We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a find this was”
Review of Hagi

Hagi
Ranked #19 of 625 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hagi Japanese Restaurant located on one of Hua Hin's busiest street corners affords nice views of the bustling Hua Hin nightlife. Established since more than 10 years in town, we welcome you to discover our traditional and modern Japanese cuisine! Join us to experience the art of Teppan-Yaki - live cooking and our wide selection of sushi & sashimi, every day from 5.00 P.M. To 11 p.m. and also now available every Saturday and Sunday for lunch from 12 noon onward. Our lounge is also perfect for a nice aperitif or some exquisite cocktails after dinner.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Wow - what a find this was”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

On our first night in Hua Hin, we wandered past Hagi and noticed a sign for its happy hour from 5pm to 7pm. On offer was red wine, white wine, rosé, Chang and Singha beer for 99 baht ++. So we resolved to check it out the next night.

We sat down, and two cold scented towels appeared. If you're sitting somewhere in northern Greenland reading this, that might not sound like a big deal. Let me tell you that in the middle of a Thai summer, it was a BIG deal.

The wine was a South African cask job, but it was appropriately quaffable and did the trick. For less than four Aussie bucks a glass, it was a gift. My mate had a number of fruit cocktails/juices over the two nights we went and seemed happy enough with them. He ordered a lemon tea that was beautifully presented, and came with sugar syrup on the side so that you could control the sweetness.

Each round of drinks was accompanied by nuts and crisps of some sort, although this was dependent on your server. We had a great waiter on the first night, and three different servers on the second night, only one of whom was worth writing home about.

We ordered some snacks on one night and were pretty impressed with the quality and presentation.

The décor in Hagi is truly inspired. I won't be able to do it justice in words, but it is worth a look. No fans which I though odd for an outdoor bar/restaurant in Hua Hin.

Mark this one on your list of must-do's folks. Great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for the comments left regarding Hagi Japanese restaurant!
Regarding the fans, we have already planned to buy additional 2 portable units in the restaurant as the lounge is already equipped with 4 wall units.
Hope to be able to welcome you again during your next visit in Hua Hin.

Best Regards,
The Hagi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    68
    24
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hagi serves great Japanese Food! One of my favorite restaurants in Hua Hin. The sushi is amazing; try the Zebra Roll, one of the signature dishes. The salmon teriyaki is also truly worth taking!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 'Eefc',

Thank you for your comments! Hope to welcome you back soon at the Hagi!

Best Regards,
The Hagi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive poor sushi”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just went here with 2 kids. Good service but you get that almost everywhere. The sushi is not worth paying that kind of Money for. The rice is dry and the seaweed was hard to chew. So stay away from here...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raunstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 'Raunstrup',

We are sorry to hear that your experience at our Hagi Japanese restaurant was not up to your expectation.
Our prices migth be sligtly higher than what you usually find outside as we are buying imported seafood, fish and meat to create our sushi.
We have also hired a new Japanese Chef, Chef Ozeki, since early March to ensure that our Japanese food and sushi are prepared as per Japanese standards.
Please rest assure that we aim to provide the best quality in terms of service as well of food to each of our guests who come to Hagi Japanese restaurant.

Best Regards,
The Hagi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Some of the best Japanese food I have ever eaten. The sushi was really top class and I am not normally a huge fan.

It is not cheap, and certainly not by Thailand standards, but it was worth every penny/baht

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigHolidayDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Maybe for Teppanyaki...the rest not worth it”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had sushi, sashimi and bento. overall it is not as tasty as mentioned in other reviews. expensive for what we had...
People at the teppanyaki seemed to have a good time...maybe worth going there for Teppanyaki, definitely not for sushis and sashimis.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bozzio-Madagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagi also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing