We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great western and Thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hin Lek Fai Restaurant

Hin Lek Fai Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 605 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The correct dining options are: ONLY Reservations and Romance, no large groups! Our Motto since 1999 - More than just an eating place! Just 7km west from the Hua Hin City. Hin Lek Fai is the first community west of Hua Hin town and has 12 villages. The mountain of Hua Hin is known only from foreigners like this. Sometimes foreigners think they know more than the Thais! For Thais the vantage point is known under the name Khao Sanam Kop. It is 170 m above sea level and has 6 viewpoints. There has never been a restaurant with a view! Enjoy a romantic dinner in a beautiful environment in the sub-district Hin Lek Fai. Our restaurant (former Pasta Factory) is recommended in many travel books, magazines and telecasts. Note: Closed on Tuesday. Do not call after 5pm, this is the busy time. Thank you!
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great western and Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Yes this a bit out of the way from Hua Hin, but the food and ambiance is wonderful. Myself and 5 friends went twice and really enjoyed it. They do good European and Thai food, I have put a map up so that you can see how easy it is to get there. You can go by Taxi or 6 seater tuk tuk. they will also take you back to your accommodation if you tell them when to pick you up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    75
    31
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“only the interior..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

very surprised by all the "top" reviews!, mostley from swiss and germans?,
is there taste gone for real good food? or if its a plate full and than ok?
my western food was greasy and bland, before frozen and than in microwave oven.
the pasta was also very bland and with 2 miniscule mushrooms in it, thai food was according our
thai friends very average.
its the interior decoration that does it, but i cannot eat that!
far out of town, and by far not justified so high on tripadvisor!
much and much better restaurants anywhere around and in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ron b.Yes you are right. We have have many German speaking guests. And yes, the most of them are from Switzerland. I am so sorry, but I see many cooks around the world they are chef in a 5 Star hotel - from Switzerland. Anyway, not I am the cook, its just my lovely Thai wife. And she do it very well. Many of this German speaking people give her a standing ovation - that's just means, they are very happy with everything. It is so sad, that you were unhappy about the service, the value and especially the food. The food was terrible! Wow. Why you did not tell me that? I really take care every table by my own and ask every guest how was it and was some thing wrong? Anyway, you vote the atmosphere with 4, the service with 3, the value with 2 and the great food from my lovely wife with 1. The general rating is just 1 - terrible, how its comes?
hannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurants in Hua hin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you want to have a beautifull evening with friends or family you must visit
Hin Lek Fai restaurant, the ambiance is perfect and this is also for the food.
It is good that this restaurant is not in the centre of Hua hin but a little outside,
you can find restaurant easy, because almost every taxi or tuktuk driver now this places.
We live now here in Hua hin for almost 1 year and visit many times this restaurant and always with pleasure.
This is a special restaurant in the big circus of restaurants in Hua hin.
You can try it yourself !!!!!!

Jan & Ria from Rotterdam.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is in Hin Lek Fai a bit outside Hua Hin. The best is to take a Tuk Tuk if you are not familiar with the area. The restaurant offers you a relax atmosphere and excellent food. As tables are limited it might be the best to make a reservation when coming with a group.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Menno v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the best? NO”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Far away from city and surroundings? 1 side buildingsite and other side a rubbish dump
Inside its beautiful, nice decoration.
Food? absolutely not more than very average! This sort of food i can get anywhere and anyplace
in town.
Prices are reasonable and service just normal.
So the only reason to visit this restaurant is the interior and for only that its a bit far out of town,
and there are many more places with a beautiful and/or nice interior.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank donald10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannwe, Owner at Hin Lek Fai Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
dear donald10-12. Far away from the city? 7 km, 10 - 15 minutes drive by car. We have parking places and silence. In the past we had guest they comes from the Hyatt, they had to pass the city and make a U-turn, its took 20 minutes or more. The rubbish damp on the left side is just a a recycling place, run by a very lovely elderly Thai family This is Thailand, great. That is one of hundreds reason why we life here, isn't it? Anyway, you do not see this place, not on daytime certainly not in the night. But, of course, you saw it, because you walked around 10 minutes before your entered in the restaurant. I remember you, and I also know what you eat and what you tell me about the foot: Everything great and nothing wrong. Again, 3 points for value, 3 points for service. 2 for food (this is the point, down with the food) and 4 points for the atmosphere, because this will see everyone! I would like to see you again here, shakes hands and speak about the wrong things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hin Lek Fai Restaurant also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hin Lek Fai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing