We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You are going to Hua Hin and want real Thai food--Go To Naab Thong”
Review of Naab Thong

Naab Thong
Ranked #390 of 641 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Price range: $1 - $4
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Herefordshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If You are going to Hua Hin and want real Thai food--Go To Naab Thong”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

After many years of going to Thailand with the family and having developed an understanding of the food there us nothing worse than not being able to get real Thai food -- not the tourist version , in a real Thai setting.

A short Taxi drive away from central Hua Hin Naab Thong gives you this experience.

There is lots of information and reviews on the Hua Hin forum at this link;

http://www.huahinforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=18663

I contacted Bee at the restaurant using this forum and nothing was too much trouble. The first night I had a traditional Southern Thai Fish curry (I like it very hot but they will do whatever you ask). I mentioned that I loved fried catfish (yam pla duc foo) and the following evening it was prepared for me having been ordered in -- just for me.

The cocktails are really good as well!!

They will do western food as well for those who don't want spicy food and the atmosphere is relaxed, away from the hustle and noise.

If you are visiting Hua Hin contact Bee via the forum and go and treat yourself to the real thing

We will be back --definitely

Many Thanks Naab Thong

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asianfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and cocktails”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a great meal last night and some of bees famous cocktails
You must go and try for yourselves

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boltotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Wow a long day exploring around the hills overlooking the city oh Hua Hin, kids tired parents too then sanctuary. We had been advised that all the best places to eat were in the city centre, we were so lucky to find this place. Children feed and refreshed parents feed and a few cocktails (a surprise as the cocktails the same or maybe better than our beachside hotel) at prices that didn't break our budget.Off to Phuket but will be back to spend more time here soon a pleasant way to be feed and watered.

Shand Family

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Off the beaten track but well worth the trip. Excellent Thai and Western food served with a smile. Very reasonably priced and good value for money. The samosas with mango chutney are superb but then again so is everything else I have tried.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huahinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thai and Western food - 2 menus - not fusion food - can't be faulted”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

For a lazy lunchtime indulgence I can't fault Naab Thong (it is open until 8.00 pm, but generally I'm not!). Thai single dishes from 30 baht, beautiful crispy fried chicken at 150 baht and many other Thai favourites have to compete with the local sausage maestro's Cumberland, Merguez, Chiang Mai Sau Au, Italian Spicy sausages etc. , served either on their own or with a rich gravy and mash combo. Did I mention when he gets bored with sausage making he puts togeter special after special - the Duck Curry, red and smooth, a recent addition, as is a Scandanavian favourite, a yellow split pea and ham soup served with jam packed pancakes (odd people the Scandnavians!).. Most specials are so popular they end up on the regular menu!
Service is excellent, everybody is very friendly. Dog friendly too!
Now to the pièce de resistance - a fully functional cocktail bar run by a lady with many, many years of 5 star hotel bar experience where they have the cheek to charge as much as 100 baht for a Long Island Iced Tea (other cocktails from 70 baht). My lunch often turns into afternoon tea!
Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank easyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naab Thong also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Naab Thong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing