We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views, Challenging Course” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Mountain Golf Club

Black Mountain Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Challenging Course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Get ready to lose some balls. Seriously though what a fun course. Challenging fairways with a lot of up and down and...water! I played first thing in the morning and was the first one out. My caddy was excellent. She knew that course like tha back of her hand and was a blast. We laughed a lot and I practiced my Thai, learning important words like sai and nam (sand and water).

Remember to tip you caddy well. These ladies work hard in the hot sun for very little pay. And are not just there to hold your clubs and drive the cart. They are extremely helpful especially on the greens.

My only complaint would be that this course caters to Northern Europeans and the European staff in the clubhouse were not the most warm or welcoming. They came across irritated when asked any questions. The Thai staff were great.

This is a pricey course, but enjoyable none the less. I played Banyan as well and found that to be more value for my money just as a comparison.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatPlayDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    119
    38
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with friendle service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Black Mountain Golf Course restaurant run by Swedish Chef Morten has a very wide menu with excellent both Thai and European food.The service staff is very nice and friendly and if you miss some thing from the Menu ask Morten and he may come up with some thing special outside of the menue

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Last but not least”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Black Mountain was our final course in a 10 day, 6 golf course trip to Thailand with GolfAsian. Jim said he would "save the best till last" and the course did prove so, even though Banyan was a lovely course the day before and the caddies were better !
Black Mountain is so picturesque, the fairways and greens are delightful (though the greens are darn tough to read!) the water features and wildlife were fabulous. The pro shop and greeting were great - we got a free golf top, cap, socks and a Black Mountain tag for our bags and that was before we set off! To be honest some balls would have been much appreciated because there really is so much water which caught us out a number of times
Really enjoyed the course.
Only other drawback and black point was that they did not provide water or a cooler on the buggies and did not have GPS on the cart, which Banyan did provide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenPUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The title says it all. Great location just outside the city nestled in mountains and forest. The course is in great condition and has a delightful club house for wining and dining. Since it is only 2 hrs drive from Bangkok we will be back to play again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was our first time at Black Mountain Golf Club and were truly surprised.
Exclusive golf course with nice fairways and greens which is pricey but worth to play.The golf course was in a good shape with beautiful landscape. Caddies are really attentive, funny and helpful. The after play food was superb, tasty and cheap.
We're ready to go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Mountain Golf Club also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Black Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing