We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on earth!”
Review of Chiva-Som

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chiva-Som
Ranked #6 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The care and pampering and food is superb. So many forms of exercise, and treatments to choose from. The staff went far out of their way to take care of every need.
Totally relaxing and rejuvenating. A dream come true to be able to spend a week in such luxury and pampering
Don't go for less than 8 nights. And 10 nights even better.

Room Tip: Sea view, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonicaG506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent wonderful time here.

Releasing my stif body by joining exercise classes and SPA treatment.

Reading books or doing nothing by the beach or pool for relax.

The atmosphere is perfect for solo trip.

The hotel facility is old an not much preferred.

    • Value
1  Thank naomi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Sadly having just checked out of this wonderful resort.. I wanted to write my review while the memory was still fresh.
I did read through some of the other reviews here, and have to say, it's tremendously hard to write a review that truly is indicative of the location, staff, & services. What we as consumers forget is that the world doesn't revolve around US!

On with my review; Location is just lovely, beachside & in addition surrounded by beautifully maintained tropical gardens that are an oasis of calm, the scent of the flowers alone is relaxing & calming.

Accommodation ; We stayed in one if the Thai pavilions, while some may say they are small, I didn't find that. Quite charming actually, one can see the beauty in the antique teak wood. To be honest, with all the activities going on, one is barely in the room.
I would have to agree however, that the bathroom is a little dated. With only one wash basin. Huge problem? Not unless you make it one.

Facilities; I do wish there was room to adequately describe the huge array of activities! You can should you wish, start your morning with Tai Chi, followed by Hathaway Yoga, stay on for the stretch class too.. Pilates, Gyrotonic... All represented by professionally trained instructors.

The Spa; Serene, copious amounts of space, the treatment rooms are large clean, well maintained.. If you just wish to chill & enjoy the atmosphere sit back & relax. Again, the list of available treatments could & would fill the page! All the spa staff are professional, many attending Chiva Som own academy for the best training. With so many ' new spa's ' popping up on the spa band wagon, it's nice to see that Chiva Som takes the time to train all staff in the art of massage, health & well being. Yes, occasionally staff may suggest an additional treatment, that is entirely up to you to act upon, I did not feel any pressure to upgrade or add on.
The resort also has many guest practitioners coming in to add to the whole experience.

Cuisine: IMO, simply delicious, a vast array of choices, breakfast, lunch & dinner. Choice of restaurants, either the Emerald Room or the Taste of Siam. Whichever you choose, you will not be disappointed! The food is I would say 99% Organic, the freshest of vegetables & fruits, a very creative approach to healthy choices. The use of fresh herbs & spices, allowing for the natural flavors to shine, just enhancing them. Truly some of the most delightful meals I have ever eaten, & I am very selective! Kudos to the executive chef & kitchen staff.
Suggestion, please write a vegetarian cook book !

think I wrote enough now...

3  Thank BKKGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Their renowned spa cuisine is delectable, original and delicious with nice surprises such as Black Glutinous Croissants which I have never seen before. Staff impressed me with their standard of English and service skills. Spa personnel are consistent with standard and are professional to my liking. Trainers have good interaction with clients and are very encouraging especially for beginners like myself. The closeness of the sea to the restaurant "Tastes of Siam" is especially appealing to me and I love the proximity. The sound of waves is calming if you need quietness and inner healing. The staff are trained to be sensitive and makes the bill worth footing. Will definitely like to return on an annual basis. By the end of the stay, I actually got used to going around the estate without my mobile which is pretty much a miracle...

Room Tip: I love the garden pavilion rooms but the one I was located in (Room 111) was bordering a different e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinnyLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Amazing couldn't fault anything about this experience. The staff were very attentive and no request was a problem. The food was the best I've eaten and so fresh and healthy. The massages were to die for. A wonderful retreat for girls to get together and pamper themselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Totally relaxing, fabulous place & deliciously healthy food which make you look & feel ten years younger at the end of your holiday, pure heaven !!!!
I would recommend it to anybody needing an uplift & a new lease of life.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone444_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have now been to Chiva Som 6 times.It is exclusive and expensive,but l do not believe there is anywhere else in the world that matches its blend of holistic treatments,wide range of guest fitness and Wellbeing programmes that run all day,the sensational healthy food.On top of this you have a wide range of world class,guest consultants and the friendliest and efficient employees l have ever met,they all seem to be part of a family.This is an oasis of calm and you leave relaxed,lighter and with significantly lower blood pressure.As l said this is not cheap,but l am not sure it is appropriate to put a price on this kind of experience.It is not an hotel in the true sense of the word,but a private health Spa.If you want the experience of your life-just go.No children or mobile phones!

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent,but it is better to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdmb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
5.4 mi away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#10 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,697 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Hua Hin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiva-Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiva-Som

Address: 73 / 4 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Hua Hin
Price Range: $1,259 - $2,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chiva-Som 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiva-Som is a luxury health resort, combining international standards with Thai hospitality to deliver personal wellness programmes in a non regimented way. Everything we do focuses on a holistic approach to health that incorporates mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chiva-Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiva-Som Hotel Hua Hin
Chiva Som Luxury Health Hotel
Chiva Som Luxury Health Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing