We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed from your trip”

Hutsadin Elephant Foundation
Ranked #3 of 95 things to do in Hua Hin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As from 1st October 2017 we are proud to announce that trekking will no longer be offered at Hutsadin, instead we offer our visitors a range of activities that promote a close interaction with our elephants. In a safe environment for both elephant and visitor. Here you can take a bareback ride, walk with an elephant, shower and feed them or simply visit us. We also offer educational talks 3 days a week and a 3 hour mahout experience is available twice a week. Check out our website activities page where you will find full descriptions of the activities that we offer along with costs.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our whole family enjoyed it.Three generations.
We didn't go on the rides but some of the family did.
We were entertained by the youngest elephant while the others went on the ride.
With all sorts of activities such as football and other games.

1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We at the foundation are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Being entertained by SongKran is always special as she is such a little show of! Just to let other potential visitors aware - you don't have to watch a show if you feel uncomfortable with it but washing her is great fun for all the family too:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 876 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Contacted Joanne before leaving Australia and again once in Hua Hin. Emails always replied. We visited today and had a lovely time seeing and interacting with the elephants. We didn't ride them, but enjoyed our experience with them. We fed and touched them, learnt their individual stories and walked and washed the adult female.
This facility is clean, well run and honourable. Very happy to donate knowing the animals were being well cared for and that our children had been able to have such a wonderful experience.
Many thanks for all your help.

Thank aliperth1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for writing such a positive review, and for spreading the word that you don't have to go on a trek but can have a great time just hanging out with some of our elephants.
It was lovely to see your children enjoying feeding them and giving them a wash.
Your donation enabled us to buy 2 weeks supply of food supplement for our old lady so she is very grateful - thank you:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Worth a visit, but need to agree a taxi fare first. 200 baht each way very dear for Bangkok, but about right for Hua Hin. Free entry, but elephant rides a bit dear, especially for 2 or a family.

Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for writing this review and you seem to have found the visit to the foundation worthwhile. I'm sure you will agree that we cannot be held responsible for the price of the taxi - that really is out of our control.
The cost of trekking is the cheapest in the area and good value when you consider how much it costs to keep an elephant in good health. Our current rates are available on the website for anyone interested :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place was recommended to us & so did a little checking on trip advisor.

Got here early morning to avoid the mid-day sun. I was expecting a short 10-15 minute ride around the camp and then offloaded so that the elephant could be used to take the next trip. I was totally wrong.

It was a full 45 minute ride with plenty of photo opportunities, ending with a trek through the river / pool. The staff were friendly. After our ride we were then able to feed them, not just dropped off so that they could take the next tourist group.

I usually stay away from these types of places but the staff really did appear to have the elephants health as a priority. There was one young elephant approx. 2 months old that had started to be taught tricks. The usual sitting, playing harmonica, dancing.

A fun way to spend at least ½ a day in Hua Hin.

3  Thank LukChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

I have to be honest and say that I'm not totally sure that your review is for us as we don't have a 2 month old elephant! Maybe this is another case of taxi drivers taking visitors to the wrong place?
However you enjoyed your time with the elephants and that's all that really matters:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited today with our two children (8 and 11). They loved washing and feeding the elephants. The English volunteer who showed us around really cared about the elephants and we felt it was a responsible and ethical way to interact with the elephants. Wish we had money spare to donate more to them. Well worth the visit!

1  Thank Skh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H, observer at Hutsadin Elephant Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed the interaction with our elephants - it just proves that you don't have to go on a trek to enjoy their company.
SongKran loves getting a wash and the volunteers love to show people around and answer questions:)
Please visit again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutsadin Elephant Foundation also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Hutsadin Elephant Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing