We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just a good place to visit.

Cannot recommend this Foundation strongly enough. The welfare of the elephants is absolutely... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2022
worrabsj
,
Bang Saphan Noi, Thailand
Amazing experience

Fantastic experience , we were welcomed right from getting out of the taxi by the staff , we were... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2022
Shagor2712
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,886 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hua Hin
from $108.76
More Info
from $45.22
More Info
from $56.98
More Info
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveler rating
1,122
411
164
79
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,122
411
164
79
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful animals song kran gentle giants elephant village sanctuary mahout elephants rescued basket ride trunk welfare field baht thailand kiss circus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2019 via mobile

This place is well worth a visit my 2 nieces loved it . You can walk and feed an elephant. Also feed the other elephants plus there is an excellent educational talk
Definitely one for your list in Hua hin

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Wow
Thank-you can't get better than that, pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and getting close to our gentle giants.

Our Educational talk and walking activity is one of our most popular things to do.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

We was overther with our family and our opinion is mixed it is a foundation yes and they give a food for the animal but all the animal are not allowed to move buy them self and the price is very high

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank nicula234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

We are sorry that you feel this way. However if you had chance to speak with one of out volunteers, they would of explained how Hutsadin works.
We have come along way in 14 years our family have come from far worse places.If you had looked at our information board you would of seen our Land fund appeal, where we are working really hard to raise funds so that our family can be chain free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

My son in law desperately wanted to see this animal up close and personal and wasn't disappointed. They have stopped the riding of Elephants now, which is fantastic news. This is a foundation that has rescued elephants, so donations alone are not enough to keep it open. You can walk, shower and feed them and learn more about their habitat etc. John our guide was full of information. This a a great couple of hours and how lovely to have a cuddle off one at the end...

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank dawn3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank-you for such a lovely review, and are pleased that you enjoyed your time meeting our family.
It means a lot that you visited.Pleased the you met our Songkhrsn and had a cuddle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

We really enjoyed our visit to Hutsadin Elephant Foundation. I've heard lots of reports of poor treatment of elephants at tourist destination across Thailand and I was keen to ensure we supported an organisation who looked after their elephants. I'm very pleased to report that Hutsadin obviously genuinely care about the elephants they look after.

The foundation is only small with 6 elephants. On arrival we were warmly greeted by staff and shown where to park. We were then asked which activities we'd like to do and paid our entrance fee according to this. We chose an educational talk and 'walking with the elephants'. The talk was delivered by an english speaking volunteer and was very informative teaching us all about elephants as well as the work at Hutsadin. Our walk was with another english volunteer who continued to give us lots of information on the elephants. During the walk we stopped regularly to feed our elephant, Neung Lan bananas and we walked to a tree where she enjoyed a good scratch! We then walked with her back to her stable and hosed her down to cool her off. After this we were invited to have photographs and hugs with the youngest elephant at Hutsadin Song Khran.

The foundation had good facilities, toilets and information points. The staff were all very friendly and we were provided with water and gifts of rice and elephant engraved key rings. The elephants were clearly looked after and loved by all the staff and volunteers.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank AdventureSomewhere4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Wow,
Thank you so much for such a loverly review,
It makes it all worth while when visitors realise how hard we try to take care of our family. The Education and walking activity is one of our most popular and our volunteers are passionate about the information they give.

Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

I have taken my out-of-town friends to this place several times in the past and always enjoyed the experience. Therefore always made nice comments. However this time...I am not so generous. We barely parked the car as two eager young employee overwhelmed us with an assortment of available choices. They ranged from 300 to 1000Thb per person. I explained that we had very little time for adventures, we merely wanted our 5 year old guest to see a Thai elephant. Again, we were quoted the smallest, least expensive venture ( feeding elephants) which would cost each of us 300 baht (3 adult person) and no discount for the toddler.
I am all for fairness, but I found this price range unacceptable and therefore decided to drive back a few hundred yards toward Hua Hin and visit the other, much less advertised Elephant Park. What a good choice: nicer, bigger, cheaper....

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank 280brigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kozyhaskey, Volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Thank-you for your comments,
In the past two years we felt it necessary, to ask for a small charge if you wanted just to visit us. This is because many times visitors were turning up and wanting, photos, look arounds ,which you have to be accompanied by one of our volunteers or Thai Team. Some would not even purchase a basket of bananas to feed our family.

Nearly all of our visitors do their research prior to visiting, so know how much our activities cost and budget accordingly.

Whilst we appreciate your frustration, please understand that if we let everyone in for free we would not be able to provide our family with what they need and our family require a lot of food and care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews