We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nouvelle cuisine thaïlandaise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchids

Orchids
Ranked #5 of 611 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nouvelle cuisine thaïlandaise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We did not try the French or Italian suggestions also available. But what an experience to taste the Thai food in this small and trendy restaurant in the heart of Hua Hin.

All the wonderful flavours of Thailand could be fully appreciated but without the numbing experience of the chilies and other hot spices in many local restaurants. And even if you like that too, it is good to know that some chefs can be inspired by the best European food.

Clearly the best restaurant we have tried in Hua Hin. And do reserve, the place is always full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadieren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    165
    52
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best value for Mony in Hua HIn?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just home from our annual four weeks trip to Hua Hin. First of all, the quality of the food is excellent. Also, the menu gives a good choice between thai and European type food. Staff very friendly and service minded, they really look after you. We (wife and I) ended up booking there every second night, in between we explored other places but the Orchid is hard to beat. Also, value for money is great, less than 2000 Bath for the two of us with a glass or two of wine or beer. Cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, although we had no reservation they were able to seat us later in the evening and we had an excellent meal. The quality of the food was good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed it so much we returned on our last night and again had a really great meal - thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank damianpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Stylish French/Thai restaurant in Hua Hin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have visited hua Hin many times over the last 10 years, not sure when this restaurant actually opened but have had meals there every time we have visited and have never been disappointed. A French/Thai menu in an open fronted wooden framed restaurant, beautiful lighting & ambience, perfect for a romantic evening but equally nice for a lunch. The menu changes, not sure how often but have never been disappointed and the most recent visit in January 2014 was brilliant, the pomelo salad with fresh coconut was amazing as was the pork with peppers, incredible tender pork and a green curry., with wine & tip about BHT 1200. You can find fantastic authentic food on the beach & at the night market but for a more stylish night out where you want more than a plastic chair this is the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best meal in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This seems to be an extension of the Orchids restaurant/hotel across the street. We got a table in the back of the restaurant, away from the street, so we didn't have cars and scooters driving directly past us. However, the service and food were both fantastic. Excellent flavor and quality with romantic atmosphere. We would highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing