We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views and Beautiful Layout”

Black Mountain Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Stunning Views and Beautiful Layout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm just an average golfer but myself and three others went to Hua Hin to play Black Mountain and Banyan Golf Club. BM was named "Best Golf Club in Thailand" for 2011 and 2012; pretty good considering it only opened in 2009! Banyan finished 3rd and 2nd respectively for the same years and opened in 2008.

Everything about Black Mountain was truly excellent; especially the course itself which is beautiful and green with flowers, streams running through the course, native rocks with flowing water. The course is immaculate and the condition is extraordinary. And it is very playable, even for the average golfer. The clubhouse was the best I have ever seen.This was a real treat. If you have only one day of golf in Hua Hin, don't miss Black Mountain!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    119
    38
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful course, excellent club house restaurant, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I visited the course just to see what it was like, although a golfer I did not play the course, but was amazed by the quality of the whole course, stupendous views and magnificent signature holes. I now see why it is listed in the top 100 courses. I was able to walk around the very challenging course, each hole having five enormous tee placements. If you stay in Hua Hin and play golf, you have to play this course. I had lunch in the Clubhouse, and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank macneillfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Challenging Course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Get ready to lose some balls. Seriously though what a fun course. Challenging fairways with a lot of up and down and...water! I played first thing in the morning and was the first one out. My caddy was excellent. She knew that course like tha back of her hand and was a blast. We laughed a lot and I practiced my Thai, learning important words like sai and nam (sand and water).

Remember to tip you caddy well. These ladies work hard in the hot sun for very little pay. And are not just there to hold your clubs and drive the cart. They are extremely helpful especially on the greens.

My only complaint would be that this course caters to Northern Europeans and the European staff in the clubhouse were not the most warm or welcoming. They came across irritated when asked any questions. The Thai staff were great.

This is a pricey course, but enjoyable none the less. I played Banyan as well and found that to be more value for my money just as a comparison.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatPlayDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with friendle service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Black Mountain Golf Course restaurant run by Swedish Chef Morten has a very wide menu with excellent both Thai and European food.The service staff is very nice and friendly and if you miss some thing from the Menu ask Morten and he may come up with some thing special outside of the menue

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Last but not least”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Black Mountain was our final course in a 10 day, 6 golf course trip to Thailand with GolfAsian. Jim said he would "save the best till last" and the course did prove so, even though Banyan was a lovely course the day before and the caddies were better !
Black Mountain is so picturesque, the fairways and greens are delightful (though the greens are darn tough to read!) the water features and wildlife were fabulous. The pro shop and greeting were great - we got a free golf top, cap, socks and a Black Mountain tag for our bags and that was before we set off! To be honest some balls would have been much appreciated because there really is so much water which caught us out a number of times
Really enjoyed the course.
Only other drawback and black point was that they did not provide water or a cooler on the buggies and did not have GPS on the cart, which Banyan did provide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenPUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Mountain Golf Club also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Black Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing