We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”

KO Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 611 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Fun to try a restaurant with an outdoor kitchen like that. Good to be able see whats going on in the kitchen. For starter we had the spring rolls and some shrimp-cakes - very basic (springrolls filled with glassnoodles - nothing else, shrimp cakes were ok). We chose a lobster (wich was chewy) in garlic butter (did not taste much of garlic) and some nice king prawns in paprika sauce for our main dish. Againt - the flavours were bland and the shrimps were very difficult to get from their "shell" as they were a bit like rubber bands.
Went there once and did not have the urge to come again.
Also - one of the waiters had a coughing fit and held her hand in front of her mouth - and then straight away went back to putting salad on plates without any kind of washing her hands.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karo1ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    79
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“KO - better than OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a great little seafood restaurant, better in our opinion than the seafood restaurants along the pier - just no view. We had steamed crab, six large prawns, mixed vegatables and egg fried crab rice. The prawns were excellent - thai style with basil, I made sure to tell them not to over cook, there were served butterflied with delicious vegatables. All up with a large Chang 1400 baht -the prawns were 900baht.

GIve it a go when you are on the night market - we bumped into so local "farangs" that think this place is one of the better local places.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really good authentic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

went to this restaurant in the night market twice lovely food, good service made to feel very welcome by the guys trying to get you in at the front. always said hello to us each night. food was good value. The cocktail bar opposite was lovely(same owners) and plenty of alchohol in them, when it rained one night we ended up sitting back in the restaurant. The stainless steel cookers, splashbacks etc and ice display fridges extremely clean.They will always bring you your fish and price it before they cook for you so that if too much you can change your order

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshbabe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good price and fresh food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My daughter liked the yellow wall and thus we ate there. Similar food and price along the street. BBQ red snapper, tiger prawns and scallops. There were ten scallops per plate. The taste was good. I liked the mango shake. The steam rice was given in heart shape, very lovely.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We always eat here when in Hua Hin, traditional Thai food, extremely friendly staff, good service, great food by all comparisons, fish, seafood, chicken & meat. The kids loves it, the owners and waiters always comes around to cheer us up and have friendly chats. The charges are very inexpensive we normally eat for about 800 TBH, 6-7 dishes + soft drinks and beers. While many restaurants on regular street may have a "nicer" environment (given that this is the night market, they for suer make this up in quality and service. Very recommendable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardNoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KO Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to KO Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing