricate swimming pool(s) were an interesting touch.

Didn't like so much:
- The vastness of the property. I would prefer more intimate settings (but if you like huge compounds, this is *the* place for you!)
- Flimsy doors that were not at all sound-proof. You could hear all the echoing, amplified yelling of happy children in the hallways and grounds.
- No window screens. We wanted to turn off the aircon and enjoy the cool sea air for a bit, but couldn't b/c the mosquitoes would've come in.
- Its location is a few kilometers from Hua Hin town. Since we took a minivan from Bangkok, it took a bit of effort to get ourselves to the hotel. To be fair, the hotel offers hourly shuttle service (for B50/person) to the city center, as well as (limited) van transfer service (B500/person) to the Grand Hyatt Erawan in Bangkok.

  • Liked — the buffets
  • Disliked — rooms with flimsy doors & no window screens, too vast a hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanate28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.9 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 137 in Hua Hin
1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
2.4 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 137 in Hua Hin
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hua Hin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Address: 91 Hua Hin - Khao Takiap Road | Prachuap Khiri Khan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin is a premier beachfront resort ideal for families, honeymooners and couples who are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The hotel enjoys a 250 meter stretch of prime white sand beach, plus lush tropical gardens and swimming pools. THE BARAI, the hotel's brand-new residential suite and luxury spa destination, is a sanctuary for beauty, pampering and wellness. Hyatt Regency Hua Hin also offers Pet-Friendly programme to welcome you and your pet as our guests. The resort has assigned five pet-designated Deluxe Rooms in the same area for guests with dog or cat up to 10 kgs. With advance reservations, the resort will provide a bed and bowl to be arranged in the room with a supplemental charge of only THB 800 per night fee plus tax and service charge per reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Hua Hin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing