We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchids

Orchids
Ranked #5 of 605 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We ate here a lot several years ago. The menu is less extensive than previously, perhaps the layout of the menu (the meat listed at the top of the page followed by a list of ways in which it could be served eg red curry, stir fried with cashew nuts, steamed etc) put me off a bit. Also I loved the Imperial Thai Curry in the old days (a red curry soup) which I couldn't find. Nevertheless the panang curry was tasty and my companions enjoyed their meals too. Recommend the homemade ice cream for dessert. Oh and our favourite waitress still works there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    157
    51
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food,great service,great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Orchids is a small restaurant situated on the road between the Hilton and the Pier restaurants ( Chao Lay). Decorated in the dark hardwood Thai style it looks very inviting as you stroll past and its worth stopping try the food.

The food is not hot authentic Thai - it's more subdued westernised and subtle but the flavours are intense and memorable. The range of food is limited i.e not much choice of fish or seafood but very food good nonetheless and their beef peanut satay as a starter was excellent. We tried several of their dishes and eat there 4 times and were not disappointed once. Try their creamy fresh coconut milk curries - rich and creamy and full of Thai tastes.

It's a bit more expensive than some of the pier restaurants but the service was excellent, the table setting very pleasant and judging by how full it was very popular. ( suggest you book).

if you fancy a change from seafood on the pier I suggest that you give Orchids a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tomandclareEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and we kept going back! Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Lovely choice of curries, full of flavour. Service great and the nice traditional feeling building. We visited four times whilst in hua hin for 11 days. Do go!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CvAbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Fine food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We dined twice at Orchids. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were large for Thailand. The hot and sour chicken and the massaman curry was so tasty we had no choice but to go back for more. Another asset this restaurant has is the staff who were so polite, attentive and jolly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cymrobangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious but you pay for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Without doubt the most expensive meal we have eaten so far this week, but possibly the best. My partner had the NZ fillet and it was fantastic. My orchids special curry was equally tasty (despite me ordering chicken I got and paid more for beef which was I am sure a genuine mistake). As others have said good service, nice location and that all important open to the street seating. This is not a big place but we only had to wait a few minutes for a table. Certainly worth a visit if you don't mind paying a little more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing