We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service”
Review of Hagi

Hagi
Ranked #15 of 658 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hagi Japanese Restaurant located on one of Hua Hin's busiest street corners affords nice views of the bustling Hua Hin nightlife. Established since more than 10 years in town, we welcome you to discover our traditional and modern Japanese cuisine! Join us to experience the art of Teppan-Yaki - live cooking and our wide selection of sushi & sashimi, every day from 5.00 P.M. To 11 p.m. and also now available every Saturday and Sunday for lunch from 12 noon onward. Our lounge is also perfect for a nice aperitif or some exquisite cocktails after dinner.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we went there dec,30,2012 .we had a table with a cook at the table booked for 4 persons,
2 off us arrived a little bit earlier,,we were asked if we like to drink something and we were serverd well at this time,.when the cooking show on the table started,what was really nice to see and to watch, we tried to get more drinks ,,nobody could get hold of and nobody passed by to ask if we would like to have more,,,this place lost a lot of money because they did not sell more to us,,,second after the diner ,, we needed 15 minutes to get an invoice,,,i tried to talk to a manager but there was only an assistant manager available,she excused many times explaining they where busy,,, i mean sunday evening high season they shoul be know that they are busy because all tables were prebooked,,for the amount of money we had to pay it was simple bad service ,but the food was very nice prepared,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesvices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Hagi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 331 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have never experienced service as bad as it was at this place. From the second we entered it was obvius the waiters had no control of what was going on. We got mains before starters, the first person was served 45 min. Before the last one, they only took half the tables drink orders etc. etc. The food tasted very good and the atmosphere is great. Its very sad that so much potential is ruined by a staff out of control.

Thank KRockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear KRockers,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your experience at our Hagi Japanese restaurant. I have to say that I have to agree with you regarding your comments, which I believe follow the comments of 'MrImplantmaker' who you were sharing the table with and who also wrote a similar review.
During that night we experienced 119 covers which is over our service capacity on that time. We are usually prepared to receive daily 80 covers and were not prepared to keep up with the number of covers. Since then, we have already increased our manning with 2 extra waiters + 1 additional cook to be able to cope with the number of guests due to the peak period (last week of December, first week of January). We have also taken some other measures such as to limit the number of bookings, splitting the booking times, waiting lounge area,... in order to provide a more efficient service to our guests.
This restaurant is well known in Hua Hin for the quality of the food served as well as the quality of the service and infrastructure. We aim to provide our guest the best service at all time. We do realize that the image you have of our restaurant is now severely tarnished but entertain the hope that this will not be irrevocable and that you may give us an opportunity to welcome you again and therefore to demonstrate that dedication, service excellence and great care and attention can also be expected at Hagi restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It started at arrival. We had ordered a table....nevertheless no one helped us to be seated, but took everyone else around us. Then finally we got seated, and waiter came with drink menus. They took the order for half the table and left, so the rest of us had to wait until they came back with the drinks for the other half. After a rather long time, where we were promised a children's menu 3 times, we finally had placed our orders. Again, half the table that had ordered sushi got their food, and after 35-40 min after, they came with 1 of the hot main courses. The 2 others that had ordered duck, where one got it once but had to return it because it was cold ( they said they would heat it, but we never saw again), never saw their orders again. Finally we had had enough, and said we wanted the check and leave. I payed with a credit card, and when they came with the receipt, it was a difference in the credit card receipt and the actuall bill ( they had charged th card with the highest amount that was already payed in cash). I of course refused and finally got it correct.

It's actually sad, cause the food is good, but the service ruined our experience totally, and this is Not a cheap restaurant in Hua Hin. I will never set my foot in that restaurant anymore

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Implantmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family visited Hagi as an alternative to a traditional Christmas dinner while holidaying in Hua Hin. We loved it, The food was fresh and beautifully presented. We eat a lot of Japanese in Australia and this was as good as anything we've eaten at home. The service was excellent, with all the waitstaff speaking good English and with a solid knowledge of the food on offer. Prices were very reasonable given the location and we would have paid a lot more for the same meal at home in Australia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MelD075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear MelDo75,

We would like to thank your for the comment you have posted regarding our Hagi Japanese restaurant. I have also shared your post with the rest of the team who had a big smile on their faces after I read it to them.

Hope to welcome you again during your next visit in Hua Hin!

Regards,

The Hagi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

After the renivation of the Hagi restaurant the ambiance is even better! The food is still perfect and Mr, Tor is a real professional cook and besides that a great entertainer. I will definately go back as soon as i cone back in HuaHin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MyDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara Hua Hin H, Manager at Hagi, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear MyDennis,

Thank you for your positive comment left to us. We have shared your comments with Khun Tor who was very happy to hear that!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future! We now have a Live DJ playing daily except Sundays and Mondays, from 9.00am to 1.00pm!

Regards,

The Hagi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagi also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing