We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Just a good place to visit.

Cannot recommend this Foundation strongly enough. The welfare of the elephants is absolutely... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2022
worrabsj
,
Bang Saphan Noi, Thailand
Amazing experience

Fantastic experience , we were welcomed right from getting out of the taxi by the staff , we were... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2022
Shagor2712
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,886 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hua Hin
from $109.22
More Info
from $45.42
More Info
from $57.22
More Info
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveler rating
1,122
411
164
79
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,122
411
164
79
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful animals song kran gentle giants elephant village sanctuary mahout elephants rescued basket ride trunk welfare field baht thailand kiss circus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

My daughter and wife loved this. We didn't ride elephants just took them for walk and feed them .
It was amazing.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanna H, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

So pleased that your family enjoyed their walk with one of our gentle giants :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a truly unforgettable morning here . The mahout experience started with a warm welcome and a cold drink . Our English speaking guide was both knowledgable and passionate about the excellent work being done at the foundation . The elephants were all well cared for and had access to shelter , medication ,fresh water and fresh food . We were introduced to all the elephants and told a little of each of their history's . Some were truly heartbreaking . The elephant that accompanied us on our walk was a pure delight so friendly and gentle . Nothing was hurried we walked at the elephants pace and stopped when she wanted to stop . After the walk we washed her down and gave her something to eat . It was an honour and a privilege to spend time with this amazing animal. I wish this foundation every success for the future and hope it continues to educate and make change for the better

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank juliebP9104VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanna H, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for your review of the mahout experience, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with the elephants and the volunteers. We will continue to do everything that we can to persuade the management to move away from trekking and into the more 'hands on' experiences :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Family of four, doing two activities - walking alongside and then the Mahout experience - at either end of a 2 week holiday.
Simply brilliant. What makes this is the fact that it is not really for your average tourist. The volunteers don't like to do trekking or have the elephants do tricks. This is about learning and education. Our Mahout experience 'guide' was clearly mesmerised by the beauty of the elephants and such passion always shines through. It was fantastic - despite the heat, dung, water and cutting up food - and every second spent with these wonderful creatures made me feel glad to be alive.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank c00kie437
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanna H, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Thanks for your amazing review of our "hands on " activities.
It was a pleasure for me to be your guide on the mahout experience and you are so right in thinking that our elephants are loved by all the volunteers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Great charity work. Elephants are well looked after having been rescued from some horrible lives.
We walked, fed and washed our elephant and my daughter fell in love with her.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanna H, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of your experience here at Hutsadin. Walking with one of our elephants is an amazing way to get up close with our gentle giants:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Elephant riding is very cruel and damaging to their spines. Unfortunately we visited this place unaware that elephant trekking was taking place and were upset with ourselves that we had supported a company doing it. Similarly, the dancing baby, who we had fortunately not paid to watch, is totally unnatural. It has to have its "soul broken" - essentially, be abused - in order for it to do this. We visited WFFT (wildlife friends foundation Thailand) who actually rescue animals from cruelty such as this and they do small group tours around their centre with passionate volunteers for a very reasonable price. Such a shame we hadn't visited it beforehand. WFFT is an absolute MUST. Don't visit here.

Date of experience: July 2016
11  Thank georgiaj996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanna H, volunteer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

As a passionate volunteer myself I have to say what a misinformed review this is. Yes the establishment offers trekking but it also offers so many more "hands on" experiences which you were offered - if you chose a trek we really cannot be morally responsible for your choice.
We also offer tours for free with our dedicated volunteers (who are able to volunteer here for no charge by the way). We also offer our mahout experience at half the price of your other mentioned establishment and we only offer it to groups of a maximum 6 people. Also it is crucial to mention that we truly rescue (pay for and own) all of our elephants- unlike others places that rent their elephant.
We take criticism to heart and our volunteers treat the elephants with love and respect so we would just ask anyone writing a review to get their facts right and not compare with other places.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews