We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We checked out after one night”
Review of The Donkey's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Donkey's Rest
Ranked #171 of 300 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have travelled through much of South East Asia over the last 20 years and this was only the second place we have left early. We had booked for three nights and I guess if I were alomne I would have stayed , but my wife really couldn't cope with the noise from the very nearby train tracks.
We had just come from the Bangkok Lotus Hotel, which was great value. The room rate at Donkey's rest was similar but the accommodation was not in the same league.
Obviously the majority of reviewrs had a positive review and I booked on the stregnth of past reviews.
We moved to Citin Loft, a more central location, it was a bit more expensive, but better value

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for The Donkey's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not too far from the beach, but if you think it is, you still have a nice swimming pool next door. Downtown Hua Hin and the new shopping centere is within walking distance. The room I stayed in was really nice, with a big fridgde and a kettle. The surroundings are not very nice, but then again, Hua Hin isn't really a very scenic place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EivindO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 is that you should be prepared with ear plugs at night. The hotel is very close to the train tracks, on which trains run mainly at night, honking and chugging very loudly. Other than that, this is a great place to stay. The owners are very hospitable and easy-going, and the family room is spacious for us and 2 kids. We can use the neighborhood pool out back for free. Beach and shopping are 10 minutes' walk away. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghosttoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Popped in for a couple days and stayed 3 weeks. Andy, proprietor helpfully rearranging rooms to accommodate me. Relaxed atmosphere and do as you please but with guidance on hand and also scooter hire to get around. Is out of the main hua hin hubbub but still accessible to beach and town if you wish and taxi only a pittance to pay. Pool at the back where you can also relax to amenable music. I had good time here and will return

Room Tip: I had three rooms and were all spacious and well equipped
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askimsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I initially stayed at the Donkey's rest for 4 nights in mid-November. The key to this hotel is the fact that it is family run and not a large chain hotel. Andy and his wife Duong(?) are excellent guides to the area and are never reluctant to be on hand to answer any questions you may have. As I was travelling alone and was new to the country I found that invaluable.

Andy can organise excellent fishing expeditions to local parks and is in touch with the best fishing guides Thailand has to offer. I caught a 200lb Arapaima whilst I was there! The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and the rooms are clean and have a fridge, satellite TV and a wet room.
You get the impressions that the team at the Donkey's rest make a real effort to help their guests, whether it be with the standard of the rooms, helping with advice on the area or making you feel welcome. For it's budget I wouldn't imagine you could do much better than this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MightyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My third time at The Donkeys Rest and I will be back,having retired last year, I have been travelling for 14 months and The Donkeys Rest is at the top of my favourite places to stay.
A great place to unwind, put your feet up and relax.
Clean , spacious but probably more important, a Real family Hotel. Andy and Doung always make you welcome. If you like to keep yourself to your self that is fine, or if you want to be more involved and have a quiet beer or two in the bar, again that is fine, and recommended.
Andy speaks fluent Thai and Doung his wife, fluent English and nothing is a problem, from organising trips to booking a dental appointment or simply changing a bus time, (Simple if you speak Thai and English). Doung is also an amazing cook and the food there is the best.
There is a lovely massage parlour as part of the hotel, Run by Tui, who provides professional, relaxing and well priced massages as well as pedicures , etc.
It is great to come down from your room, have your massage and then have a quiet beer in the bar before going back to your room, perfect relaxation
I look forward to a return visit, next time I am in Thailand and can only totally commend this little gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a balcony, with pool and mountain view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 04_roger_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having visited Hua Hin on 4 occasions during 2012, I can safely say this is the best accommodation in which I have stayed, when taking into account pricing and service. I have stayed at three 5* resorts and paid silly money for the privilege. This hotel was recommended by a friend and cost 25% of other stays. The service provided by Andy and wife Duong is exceptionally friendly, the rooms spacious and clean, food (by Duong) outstanding and other guests friendly.

Andy acts as taxi driver, local guide and interpreter. I have never stayed anywhere with such a warm welcome and will be returning in December, having found a cost effective base in this Thai golfing heaven.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
4.2 mi away
Huahin Loft Hotel
Huahin Loft Hotel
#117 of 141 in Hua Hin
344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,295 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl@Huahin
Pearl@Huahin
#33 of 300 in Hua Hin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Laksasubha Hua Hin
Laksasubha Hua Hin
#1 of 229 in Hua Hin
501 reviews
4.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hua Hin
0.8 mi away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#9 of 141 in Hua Hin
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donkey's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donkey's Rest

Address: soi 94 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: $19 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donkey's Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room hotel with a mini mart, Hair Salon and Laundry all in this complex. Also a large swimming pool and gym are on the grounds and Available for guest to use. Only 500 meters from the beach and a short walk to The Hua Hin Market Village Shopping centre. A 100 baht tuc tuc ride (5 minutes ) into the main part of town and also a short trip to the new floating market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Donkey's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing