We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use your time on other attractions,”

Hua Hin Sam Phan Nam Floating Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.67*
and up
Half-Day Small-Group Hua Hin Highlights and Winery Tour
Ranked #72 of 94 things to do in Hua Hin
Attraction details
Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Use your time on other attractions,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went to both floating markets, and can say that it is viser to go somewhere else. It is a touristtrap. I found the stores boring, and a lot of stuff they sell you can also find on other markets.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank norwegiandanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    75
    80
    65
    105
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
238 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“This one's for the tourists ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This not a real floating market and i suspect it is built for tourists. The usual tourist traps here - for a small fee, you can feed goats and fishes. There is also a miniature train ride as well as a boat ride around the market.

The shops here sells t-shirts, souvenirs and snacks. As we visited on a weekday, there was hadly a crowd and the stall holders seemed so bored. A few of them were actually taking a nap (at 11am).

You won't miss much if you did not visit this place. If you do and take a taxi or tuk tuk, do consider arranging a return ride, as we did not see much taxi or tuk tuk around that place.

Helpful?
1 Thank fire-tower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not really worth the trip out to the floating markets. Just half full of tourist shops with bored shop assistants who are busy playing on their phones due to lack of customers.

Watch out for greedy taxi driver who will tell you there is no bus out to market and want to charge you top baht. There is a public bus service that departs from outside the train station and costs only 20 baht per person each way. Taxi will insist this service is no longer working, but they depart every 30 minutes if you feel you really need to go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CindyBrisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bit of a take on the original Floating Market but still interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were asked to go to the Floating Market by some Thai friends and we said we had already been, they said we could not have been before because it wasn't there last time we were in Hua Hin, er!, it is new (ish). So off we went to the newish floating market. Huge crowds, it was a Sunday, set up on a huge area with man made lakes with the buildings set beside the water, all very well done and selling most of the stuff sold elsewhere at markets etc. but it did have more of the arty products by individuals selling their items.
Worthwhile visiting but needs more restaurants/cafe style food places. You can fill in about 3 hours here quite easily.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special. Just a market on a lake!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Much smaller than Pattaya's floating market and about a 20 minute drive out of town depending on traffic.

Really is nothing too special, same things being sold at a better price at the night market.

Helpful?
Thank MSJ610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hua Hin Sam Phan Nam Floating Market also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hua Hin Sam Phan Nam Floating Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing