We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, fair trade, family-run business”
Review of The Family Tree

The Family Tree
Ranked #2 of 32 Shopping in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Family Tree proudly offers authentic, Thai arts and crafts, handmade by community groups and independent artists. Treasures include award-winning, natural dyed and hand-woven Thai silks, natural cosmetics, vibrant paintings of Thai life and inspiring recycled sculptures, jewelry, toys and accessories. We are committed to Fair Trade, sourcing our products from over 30 social and environmental initiatives, including crafts cooperatives, women’s groups, ethnic minorities and artisans with special needs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, fair trade, family-run business”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been in to this small shop several times and is one reason I love visiting Hua Hin. The owner sources beautiful items from her village in the north of Thailand. The items, made from natural materials such as silk and cotton, are handmade and unique. Everytime I go, the owner is so friendly and genuinely cares about what the goods she sells are and how they are made. She also treats each customer with care and a smile whether you buy anything or not. The Family Tree is definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank DenDen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Den,

Thank-you so much for your time writing a review for the Family Tree. We really appreciate that you have come to visit us many times. Yes, we do care about the arts and crafts which we sell. Because we know the people who make them. We know that they are real artists who work from the heart because they love what they do. So, we try to present their work with sincerity and meaning. It's perfect when our guests, like you choose something special with appreciation. Thank-you.

We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Hua Hin,

All the best,

Dtor and the Family Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    18
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
2 reviews
“Best place for shopping in Hua Hin”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place offers excellent authetic crafts in Hua Hin Thailand. A social enterprise. Easy to access and excellent, novel products. A very pleasant atmosphere and customer service. Reasonable prices. You find the place at the 7 Naresdamari Road, quite close to Hilton Hua Hin. A place which you need really to go when doing shopping in Hua Hin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ansku-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Ansku,

Thank-you for writing your first Trip Advisor review about the Family Tree :-) It's very kind of you.

Safe travels in Thailand and Finland, and we hope to welcome you again next time.

Dtor and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An island of serenity in choppy seas”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wow, what a simply stunning and eye-opening experience. Every single piece for sale in this shop is unique, one of a kind, and - if you put these items into a London boutique would sell faster than the hottest hot cakes.

On entering you're greeted by an extremely warm smile from the shop owner who speaks amazing English. As you wander around the colourful and beautiful products you're given the chance to hear the story behind every single piece. All the pieces are fair trade and produced by communities that are suffering hardship, yet have amazing skills... From the simply stunning silverwork, to the kitsch and (my mum would love them) pottery, to the insanely colourful silks. It doesn't stop there, there's jewellery, clothing, sculptures, AMAZING paintings (which I'll be trying to arrange postage over to the UK for one of them), recycled materials turned into necklaces, bags, and more, recycled leather bags, shoes, lamps and lanterns.

I visited 3 times, each became more entrancing than the last, on each time I heard the shop owner tell the many visitors the story behind the pieces.. each has a beautiful story. A husband and wife team own and operate the shop, the husband is English and just as charismatic, happy and calm as his wife.

You absolutely must visit this place, not just if you visit Hua Hin, but in all of Thailand this is - as the title suggests - an island of calm, in stormy water - I'll definitely be back when I come back to Thailand in 2016.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mglinearart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Family Tree.

We are happy to have been an island of calm in stormy water for you :-)

Hope to meet your Mum one day, so we can enjoy a cup of tea in the funny elephant cup.

Safe travels,

Dtor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Of the beaten track in this nice shop”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Family Tree in Hua Hin is a must see shop , they have jewelry, clothing, accessories , silk , candles, beauty products, silver, wood and many other things , but is not the usual tourist shop as you will find a dozen on any street in Hua Hin.
They stand for eco friendly, fair trade and are helping locals with special needs, woman's groups and crafts cooperatives. The owner is an enthusiast women that loves to help and gives advice in looking for the perfect gift or purchase for your own ( She even switched a Christmas Present for me!)
It is hard for me and my wife not to go in and have a look on what is new in the shop.
Well worth a visit if around Hua Hin !!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Patrick,

Thank-you so much for writing a review of the Family Tree, especially on New Years Eve! It is always nice to see you both, and our team hopes that you are having a great 2013 (or 2556 in Thai!).

Thanks for supporting the Family Tree :-)

All the best,

Dtor and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas gifts, Shop here and plant a tree”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I really was impressed by this shop, All of the handicrafts and gifts are sourced from Thai artisans helping in promoting responsible and sustainable tourism.The staff are so hospitable and they can tell you the history of all the products, My favourite items were the recycled teak wood elephants, Monkey from recycled paper, and awesome recycled paper jewelry, There is a massive choice of hand dyed silk, including ebony , so unique that there was only 2 pieces left ..well only 1 now ! and for every 1000 Baht you spend they will plant a tree so whilst getting all my presents I planted 6 trees ! I definately recommend a visit to see what products they have and what great work they are supporting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorDtae, Manager at The Family Tree, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Simon,

Thank-you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Family Tree. It was also nice to meet you. We hope that your mother likes the ebony dyed scarf that you chose for her Christmas present. If you would like any more information about the products, photos, then please write an e-mail to premruetha.t "@" familytree-huahin.com .

Happy Christmas and a Bountiful New Year to you and your family,

Warm regards,

Dtor and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Tree also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to The Family Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing