We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just a good place to visit.

Cannot recommend this Foundation strongly enough. The welfare of the elephants is absolutely... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2022
worrabsj
,
Bang Saphan Noi, Thailand
Amazing experience

Fantastic experience , we were welcomed right from getting out of the taxi by the staff , we were... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2022
Shagor2712
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,886 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hua Hin
from $108.76
More Info
from $45.22
More Info
from $56.98
More Info
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveler rating
1,122
411
164
79
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,122
411
164
79
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful animals song kran gentle giants elephant village sanctuary mahout elephants rescued basket ride trunk welfare field baht thailand kiss circus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

We spent a great couple of hours here looking at these elephants which have been rescued from a cruel previous existence. The elephants were clearly well cared for and were treated with respect. The walking tour was excellent value (800 Bart per person) and allowed you to interact with the elephants in a close way. The English guide was very knowledgeable about the sanctuary. We got some excellent photos. All in all a fantastic experience.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank K2403BZmatthewr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteet at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Wow five stars

So pleased you chose this activity, it is definitely the best way to meet our family. Our volunteers are very knowledgeable and are happy to share this with you. An experience you will never forget.

Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

Our teenage daughter loved meeting the elephants. We were impressed by the number of volunteers giving their time to show people around. Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 143christiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us,it means a lot and our volunteers will be happy knowing that you appreciate what they do .

Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

The elegant foundation was a great experience. It cost THB600 for a taxi to take us from Centara Beach Resort wait and bring us back. Entry was THB1000pp. This allowed either walking with the elephants or riding. The do NOT use wooden chair which hurt the elephant you ride bare back. At the end you get to feed the elephants.
Fabulous experience.
Warning while on the ride the give you jewelry then at the end want to be paid.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Muscath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Thank you for your comments, we are aware of the jewellery selling but will let the owner know that the mahouts are not saying you have to pay so sorry.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

Had a wonderful time with my family visiting the six elephants. Currently HEF are raising money to build swimming pools for their elephants to make them even more comfortable.
All elephants have been rescued from the logging or tourist industry.
You can ride the elephants but only bare back.

We opted as a family with a four month old baby, a two year and two elderly parents as well as my husband and myself to tour the facility and feed the elephants. This was enough time for us. In that time our tour guide Dave gave us a history on HEF and the elephants in their care as well as interesting facts about Asian elephants.
Elephants are tied down with a chain but we were told this is for their own safety as they are a facility close to a busy main road. Elephants are free to roam a local field at night time. The elephants are happy, well fed and have all medical needs met through the donations given by tourists.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would advise anyone thinking of riding an elephant to go here instead. Spend some time with these beautiful creatures feeding, bathing or walking with them.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank charlottelouisec2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

A great review and thank-you, getting up close to our family is a very special experience, and it will remain with you for ever. Dave is a great volunteer and will appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

This was a truly wonderful experience to get up close and personal with the elephants. They seemed to be loved and well cared for by the staff. We took a nice walk with the elephant and fed her along the way. Plenty of time to stop and take photos. We all got hugs from the baby elephant. We had a British volunteer guide who seemed very knowledgeable. We had a great time!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank jackievacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Thank you for a lovely review, it certainly means a lot to us all here at the foundation. Our volunteers are worth their weight in gold. but also enjoy spending time with visitors and of course our family.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews