We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique shop in a sea of tourist spots”
Review of The Family Tree

The Family Tree
Ranked #2 of 32 Shopping in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Family Tree proudly offers authentic, Thai arts and crafts, handmade by community groups and independent artists. Treasures include award-winning, natural dyed and hand-woven Thai silks, natural cosmetics, vibrant paintings of Thai life and inspiring recycled sculptures, jewelry, toys and accessories. We are committed to Fair Trade, sourcing our products from over 30 social and environmental initiatives, including crafts cooperatives, women’s groups, ethnic minorities and artisans with special needs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique shop in a sea of tourist spots”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Family Tree is an awesome place to find unique gifts in Hua Hin. I've been living in Thailand for a year and this is certainly one of the best places I've found to buy things that can't be purchased in literally every other store. The owner is fantastic, full of information about each piece and where it comes from. Displays are set up beautifully, with a nice selection of items. The fact that everything is fair trade and handmade from small businesses makes it all even better. I definitely recommend stopping in here for some gifts or for treating yourself!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Bimson,

Many thanks for your kind review.

To find all of these unique arts and crafts, our team travels around Thailand, looking for community groups, artisans and social entrepreneurs who have beautiful products, sincere passion and an inspiring story to share. When the products, the artisans and their stories are beautiful and meaningful, they get onto our shelves. Often, we buy only a bag or a handful of crafts, made over several weeks or months, It's also a great adventure and a lot of fun for us.

We are always happy when a guest comes into our shop and finds that special work of art which has been waiting for them :-)

Enjoy your time in Thailand, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Dtor and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    18
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best shopping”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having read reviews on this shop and frustrated by the "typical" shopping in Hua Hin I decided to visit The Family Tree. I spent almost two hours in this lovely shop, browsing and talking to the owner. She explained where things had been made and how the were made, every item had a personal story to it and value that was not measured in the monetary way. I bought a lot of gifts here, I will be able to tell my family where the came from and the effort put into each item. I must say that everything was special, ebony used to dye a silk scarf that I bought for my daughter I hope will be a treasured gift for use throughout her life time. I walked out happier than when I entered. You need not look any further than this shop for your special Thai gifts. I know my family and i will enjoy these gifts for a long time to come. I have not even spoken about the community work the owners undertake using the profits, go down and meet them and learn how special this place is.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Lisa,

What a lovely review! Thank-you so much for taking the time to write about The Family Tree.

It is inspiring to feel this sense of deeper value, when a work of art or a simple handmade craft catches our attention and communicates something to us. And, it's especially wonderful to find something which is 'just right' as a gift for someone who one loves, like your daughter.

In Thai culture, silk is a very meaningful gift. Silks are traditionally given as gifts to close family members on important occasions like weddings. Giving natural dyed silk is especially meaningful, because these traditions have been refined and passed down over many generations. Natural dying connects people, art and culture to nature. To sustain natural dying, local artisans must plant and care for trees, which plays a part in protecting the environment.

Buying these textiles is helps to keep this local knowledge alive, at a time when it is much cheaper and quicker for community members (who are buy like everyone else) to use chemical dyes from the markets. I'm sure that when your daughter knows this, she will treasure the silk even more. It is a gift which has meaning to you and to Thailand on many levels.

Happy and safe travels,

Dtor, Peter and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure of Hua Hin!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We 'found' The Family Tree after eating in The Cool Breeze (excellent BTW). We spoke to Paul and his wife about the shop, how it came about and why it was set-up - the story was very interesting (and worth listening to). Each item for sale had it's own story and the provenance of each is sound. Go there.... Support the community.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Lazza,

Sorry for a slow reply!

So many thanks for your kind review of the Family Tree, and your recommendation.

Hope to see you again in Hua Hin.

Warm regards,

Dtor, Peter and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An inspiring tonic to the industrialized retail world”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The epitome of cuteness and creating value for the greater good in Thailand fuses here at the Family tree shop where Peter and his wife are on a mission to sell great products and contribute to Thailand's grassroots. We ended up buying lots of natural skin care products such as soap, sun block, lotion, scrub but of course there's so much more to the Family Tree from unique peaces of earth ware, black silk and more. We recommend to skip the Seven Elevens of Hua Hin or the mass produced touristy souvenirs and aim for something that you can help leave a better Thailand. Beware though, as each item has it's own story to it, you may be caught in inspiring conservation with the shop owners that reaffirms that there's a lot of good out there in the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Michael,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Family Tree.

We love the sentence in your review, "each item has it's own story to it, you may be caught in inspiring conservation with the shop owners that reaffirms that there's a lot of good out there in the world!"

This is the atmosphere which we are trying to craft at the Family Tree. Perhaps we can't do everything, or even a lot to make the world a kinder place, but we can all do something.

The shop gathers stories and creations by regular people like us, who are doing what they are able to. It is enough to put a smile on our faces, as well as many of the guests who visit us.

Thank-you for joining us to celebrate and support these inspiring efforts :-)

Dtor, Peter and the FamilyTree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thailand in a shop”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The shop is amazing and inspiring to many new generations who are looking at combining business and social responsibility. The shop has brought to you the face and lifestyle of the authentic Thai from its various cultural ethnic groups. It embodies variety of products of art and craft from poor and marginalized communities. With its limited space, the owner managed to organize and arrange the stories beautifully. As a shopper, I am amazed at various stories from each products brought in from all over Thailand. Allow sometimes to listen to stories from the owner who are more than happy to share with you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SpiritualExpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Kris,

Thank-you for joining Trip Advisor to write a review of the Family Tree. That's very kind of you.

Thank-you for sharing your impressions of the shop, and for your appreciation of the diversity of treasures, coming from many corners of Thailand, which are represented here.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Family Tree,

Dtor and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Tree also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to The Family Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing