We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxation and pampering...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxation and pampering...”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We've been to Anantara Resort and Spa twice already and so when we decided to take a well earned break in Thailand again this year this resort was our first choice. Hua Hin is on the north-west Gulf coast and approx 2.5hrs drive from Bangkok airport - a long car transfer yes but worth it to see all the sights en route including the paddy fields and the summer palace of King Rama.

Anantara Resort and Spa is set back from the main road into Hua Hin and is secluded within beautifully landscaped gardens which feature an orchid farm. The resort is built in traditional Thai style. The lobby is stunning (open air, traditional thai furnishing and flooring) and on arrival you are welcomed with a cooling fresh towel scented with lemongrass and a cool fruit drink. The staff here are gracious, genuine, friendly yet professional and the service is first class.

All the rooms are lovely but would recommend you at least go for the sea view upper rooms as they are a bit larger, have a better view and of course other advantages such as flatscreen TV and plush balcony area. We were offered a room upgrade this year on arrival and were offered a very good discount on the usual upgrade rate.

The best rooms are lagoon rooms (suites really) which are set apart from other accomodation (next to the stunning spa) and overlook a fantastic fresh water lagoon filled with flowers, an infinity pool for lagoon residents and you get more seclusion and peace and quiet. That said, the main accomodation area islovely and set amongst beautiful gardens and the garden view rooms are well furnished with everything you need.

Every room gets a bed turn down service which is quite personalised with the staff who who like to leave you little notes written on palm leaves wishing you sweet dreams and usually scatter fresh orchids on your bed for you! They'll also tidy up your room during this service and get you anything you need like a change oftowels so you donothave to wait till maid service the next day.

The main pool area is lovely and there is a childrens pool right at it too so in peak season don't expect it to be completely quiet! There's a pool bar too and the bar staff will usually patrol the pool area daily offering to get you drinks. We tipped the staff although there is a 10% service charge built in.

The restuarants are excellent offering Thai (outdoor), Seafood (overlooking the ocean and again outdoor) and Italian (indoor and air conditioned). The food is fantastic and the cost on average compares to a good quality Thai restuarant in the UK. Note though, that wine isvery expensive in Thailand and within the resort. We paid an average of £40 for a bottle of wine with dinner (the cheapest was about £30) although they have their own wine cellar which you are free to visit and very good quality wines. Reason for the hiked up price on wine? It's the 450% tax mark up.

Recommend you book inclusive of breakfast, which is served as buffet and is very varied with continental, cooked elements (they'll do eggs any way you want them to order) and if you want you can have Chinese or Sushi for breakfast instead!

A typical 2 course dinner in the resort with a glass of wine each cost us about £50-60. But the setting, the food and the first class service made it all worth it. Yes, you can eat at a fraction of the cost in town which is a 10min shuttle bus ride away (provided by the hotel at small charge of 100bht each, each way). There are lots of places to eat in town too but don't get dressed up for it as it's all a bit more casual an experience but lots of fun too. We mixed it up and had dinner in the resort but also went into town on different nights too - so you get to experience all the different foods and of course the night market which on a weekend is very busy but worth it. Tip: take the shuttle bus into town and a Tuk-Tuk back - it's the best fun, just hang on! It's only about 150bht.

If you visit this resort you have to visit the spa at least once. This one is stunning, with immaculately prepared treatment rooms and beautifully Thai featured outdoor showers, and plunge baths where you can take a scented jasmine flower bath or milk and honey bath after your treatment. The spa staff are well trained in both Thai and Elemis treatments and each treatment room has a personal changing area and it is all very professional. It is a very relaxing experience and a welcome escape from the very hot sun!

Lastly, the resort does overlook the beach, however there are no sunbeds on the beach as such, but there isa sandy area within the resort overlooking the beach where you have sunbeds (this sound strange but it's all part of the design). Suggest you check the webite to see what we mean.

Cannot recommend Anantara enough, next year we hope to try another Anantara resort, check their website!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barr555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    612
    148
    51
    17
See reviews for
683
1,022
66
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We recently stayed at the Anantara Resort in Hua Hin, Thailand for 7 days. We chose an oceanview room which was perfect; right on the beach so I could watch each beautiful sunrise and the local fishing boats trying their luck in the sea. Our room was very comfortable; a lovely touch was the personalised note left each evening by the room attendants wisihing us a comfortable/pleasant/tranquil (etc) night. The extensive grounds were quite beautiful and the pool a delight! The hot weather saw us spend every day in "our" spot at the pool. During the day, the wind off the Gulf builds until early evening when it dies down so that the beachside bar/restaurant was a lovely place to be. Our room facing the ocean ensured the ever present mosquitoes were blown away and wind kept the stifling heat at bay. (In my opinion, much better than the garden view or lagoon rooms where I imagined no such relief was available!) The service was impeccable - friendly and attentive. My only reservation was the lack of choice with food. A personal quirk of course, but as we are not seafood eaters we were a little short on choices. We ate at each of the 3 resort restaurants and each was lovely. I also indulged myself on the on-site day spa which was heavenly. All in all, a wonderful stay which we both enjoyed immensely! Yes, we will go back!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank austsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

First things first overall the resort grounds are beautiful.

Check-in:

Check-in process was a little slow, but then again we are arrived as a group of 20 people for our company outing so it was acceptable and we were offered welcome drinks while we wait to be checked in. Now all the rooms except my co-worker's and mine room were ready, we were told that it would about 40 mins before the room were finished. We were ok with this because we could just go to one of the the other rooms to wait. But for some one without this convince it would be a huge problem why?

The biggest complaint I have about this resort is the open air reception, it was so hot and there are no fans anywhere, after about 5 mins we were covered in sweat and waiting in the lobby was impossible. We ended up going to the bathroom to wash our faces, and it was even cooler in there!

Room:

I just have to say that I am glad the company paid for the room, for the price of the room although decorated nicely it is surprisingly small! No LCD TV or DVD player, again not really a big deal but like I said for the price, you would think it would have one. As for the bathroom for the a couples type resort it was really small.

The bed was comfortable enough, but pillows could be better. They give you two pillows but if you use one it is too soft and if you use two its too hard. Blinds keep the light out pretty good at night, but during the day not that well.

Food:

They do offer a buffet dinner on the beach which looked pretty decent, we had a set dinner also on the beach. Although not really the hotels fault we had a 4 course meal, but the portions where really small so there was not enough to go around. So can't really really say anything bad about it. Taste was pretty good but like others say, nothing to brag about.

Buffet breakfast was alright, again the problem is like the lobby no fans!! It was way to hot to enjoy the breakfast! On top of that the toaster was broken.

Facilities:

They do have a pool that looked really nice but didn't have a chance to use, although would've like to try because it was really hot.

Overall:

Would I stay here again? No Would I recommend it? Probably not. For the price of the rooms, your probably better off spending a little extra for Hilton of Sofitel. There is just no escape form the heat in the public areas ie. lobby and restaurant. If they fix this then I might be inclined to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
271 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

As with the Banyan Tree in Bintan, I've waited a while to write a more balanced review of this particular resort

I stayed a couple of nights as part of a company meeting and it was two nights too many

The resort is one of those which probably was great perhaps 5 years ago but honestly, at those prices, there are far better options available

The rooms are old and incredibly tired looking. The beds are uncomfortable, the furniture tires the eyes. In terms of technology, I had to get my modem for the Internet changed 5 times and finally had to change the room itself to get a somewhat slow connection

The facilities are basic and again, when one thinks of the rate charged, the feeling of 'never again' doesn't go away

What is positive though is the food. Every meal had something nice to offer

And the saving grace of this hotel is the staff. Exceptionally polite, determined to serve well and efficient. Its a pity that their efforts are wasted in a hotel that basically is run down

In short, lots of better options in Hua Hin but if you are stuck in this resort, atleast you can get some great service and good food

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

If you are looking to go to this part of Thailand you should really stay here. It is only a two and a half hour drive from Bangkok by bus or around 5 hours by train which is a great experience.

Having travelled a lot, I am sure I can say that this resort lives up to 5 star standards. The staff is just incredible and the upkeep of the whole property is excellent. Most off the time you are out at the beach and pool anyway, so the room size, which I would say is decent, doesn't really matter.

We used the F&B outlets frequently, we purchased one of their dinner packages which is a decent deal, specially when you go for the themed evenings. As we had already been in Bangkok for 5 days before, we were happy to stay in the resort most of the time to relax and chill. Yes it is maybe not cheap but you have to expect that when you book a 5 star resort.

If we are back to Bangkok and look for short break, we will return.

PS: If you look for a different type of day trip and want to see elephants but not the usual cruel tourist trap, you should visit www.wfft.com. It is great charity (wildlife rescue centre)looking after the wildlife all based on volunteer work but you can go there as day traveller as well. What an amazing experience to be around elephants, monkeys etc. So much better than the dressed up version and you really learn something about these amazing animals.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scouternaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

The Anantara in Hua Hin is a wonderful place to relax and recharge the batteries. The gardens and lagoon area are immaculately kept and look beautiful. We had a garden view room on the ground floor. Yes, as some have already stated, the rooms are small but the bed is comfortable, the rooms clean and tidy with plenty of nice little touches and the hot water plentiful - lets be honest when you have sunshine who stays in their room all day? We made the mistake of arranging a meal deal for 5 lunches and dinners during our week long stay. Don't get me wrong the food was fab, but it was expensive and if we did it all again we would eat in the town of Hua Hin most nights. They do run a shuttle bus to the town as it is down a main road so not really ideal to walk at night but it's only 5 minutes maximum. You do have to pay for the bus which I think is a bit mean but the food and drink is so cheap and lovely in the town you will still save money if you pay for the bus each night. I know from experience you can sometimes feel like you want the safe option when staying in a strange country but I would urge people to try the small restaurants in Hua Hin itself, the food really is the best and so cheap. Try The Corner Restaurant but be warned it is busy. Overall a nice bit of luxury for my birthday treat and would stay here again but do things differently now I'm a little more confident.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliH_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opfikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Excellent Rooms, Fantastic garden, Beautiful Lagoon Pool, Great and Friendly Staff, Overpriced Food&Beverage

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyStGallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,258 reviews
7.3 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#4 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,970 reviews
5.9 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hua Hin Resort

Property: Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Address: 43 / 1 Phetkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Hua Hin Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 187-room Anantara Resort Hua Hin is a distinctive Thai village-style property located on the sunrise coast of the Gulf of Thailand, around 220 kms south of Bangkok. Hidden amidst 14 acres of luxuriantly landscaped gardens and lagoon pools, the picturesque resort enjoys a beachfront location at the quiet end of Hua Hin's long sandy beach for only 5 kms. from Hua Hin town centre. A three-meters high terracotta wall cleverly cocoons the resort from the hustle and bustle of town. As you make your way along the landscaped driveway, a sense of calm descends. The sense of arrival is heightened as you admire a decorative wall adorned with a parade of elephants. A cool breeze drifting in from the beach floats through the open-air Lobby with the strains of a melodic Thai tune lingering. Polished timber floors and Thai-style salas (pavilions) heighten the ambience of an intimate tropical hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Anantara Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Resort And Spa Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin
Anantara Resort Hua Hin
Anantara Hua Hin
Anantara Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing