We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great service”
Review of Hagi

Hagi
Ranked #21 of 624 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hagi Japanese Restaurant located on one of Hua Hin's busiest street corners affords nice views of the bustling Hua Hin nightlife. Established since more than 10 years in town, we welcome you to discover our traditional and modern Japanese cuisine! Join us to experience the art of Teppan-Yaki - live cooking and our wide selection of sushi & sashimi, every day from 5.00 P.M. To 11 p.m. and also now available every Saturday and Sunday for lunch from 12 noon onward. Our lounge is also perfect for a nice aperitif or some exquisite cocktails after dinner.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We went to Hagi no less than 5 times in 3weeks. Had pretty much everything on the meny, and finished off with teppanyaki. Can't fault anything, and we have been to japonese restaurants all over the world.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent visit at our Hagi Japanese restaurant in Hua Hin!
Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    68
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was good but noises were so annoying!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I visited here on our honeymoon. They had a eat as much as you like sushi night which was great, however there was one draw back. Half way through our meal one of the sushi chefs came out to cook for a table who had booked a special personal chef experience in the main restaurant. He repeatedly made a squeeky 'Donal Duck' type noise with his mouth as a joke/ entertainment. He did it so much, so loudly & so frequently it completely ruined the ambiance of the lovely decorated restaurant and we were pleased to leave at the end of our meal. We went to go there again a few nights later & as we went to enter we heard the squeeking from right at the back of the restaurant. My husband just turned around and led us back out saying 'I'm sorry I just can't bare another night of that'! Shame really!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XExcelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for visiting our HAGI restaurant while in Hua Hin. Your patronage is appreciated just as well as the feed back you gave us on Trip Advisor.

Guest comments are an invaluable tool to improve our operations and correct wrong doings.

The Teppaniyaki table is designed essentially for specialty chefs to show their skills in cooking "a la minute" in front of the guests and we apologize that, progressively, we let it slip into a show taking the attention away from the food preparation and the pure culinary art.

We are pleased to inform you that the squeeky "Donald duck" is now silent and the cooking demonstrations quiet.

HAGI placed again the food as its "centerpiece" and all its team is looking forward to your next visit, for you to witness the change in all peacefulness.

Hoping to seeing you soon again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A trendy restaurant Japanese style, only down side is the uncomfortable chairs in the lounge area, as a result of this did not stay long for after dinner drinks

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThailandAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent visit at our Hagi Japanese restaurant in Hua Hin!
Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Expensive but exquisite!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious Japanese dishes, sushis, sakes and whiskeys. The signature sesame seed seared tuna is to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Lukas_Vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Hagi Japanese restaurant! We do appreciate that you have experienced a great evening!
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and hope to welcome you in the near future with an even better experience as we are always striving to improve our services and offers!

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We didn't eat but had some cocktails in the bar area which were good value and well made in a relaxed seating area and a good place to people watch

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your time in writing to us following your recent visit at our Hagi Japanese restaurant in Hua Hin!
Your very kind comments are much appreciated and will be relayed to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With our reiterated thanks and looking forward to be again of service to you in the future, we remain,

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagi also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing