We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day!”

Hutsadin Elephant Foundation
Ranked #3 of 94 things to do in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hutsadin Elephant Foundation offers the visitor a variety of attractions. At present we have 4 elephants available for trekking or for our latest option of bareback riding. Each trek or ride will take you through the surrounding areas. After your trek you will be able to watch a small show by our youngest elephant, or if you would prefer you are welcome to wash her instead and there will be plenty of opportunities for some amazing photos. After this you may want to visit our retired elephants. If you prefer a more hands approach, you may want to try our 'mahout experience' where you will get a talk about the foundation and its ethos plus the individual stories of all our elephants and why they were rescued, you will also help to take care of our retired elephants for the morning(9.00a.m - 12.00), in this time you will get to prepare food, give medication, clean their shelters, take one for a walk and then give her a wash. Will receive a t shirt to remember your time with us and you are welcome to have a free vegetarian lunch and ice cream to finish your morning. (please e mail for details as only available on certain days and only small groups are taken). If you can't spare three hours but still want something 'hands on' you can take one of elephants for a walk and then wash then on return - approximately 1/2 hour. If you just want to have a look around the foundation and chat to some of the English speaking volunteers you are more than welcome and there is no charge, however they are only there on a Monday, Wednesday or Friday morning. All of our elephants have been rescued and all have their own story, there is an information board near the seating area where you can learn more about each individual elephant.A final word to clarify the situation :- you may be asked for a tip or to buy trinkets from the mahouts - this is entirely up to you and is not supported by the foundation. Any money that you give to the mahouts DOES NOT go into the foundation funds and is not used to buy food etc (no matter what you may be told). Should you wish to make a donation please put it into the box in the front office or give to one of the volunteers. As a warning, some taxi/tuk tuk drivers will try to take you to other elephant attractions - to ensure that you come to Hutsadin phone the number at the top of the page we can provide a taxi that will bring you here. If you are making your own way, our staff all wear white clothing, volunteers wear Hutsadin t shirts. We are located at the very top of the hill (coming from town) on the right hand side, go past the signs and turning for Elephant Village We hope that you enjoy your visit and find it a memorable experience.Please post your comments on tripadvisor for the benefit of others.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The day with the elephants was really great. We went on an elephant ride for 50 minutes. Not far, just around their surroundings. It was really hot but they had umbrellas to shade us from the sun. After the ride we where served pineapple and we bought sodas and icecream. This ride was 1000 bath per grown up and 600 per kid (no charge for our two year old daughter).

After the ride, we watched a 'show' (very nice, not foolish) by the baby elephant, which we also fed with bananas and it kissed us with the trunk and afterwards asked for tip.

The kids mostly enjoyed that we bought bananas (20 bath per set) and fed the elephants.

The atmosphear was really friendly and relaxing and they gave us the opportunity to come close, pet and feed the elephants in a nice way. Of course they want you to buy stuff and give extra tip, but it is expensive to keep elephants in such nice surroundings (they all had shade, food, after the ride they where showered etc)

We have kids from 2 years of age to 11 and they could all participate and enjoyed it a lot.

Helpful?
Thank MrsLading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
IT's nice to know that your whole family were able to get close to these magnificent animals and that you all enjoyed the experience.
We pride ourselves in giving the tourist time with the elephants in a relaxed atmosphere :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    279
    106
    56
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Want to help elephants in Thailand?”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This foundation in Hua Hin takes elephants out of dire situations and gives them a chance of living a nice life, looked after by amazing people, who volunteer their time and expertise to care for these wonderful creatures. They are always looking for willing volunteers and are always in need of donations to help them fund the foundation. If you head down there you can have an amazing experience with these fabulous animals, washing them, riding them and generally hanging out for what is a very small amount of money in the bigger scheme of things! It's a great way to spend a few hours while you're here in Hua Hin and you won't be disappointed. My son volunteered with them for a few months and had a fantastic time experiencing being around these amazing creatures. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marylou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your thoughts with others.
All the volunteers are dedicated to the welfare of these gentle giants and are happy to spend time with anybody wishing to come in and have a look around.
It was such a pleasure to have Jack around - a great worker and we all miss him and wish him luck in finally getting a job :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great to see positive support for Elephants”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Visited with family and friends, told hotel of where we wanted to go, they booked and organised transport. Round trip from Hyatt Regency to Hutsadin foundation no problem, 600 baht round trip and driver waited.
We did not to the track but chose instead to have 3 to 4 hours with the guide and the elephants. We had a detailed introduction to the foundation. It's work and the elephants. We then fed a number of elephants, took one for a walk and washed it and got to know them quite well. This experience cost 1000 baht per person and included lunch, ice cream and a commemorative tee shirt , true value and happy to recommend to anyone interested in animal conservation to a zoo, side show mistreatment. English spoken but more adult than a children's adventure but still good to get close a personal with a number of elephants ranging from 8 to 83 years old

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GVC1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for your great review - your group was the first one that we have done in such a large number so I'm glad that nothing was detracted from the experience because of it.
I'm sure you will agree that nothing really beats the experience of taking an elephant for a walk, albeit at her pace!
So glad you enjoyed your experience and thanks for taking the time to share it with others. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemerovo, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“30 mins ride”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It took us about 15 mins and 200 Bhat to get to the place from Hua Hin clock tower. We took a 30 mins ride on elephant. That was really enough as long as weather was really hot. My son really enjoyed when elephant walked in water.
Staff is very kind and friendly and moreover speaks good English

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Денис Ч
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their time trekking. Unfortunately it is very hot at the moment and there is little shade, in fact the whole area is very dry and parched so the scenery isn't great to be honest but the experience is what really counts :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“up close and personal”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Hutsadin project is smaller scale giving you a great relaxed way to be with the elephants. All have been rescued somehow or other and seem very happy to be looked after there. It is only ten minutes from the city centre by taxi or tuck-tuk. We had our hotel write down the address in Thai to avoid confusion with the commercial elephant village. On arrival it looks like a souvenir shop which made me suspicious but look further beyond the shop and you will probably see their youngest elephant giving a close up show for very small groups and she clearly loves doing it. With no encouragement at all she hugs, kisses and poses for your souvenir shots. More seriously though, the volunteers obviously care for the animals and even their eighty-five year old appeared well cared for. We took a half hour trek just to contribute something but would have been happy just to wander around. If you do they let you have fun showering the beasts and giving them fruit treats. The location is too near the town to be really attractive but this did not detract from a really enjoyable experience. Amazing intelligent, gentle and massive creatures. Thanks to the volunteers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank markandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you taking the time to write your review.
We are only a small venture with 6 elephants in total and all have a sad tale to tell! The volunteers make it a priority to ensure that all the elephants are care for to the best of our ability. All donations given to the volunteers go directly towards the elephants care, either in medicines, or special food for the old ones with no teeth.
As you pointed out anyone is welcome to come in and have a look around for free - maybe best to come in on a Monday, Wednesday or Friday morning where English speakers may be available to spend time talking to you. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutsadin Elephant Foundation also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hutsadin Elephant Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing