We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I love about Thailand”
Review of The Family Tree

The Family Tree
Ranked #3 of 33 Shopping in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Family Tree proudly offers authentic, Thai arts and crafts, handmade by community groups and independent artists. Treasures include award-winning, natural dyed and hand-woven Thai silks, natural cosmetics, vibrant paintings of Thai life and inspiring recycled sculptures, jewelry, toys and accessories. We are committed to Fair Trade, sourcing our products from over 30 social and environmental initiatives, including crafts cooperatives, women’s groups, ethnic minorities and artisans with special needs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything I love about Thailand”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This shop is everything i love about Thailand - the smells, the handmade crafts etc. The shop is just delightful! I bought coffee beans, bath scrubs, soaps and love them all. The lady was so so friendly and told us the background of the products! For every 1000baht you spent, they planted a tree for you in Thailand! Great cause, Great shop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Frances,

Sorry to respond slowly to your kind review. We are touched and happy to be part of "everything you love about Thailand." This is a warm and generous compliment. Thank-you very much.

Thank-you also for your encouragement for our tree planting project.

Shortly after your visit in July, the Family Tree team helped to organise and raise funds for a tree plant on Mother's Day, 11/12 Aug, in Chaiyaphum province, NE Thailand. Altogether, over $4000 USD were raised, and we were able, with our partners, to install a solar powered water pump to irrigate an area where 30,000+ trees have been planted.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you again in Hua Hin,

Dtor, Peter and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    18
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a taste of the "real Thailand"”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

when you come to thailand maybe you expect tradition and natural beauty... after a while the deception rises up. the tourist market makes you feel like a cow in a farm but this shop and her owner is like a fresh breath .... she is the brigde to the tradition and feelings that you are looking for... her smille is the star that you need to follow....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Oscar,

Many thanks for your kind review, and apologies for our slow response.

It is a shame that you have had some disappointing experiences with the touristic side of Thailand. We are pleased that you enjoyed and felt refreshed by your visit to the Family Tree.

Be assured that there is still a lot of tradition and natural beauty in Thailand. Inspiration is often waiting just a few kms from the touristic spots. We hope that you have time and opportunity to visit these places, where the warm, generous spirit of Thailand is still alive and well.

Safe and happy travels,

Dtor and the Family Tree team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Past, present and fortunately a very bright future in a little Soi in Hua Hin”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having visited this mini wonder several times over the last couple of years, we were lucky this time to meet the beautiful family who are making a difference and learn more about their work. Many friends and colleagues will be receiving precious gifts of divine smelling soaps, hand made ceramics, jewelry and scarves at Christmas. The beautiful gifts are personal. They have a history and in the buying of them there's an awareness too of giving something back to rural communities. Premruethai took a great deal of time explaining the origin of the softest, most exquisite ebony black scarf which will be given to someone special, with love. Hanging above it in the shop is a blouse worn by her own grandmother. It is still miraculously, ethereally black. Miraculous since it was one of only two the lady owned. Since today sees the start of Vassa we were lucky to receive a divine smelling candle which we shall light this evening but the best part? In the middle of August 8 trees will be planted thanks to this small purchase. Precious. Thank you Premruethai, Peter, Louie and Rosie. Every visitor to Hua Hin should visit this special shop by the sea.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank allenhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Wow!

Thank-you and your family so much for such a wonderfully crafted and heartfelt review of the Family Tree. We are so pleased that you enjoyed visiting us, and sincerely appreciate that you decided to buy your Christmas presents from us in July. That is such a nice complement and we really appreciate it.

Enjoy your holiday in Hua Hin and do drop by to say "hi" or "bye" before you head home to Dubai.

Warm regards from all of us,

Dtor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful little shop”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came across this shop after taking a walk from our hotel, the Hilton at Hua Hin. They have quality handmade items and a lot of the money is returned to the community and to local charities. We bought the hand made soaps as gifts, they are in gorgeous handmade paper boxes and have scents such as lemongrass and coconut and milk! The owner is a lovely lady who speaks excellent English. If you are looking for quality gifts, jewellery, bags and soaps and much more pop into the Family tree you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Family Tree. We really appreciate it.

I hope that your friends and family enjoyed the gifts on your return to Australia.

Best wishes,

Dtor, Pete' and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A'must' visit in Hua Hin”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The ladies in the shop explain where their goods come from, how they are made and what the money is spent on. Quality crafts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneBGoulburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Anne,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Family Tree on Trip Advisor. Much appreciated.

All the best,

Dtor and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Tree also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to The Family Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing