We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i like to thanks k wasana because of she is very helpful women and good hotel all staff are very good manner around th”
Review of Sand Inn

Sand Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Inn
Ranked #107 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
artane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“i like to thanks k wasana because of she is very helpful women and good hotel all staff are very good manner around th”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

i like to thanks mrs wasana because of she is very helpful women and good hotel all staff are very good manner around the hotel all kind of food and if love bar many bar and tailor to and i had made tailor made suit at ambassador fashion

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived in Hua Hin on a friday night, I know a schoolboy error. We were planning to return to the Thipurai Hotel having had a nice stay there last year. We liked the location and the rooms were a comfortable size.
The problem was when we arrived from our long journey from Koh Samui all the rooms had gone. In fact every hotel in that soi and all adjoining sois were full as well. It was now becoming a bit worrying as it was 1:00 in the morning and we were homeless with our luggage in a minivan.
After many phonecalls by the driver to local hotels he knew we were taken to Sand Inn in the centre of Hua Hin town.
First impressions were good, marble steps up to reception, further marble stairs going up to the rooms. I was too tired and too grateful that they had a couple of rooms available that I just agreed on the spot. We paid 1100 per room for two rooms next to each other on the 3rd floor.
The marble stairs stop though after the first floor then the hotel takes on a bit of a dated and neglected feel. Polished concrete floors in the rooms, old furniture and lightbulbs missing give it a very tired feel.
The plus points are that the rooms are a fair size, they have cable, aircon and a balcony. There is a pool at the back which didnt seem to get used and the hotel is close to the bars and restaurants and night market.
The negatives are the old decor and furniture, there is a lot of noise at night from nearby bars until the early hours.
I would say its fine for one night maybe two at a push but I am sure that if we had arrived on a weekday we wouldnt have had to worry, the whole of Hua Hin would have been available to us.
In the end we only stayed for two nights and then got a taxi from the hotel to take us to Cha Am.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seancar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The stay was overall good, stayed here 2 times, once alone and once as a couple.
Total of 8 days.

The first room we checked was ok but smelled bad, the other room was great, big balcony and it was CLEAN.
Aircondtion was OK
The hotel is located in "the middle" of the bar district in hua hin and next to poolsook plaza, the noise level from poolsuk can be a bit high but after 2 o clock they stop playing music.
The hotel have bar downstair and pool table.
Staff was friendly

The swimming pool was clean at the time i was there. and the size was good.

Room Tip: Check room first so it not smells bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurgenvonSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Sand Inn is owned by a Thai family who were helpful and friendly, the hotel is in a good location to all the action in Hua Hin.

The hotel needs refurbishment and in my opinion the room I stayed in was not up to the standard of the price they charged.
The bed was creaky, the shower was cold, the aircon unit was new though :-)

I checked out next day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Disgusting pool, filthy bathrooms, not fit to rent. Couldn't handle more than 1 night. Worst place we staying in Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaymin154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Located above several hostess bars so very noisy. Old dirty mattresses in the corridors. Room dusty. Cigarette burns on sheets, towels threadbare, dirty pool, no service or services to speak of - i.e no breakfast included in the 1,300THB per night fee. Hotel had smell of old cigarette smoke. Old out of commission a/c units left on ceiling collecting dirt and half hearted paint jobs. Bulbs out and not replaced. Fours levels but no lift. Came home from first night out and found large cockroach in room. Checked out next day for better Araya.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireIIIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

There are many pro's and con's to the Sand Inn.
We own a guest house ourselves and therefore we can be more understanding or more critical....
The Sand Inn, is in a great location near resturants, bars, a short walk through the temple opposite and you are at the clock tower and Night Market. 10 minute walk to the beach.
The hotel has its own bar downstairs and offers laundry service, taxi service with pick up from airport. Computers with internet at only 10bahts for 30 minutes. It has a swimming pool that is a nice temperature, it is in a shady garden, however after a sweaty day out or a hot day at the beach it is very nice to cool down.
The hotel is run by a Thai family who work very hard, friendly and helpful organising trips/taxi's etc.
We paid extra for a deluxe room as we are a family of 4, we wanted the extra outdoor space that the shared courtyard offered. The room was spacious and slept the 4 of us comfortably. Good sized bathroom with sea views in the distance. The courtyard over looks the temple and is great suntrap, you can watch the sun set over the hills. Beautiful! We were really lucky as the other 2 rooms that shared the outdoor space were hardly ever used so we had the space to ourselves.
Safety deposit box in the room.

However, there are some con's. I don't know if our room hadn't be used for a while but it was very dustly, we just felt that the whole room needed a real good clean. There was no drawer space, big wardrobe though. The outdoor table was old and falling apart, nice chairs but could have done with a sun lounger for each room, rather than 1 to share. The room wasn't deluxe but ticked boxes that we wanted, like large room to sleep all 4 and outdoor space.
We have stayed in Jing's before and although they didn't have a swimming pool, they offered clean, spacious rooms with courtyard and a cheaper price.

The main problem was the noise, there is a small plaza next to the hotel and I appreciate there is little the hotel can do about this but they played live music until midnight 6 nights a week LOUDLY. Not even ear plugs could drown it out. If you want late nights it is not a problem but we didn't always want to be up until midnight.

We did sometimes feel that the hotel was used for the bar girls as a brothel, with small children we could ignore it but with impressional teenagers I would have found it a problem.

All said and done, with a good clean and a few little touches this would be a great budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelstongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.2 mi away
Euro Hua Hin City Hotel
Euro Hua Hin City Hotel
#82 of 136 in Hua Hin
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanawit Condotel
Tanawit Condotel
#89 of 136 in Hua Hin
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Just Beds @ Baan Rajdamnern
Just Beds @ Baan Rajdamnern
#62 of 136 in Hua Hin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Moment House at Hua Hin
Moment House at Hua Hin
#91 of 136 in Hua Hin
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunshine Guest House Hua Hin
0.1 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#40 of 136 in Hua Hin
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Inn

Property: Sand Inn
Address: 38/1-4 Poolsook Road, | Nhongkae Hua-Hin, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing