We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premium Price for a Mediocre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smile Hua - Hin Resort
Ranked #6 of 284 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Premium Price for a Mediocre Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The rate for this hotel is generally in the $40.00 per night range, and that price doubles to over $80.00 over the holiday period. Sadly, other than the price nothing else changes. The amenities in the room were poor to nonexistent. A kettle is provided, but not so much as a teabag to go along with it. The housekeeping service was okay in the beginning, but as time went on the cleaning became very slap dash, and the room was often not cleaned until well after 3pm in the afternoon. I almost always left the room before 9am, so it was difficult to understand why the cleaning was left to so late in the day.

The breakfast was okay, but not much variety. They serve the same thing everyday.

There were no tourist maps or information available in English.

I realize that many hotels charge high prices over the holidays. The very least the Smile Resort could do is provide amenities and service to warrant the cost..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
59
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
phuentsholing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I arrived at Hua hin with my family on the 17th of December, initially with a plan to stay for 5 days but ended up extending our stay for an additional 7 days. Our decision to choose Smile Resort was the best thing that happened to us. We just loved our stay at the hotel. The staff are excellent - very helpful and friendly. The hotel is owned by a very friendly couple, who are around most of the time to see that things are running smoothly. The breakfast was great. We loved the pool but it is true that the pool is in shadow after 1 pm but it was still great. Free tea in the lobby and restaurant area, free wifi - just a very relaxed atmosphere. Would also like to mention that the rooms are very clean - thumbs up to the house-keeping team. There is a safe in the room so keeping money and documents in the room is very convenient and safe. The hotel has motorbikes for hire which is another added facility. Overall an excellent hotel and very reasonably priced. I strongly recommend Smile Resort to anyone travelling to Hua hin. And to the Smile Resort Team - keep up the great work.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms on the pool side, as the train noise on the other side can be heard at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepeshchhetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

was reading another review by 'm0liner0' and they are almost spot on with the description of this lovely hotel. i stayed there recently in November 2012, a new addition for the hotel is safes in every room which gave me peace of mind. also like to say i was in the rooms at the back of the hotel which i requested as the sun shines there in afternoon, but also the train is more noticeable as it needs to sound its horn as it approaches the level crossings that dont have barriers, and this goes on through the night too, So the noise of the train at the rear of hotel would maybe bother some people, but i was fine with it. I paid 1100baht per night which i was truly delighted with, this price did not include breakfast, for this if you require breakfast would cost you an extra 250 baht. im not a morning person but excellent breakfast just outside the hotel, for 200 baht.. finally would like to say big thank you to staff at Smile Hua Hin for there hospitality...

Room Tip: sun at the rear of hotel but passing trains 24/7, more quiet at front with pool view but not much su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex688_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Really good value for money. Maybe a little far from centre (5minutes with tuktuk)
Very clean and spacious rooms. Nice swimmingpool, but in shadow after 1.00pm.
Breakfast was sober, but absolutely OK.
Service on reception and restaurant is always good and of course with a smile.
Good working free wi-fi

Room Tip: Rooms with poolview are recommended I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Smile resort Hua Hin for 13 nights & were so pleased with our choice of Hotel. Room was spacious & spotlesly clean. Large comfy bed, all linen & towels changed daily. Flat screen tv with many channels, a sofa, fridge, kettle & hairdryer. A small balcony with table & chairs, efficient & quiet air con. Free wi fi with good connection. There was a complimentary breakfast of eggs, sausage, ham, cereal, toast, fruit, salad & a couple of asian dishes, plus tea coffee & juice. The rate we paid was 1,350 baht per room per night, absolute bargain. There is a super little pool, it's open from 6am-8pm. The garden & outside seating area is delightful. There's complimentary tea & coffee always available. There are 2 well stocked fridges, one in reception the other in the dinning room where you can buy cold drinks. The hotel is owned by a lovely kind lady who takes a pride in her hotel & the welfare of her guests.Her staff are a credit to her, all of them always smiling, polite & helpful. The reception staff have good knowledge of English & check in was quick & easy. There are a lot of nice touches around the hotel, it also has a small gym. It's situated in soi 94, near to Market Village & a short walk to the best part of the beach. Lots of places to eat around here including terrace 90 & S&S Indian. The train does run behind the Hotel but I can honestly say that it didn't bother us at all. We had a room overlooking the pool. There's a new mall about to open at the end of soi 94, plus there is a money changer there, so no need to go into town to change. New as well is a 10 baht bus that does a round trip to Market Village, night markets, train station & back round to soi 94. It toots as it comes around, just put your hand out for it to stop & press the bell where you want to get off. I can really recommend this hotel & will be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0liner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stopped here on a Sunday night while on the way to Khon Kaen. We got a special rate of B$990 Sunday-Thursday rate. The place was pretty empty.

Not really much around, but, the pool was nice, though shallow. The room was spacious and spotless. Very quiet, and the restaurant they recommended about 200 meters away was very nice. And, the wi-fi worked great.

I guess the best recommendation is that we stayed there the following Sunday on our way back to Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigfootLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notteroy Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Ok, so it is on the wrong side of the road, but it is very close to both the city, beach, shopping and bars. The breakfast is only ok, but the little pool is very nice

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sn4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#13 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
D Varee Diva Kiang Haad Beach
1.7 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
1.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sailom Hotel
Sailom Hotel
#34 of 134 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Hua - Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Hua - Hin Resort

Property: Smile Hua - Hin Resort
Address: 250/139 Soi Huahin 94, Petchkasem Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile Hua - Hin Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smile Hua - Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing