We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique luxury in Hua Hin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Nidhra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Boutique luxury in Hua Hin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The location of the Cape Nidhra is very central in Hua Hin and it is only a short walk to the mall in one direction and the restaurant strip and night market in the other (there is also a night market across the road). We were a bit shocked that the hotel is on the main road through town but once on the hotel grounds you wouldn't know it (there is no road noise and the road is hidden from view by the reception building). Crossing the street out front of the hotel was a bit hairy at times though.

We stayed in a Garden Pool Suite which was a good size and had its own private pool. The room was well appointed and we couldn't fault the furnishings or cleanliness. the bed was humongous! Our pool wasn't heated though and was too cold to use during our stay which was disappointing. Beach bags and other handy stuff were provided in the room for guest use which was a nice touch.

The bathroom was huge and had high end fittings throughout. The rainfall shower and massive tub were both highlights and a good spread of toiletries were restocked daily. However; the bathroom lights required a visit to two different panels of switches to turn all the lights on. A minor issue until you need to whizz in the middle of the night and have to figure out which switch turns the toilet light on.

Wi-fi and breakfast was included in our room rate which is always welcome. We didn't have any issues accessing wi-fi while we were there and staff provided us with enough passwords for all our devices. The breakfast buffet was good with a wide variety of choices and changes in the menu from day to day.

Staff were helpful and attentive throughout our stay. A special shout out goes to the security guards out front who were very friendly and always good for a chat and directions.

The Cape Nidhra is a really good hotel and should definitely be on your short list if you are looking for accommodation in Hua Hin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, is pleased to have met your expectations and thanks you for your informative and positive review which should be useful to other readers planning a stay in Hua Hin. Your appreciative mention of our security personnel in the front of our property and our helpful staff has been noted for passing on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another stay with us in Hua Hin. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    164
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
120
468
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stopped with our two children aged 13 and 19, we had two garden rooms - ground floor. Yes the pools to the rooms are cold, but its quite welcoming. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are even bigger! We really couldnt have asked for better. There is tea etc making facilities and water is provided FOC as well as the tea etc and milk. The breakfasts were lovely and we had a BBQ on the same night as the hotel invited its guests for free cocktails and canapes. The beach location is fabulous - on a quite spot. The hotel is opposite the night market and boxing gym, and within walking distance of Hua Hin - or get a tuk tuk for about £2 each way. Also close the opposite way from the town is a shopping centre with eateries etc.

We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for your sharing your positive and informative endorsement with us and our readers. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon, for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

A friend of mine visited Thailand and stayed at Cape Nidhra so I had a personal recommendation and that's always a good thing. I love this place from the moment we arrived we were greeted with very pleasant and friendly staff. We arrived early and check in is not until 2pm so they offered either going to the reading room which is a lovely room with books and comfy couches relax or the Restaurant overlooking the infinite pool and Beach. We chose the restaurant since we were a little hungry. The atmosphere is so gorgeous, the food delicious and our room was even ready way before the actual check in time of 2pm which was great. The rooms are spacious and contemporary and each has it's own private pool. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The only shocker for me was that each room doesn't come with an iron and ironing board but that was really no big deal because they have a place where you can go to iron on the grounds. The hotel is right in the center of town but once you are on the grounds you would never know it, it feels like you are on a tropical oasis with no signs of the hustle and bustle of the City but it's right outside the gates if you want the hustle and bustle of the city. We reserved spa treatments before hand and they confirmed once we checked in. I had a coconut body scrub and a aroma massage and it was fabulous and the prices are very reasonable. Breakfast comes with your stay and it starts bright and early at 6am and goes to 11am and it is amazing. A spread of traditional Thai food and other breakfast foods we know and love. Fresh fruit and juices etc... I love this place and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Hua Hin, Thailand. A+ for service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness, location, friendly staff...everything gets an A+!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZooSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, is very pleased to learn that your recent stay with us met your expectations and was enjoyable and pleasant. Your feedback should assist other readers planning a stay in Hua Hin, while we look forward to your return for another fabulous holiday with us. Thank you for your positive endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful 10 night stay in a deluxe sky pool suite. The hotel is beautifully finished and they certainly haven't scrimped on the details or the costs!
The rooms are huge and have enormous bathrooms with the best rain shower I've ever seen.
Breakfast is delicious with an extensive choice and even a dedicated fruit bar where you can pick and choose exactly what you want, all of which was fresh and delicious.
Room service and the restaurant were equally good although there was a disappointing lack of Thai food on the evening menu for some unknown reason - this was a great shame.
The Spa is also well worth visiting and not too expensive compared to other hotels in the area,
The weekly barbeque was fantastic and one evening each week they show a Hollywood Classic (Roman Holiday in our case) on a big screen by the pool which we watched from inflatable armchairs while floating around the pool eating popcorn and drinking cocktails - what a novel idea and great fun.
The only real complaint was the selfish practice of some of our European cousins who insist on raiding the pool at goodness knows what hour of the early morning in order to bag their sunbeds before duly disappearing for several hours. Grrrrrrrrr!!!!
Unfortunately with the hotel being built on an east/west plot none of the rooms that I saw actually get any direct sunshine during the day which is a shame if you just want to laze around by your own pool for a day.
Great for couples who are looking for total peace and relaxation in a beautiful hotel where you'll be looked after by lovely, friendly staff.
Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rikontour2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, is pleased that, after your 10 day stay with us, you thoroughly recommend a stay with us. Your positive informative feedback should be useful to other readers planning a stay in Hua Hin. Your appreciative mention of our lovely and friendly staff has been noted for on passing to them. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed four nights as part of a large family group. The first thing that strikes you is a modern, innovative, distinctive design. As the hotel is on a very long thin site leading to the beach it has no sea views but compensates with stunning rooms and small pools on the balconies. Our room was very spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed. It was a little shady as it looked out on to the next property but tranquil and interesting. If anything the designer has got carried away and at times the design overwhelmed the practicality (hanging space, clothes hooks, lighting). The hotel is conveniently right in the centre of Hua Hin, although you would never know if you didn't venture as far as the street. So bustle and tranquility are side by side.
The public area is the joy of this place. A beautiful, sunny, airy restaurant and bar area faces the sun and the beach. Breakfast and dinner were long and lingering. The breakfast buffet was extensive, enticing and without fault while the dinner menu was more standard and wouldn't bear too many visits. The pool, garden and beach areas are paradise.
Service was top notch and nothing too much to ask. Our family wedding celebration was somewhat spoilt by totally unexpected rain (in the dry season!) but the whole hotel rallied to move everything inside and start again, very successfully. They even upgraded the bride and groom to the best suite for two days and this was jaw-droppingly luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for sharing your review, with us and our readers, of your wedding party’s stay with us. Your informative review should be helpful to other readers planning an unforgettable wedding in Hua Hin. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is probebly the best hotel I ever had. The rooms are big with a kingsize bed, rainshower,a great bathtub and a private pool on your balcony or garden. Breakfast is fantastic and also dinner à la carte is awsome. In the garden there is a nice pool with sunbeds and its only a stair (5 steps) away from the beach.
Location is also great. Nearby shoppingmalls, nightmarkets and delicious restaurants. You can do it all by foot.
Staff is enormous friendly and help you were they can.
It was the second time we went here but not the last time!

Room Tip: The moonlight suite has a extra place for sunbathing or watching the stars on the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MellaertsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, is pleased to know that your 2nd stay with us met your expectations and you will be staying with us again in the future. Your appreciative mention of our enormously attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been noted and shared with them, while your snapshot review should be useful to other readers planning a stay in Hua Hin. Thank you for your positive endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from Thailand and a stay at Cape Nidhra. We chose this hotel because we liked the idea of having our own pool rather than using the main hotel pool. Unfortunately, the water was so cold that I didn't make it in past my ankles, so it was a waste of money. Also, the garden room we were in was in shade for most of the day, so there was little opportunity to sunbathe. The only "upside" is that these factors probably kept away noisy neighbours - one day we could hear children outside making enough noise to waken the dead, not something I go on holiday to listen to. I agree with the previous reviewer that the "garden" area needed improvement, it was just a patch of earth with some bushes. We also had a drain close to the day bed which seemed to be a home for mosquitoes.

Apart from this, my other thoughts are as follows:-

The reception area was minimalist in the extreme. While I don't necessarily go in for chandeliers, marble floors and acres of velvet curtains, I do like a bit of a wow factor and this was lacking in the entrance / reception area to the hotel.

The room was large, as was the bathroom which had a double sink, separate shower with rain shower and hand-held shower, which I like. However, I did not like the lack of a toilet door, an odd feature. The room was comfortable but somewhat bland, with large expanses of white wall. There were two wardrobes but not enough shelf / drawer storage for me. The lighting was a complete mystery to us, we were constantly trying switches to work out what they turned on / off (mildly irritating).

Breakfast was very good and the hot selection was changed each day. There was a good fresh fruit station outside and some of the fruit was cut "to order" - even though the hotel was quite busy, we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. The pastries were absolutely delicious and were responsible for several pounds being added to our waistlines! Service at breakfast was patchy: some mornings you would finish eating and the dish would be whipped away immediately, other mornings we were piling up a collection of dirty dishes. We were generally offered a second cup of coffee but they never remembered to bring more milk.

The mosquitoes were a real pain and, whilst they are obviously outside the hotel's control, I thought the hotel could have done more to cope. One plug-in repellent for a room and bathroom of that size was totally inadequate so we went out and bought spray, coils, spray-on repellent for legs and arms and (my favourite) a tennis racquet shaped zapper which gives out small electric shocks and kills the little blighters. This had to be used before sitting on the day bed, due to the drain previously mentioned.

I am not sure whether I liked the location of the hotel as it was more or less equidistant between the centre of the town (which for us was in the vicinity of the Hilton) and the new shopping mall (Market Village) so you had a walk either way, although only 5 to 10 mins maximum. The main road in front of the hotel was a nightmare to cross and could do with some pedestrian lights to halt the almost continuous stream of cars and bikes. There was a 7-11 and a wine shop immediately opposite and a bigger supermarket just along from them which we found quite handy.

The main pool area was very busy while we were there, probably because guests wanted to get a bit of sun and be able to use a pool with water at a more pleasant temperature! The loungers were a bit too crammed in for my liking and were generally occupied (or at least had a towel on them) quite early - I doubt we would have got any by the time we had finished breakfast. I am not a beach fan but my husband went there on several occasions to get a bit of sun and said it was nice and clean.

We stayed at the Centara a couple of years ago in a pool room and, whilst the room was considerably smaller, we should in hindsight have gone back there (but we like to try new places rather than always choose the same location). I can see why people rave about Cape Nidhra but it just wasn't for me. The things that irritated or didn't meet my expectations may on the whole be small but, added up, they meant a less-than-satisfactory stay. The acid test is, would I return to the hotel and the answer would be a resounding no.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller, Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
The Cape Nidhra Hotel, Hua Hin, thanks you for your detailed observations which have been shared with our team in our continuing effort to provide enjoyable, pleasant, and satisfactory stays for our guests. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas but we were pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and fresh bakery items. We appreciate your feedback, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#12 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
4.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
2.8 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Nidhra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Nidhra Hotel

Property: Cape Nidhra Hotel
Address: 97/2 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Nidhra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Nidhra offers its guests the best accommodation in this sought after location. Characterized by its impeccable service and its elegant accommodation, the hotel has been described as “one of the most distinctive in Hua Hin”. Perched on the shores of Hua Hin’s breathtaking beach, the hotel offers easy access to the seaside town’s wonderful street markets, shopping centres, restaurants, pubs and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cape Nidhra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Nidhra, Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing