We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Cape Nidhra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at cape niches, hua hin. The hotel is spotless, the manager, Christian was very welcoming and friendly, as were all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish201dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 819 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

I was quite disappointed with this hotel and walked away feeling slightly ripped off. Don't get me wrong, this is a good resort. It's modern, clean, well designed and in a nice location. However, when the cost of staying here is considered, it does feel as if the resort is punching above its weight. For the same amount of money, I have stayed at much better places. You simply don't get what you pay for with this resort.

The area occupied by the "resort" is a thin stretch of land that sits between the main road and the beach. Most of the rooms look onto the empty neighbouring property rather than the beach. Even the "ocean view" room only offers a small glimpse of the beach. This is given that most of the view is blocked by the restaurant, which sits between the complex housing all the guest rooms, and the beach..... and it's a tall restaurant. The pool was nice and the area surrounding the pool was relaxing. However, vacant beach chairs around the pool can be hard to come by.

The service was good. The staff were courteous and efficient. However, I felt as if they lacked the warmth that I have come to expect at resorts/hotels in this price category. The breakfast was good.

What initially drew me to the resort was the private pool in each room. However, they did not mention on the website that the private pools are not heated. They are very cold, even in hot weather. The private pools (and the rooms in general) receive little natural sunlight, so the pools do not heat up adequately on a natural basis. We could not use the private pool at all.

We stayed in the "sky pool suite". There were a few unforgivable faults with our room. The bath taps did not work. Also, in the middle of the night, while we were sleeping, the electrical fuse box in our room started to make loud clicking noises and our lights started to flash on and off. We informed reception and they sent a technician to fix the fault in the middle of the night.

We were upgraded to a room with an "ocean view" the next day (refer above). The new room had exactly the same problems - the bath taps did not work and the electrical fuse box played up again in the middle of the night, disrupting our sleep. We just gave up after that and did not inform reception. I do not know if these problems exist in all rooms

Overall, I was disappointed with my stay at Cape Nidhra. I would not recommend this hotel. If it were cheaper, then maybe.... but it would have to be significantly cheaper.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wingwang1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Nidhra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We’d like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Firstly we’d like to address the issue about the bathtub taps, as we have already checked both rooms and the taps seem to be functioning normally. For the bathtub tap to work it must be in a straight position for the water to run. If you turn it 90 degrees, the water will run from the shower head. If the position of the tap is somewhere in between, no water will run. We assume you didn’t have the tap in the correct position. If only you had mentioned it to us while you were here we would have solved the problem immediately. We also rechecked the fuse box and found everything to be in working order. However, we would like to once again thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention here on TripAdvisor – all guest feedback is vital to us in order to be able to provide the best in facilities, service and accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Our arrival at the Cape Nidhra was under very stressful circumstances indeed. My wife was 9 months pregnant at the time and we had been forced to flee our home in Bangkok due to the increasingly dangerous flood waters.

From the moment we sat in the sumptuous reception, through the wonderment of seeing our "standard" room for the first time, then onto our trip down to the beachfront for a pre-dinner drink followed by well portioned room service, the night in the perfectly comfortable bed, waking to our own pool, using the gym, eating a world-class breakfast then, finally (and rather regretfully) back to reception we were accompanied by the most attentive, friendly and down to earth staff I have experienced in my many years of travel all over the planet.

In fact we rated this hotel so highly that we visited again on our way back home, this time as a 3. Our little 2 week old baby girl was no problem whatsoever for the staff and we were remembered on our return.

In short, a perfect balance of facilities, style, staffing and price. This is quite a big thing to say considering we were taking a LONG, expensive and unexpected trip. By the time we returned we were running low on cash, but made the effort to stay another time as we recognise the quality for money that this place offers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebigtripout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are spaceous, well designed. The staff are attentive, reactive and eager to help. Comments:

Food is good, breakfast is fine. The restaurant in the evening is not great - it is all European food, not the chef's strength and is over priced. The Room Service menu is much better, it has Thai and western food and arrives promptly and is well cooked.

Rooms : great. 4 issues: None of the rooms get any direct sun on the balconies. The private pools are very cold from the lack of direct sun light. There's no separate toilet - it doesn't have a door on it. In adequate storage, no drawers.

Children : this is NOT a hotel for children. Everything is sharp edges, stone steps etc.

The above are the only criticisms. Once you get over these little niggles about the place. The hotel is lovely. It is in a great location. Right on the beach and easy walking distance into town. We had a fantastic week staying here. We arrived 26th Dec - 2nd Jan 2011/12 They did a wonderful job for New Year's Eve - the lawn was set up beautifully. The buffett dinner was excellent, band was good, and the entertainment was lovely.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

As much as we don't want to put people off this hotel, it did not live up to our expectations. We stayed here over Christmas for a week and found the town of Hua Hin quite charming. It looks a bit shabby at first but there are a number of excellent, well-priced restaurants in the main part of town. These and the night market are in a ten minute walk of the hotel so it is well located.
The daily breakfast buffet was good and the staff are sweet although for the most part don't have much grasp of English. However a little patience got everything done.
The hotel looks good and the pool for each room is a nice idea; however they are all facing North and do not get any sun so the water is cold. We were not sure which room to book so decided on a Moon Deck suite which was the right choice and the room itself was great; very comfortable bed and a big, smart bathroom. All of the rooms overlook a strip of land with trees next door rather than the sea or the pool.
We were suprised by the number of families with children at this hotel who really took over the pool area and ithat meant it did not provide the relaxing environment that we were expecting. There was also an issue with people 'reserving' the loungers and cabanas with bags and towels before 8am. Not what we expected from a boutique hotel.
As we had the Moon deck we were not reliant on the pool area for sunbathing but we would have preferred to be able to swim.The strip of beach in front of the hotel is very narrow and we were unable to use it due to high tides where the waves were actually hitting the boundary wall. Even when the tide receded there was no room to lie out in front of the hotel.
The restaurant isn't great for lunch or dinner. The food is mediocre, a bit too western and it lacks ambience in the evening. With so much cheap, excellent food nearby they need to offer something a bit more special.
In many ways this hotel is nearly there but they need to decide whether they are aiming at the family market or a more relaxed, adult customer base.

Room Tip: None of the terraces get sun (or very little) as they are facing north so would recommend Moon Deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metrodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2011. Always spend a lot of time researching to find the 'perfect' place for a break and decided to try Hua Hin having been to Phuket, Samui and Koh Lanta among others.

FIrst of all, Hua Hin is in my opinion more down market that the other places stayetioned. So, there are not lots of upscale places to stay. Cape Nidhra is, from what I've seen, one of the best. New, nicely designed, clean. Definitely recommend the Mood Deck Rooms as you have your own private roof terrace. This was great as the pool area is a bit of a bun fight for beds.

If it was my hotel, I would sort there restaurant out. At night, dim the lights, get some candles on the tables, and make it feel more inviting. Right now it looks like a canteen.

All staff, while friendly overall, lack the Thai charm. I felt the staff in the restaurant seemed unhappy in their jobs and just didn't have the warmth that you normally associate with Thai hotels.

All sounds picky I know. It is a nice place. However, people with kids, can you go somewhere else? It is not a family hotel or place for kids. If you do bring them, keep and eye on them. I don't want to hear your kids running around and you shouting at them in the pool. Go to the Sofitel / Hilton where they have kids facilities.

Lastly it's right on the main road but you don't hear the noise that much. The surrounding landscape is a bit rough but again, this doesn't spoil the overall stay.

Would I return to this hotel? Yes, if I had to come back to Hua HIn. Would I come back to Hua Hin? No.

Room Tip: Book the moon deck room to ensure privacy anda sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takemetohrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Cape Nidhra is small beautiful hotel on the beach with great design and excellent location. My bedroom is spacious with big windows and private swimming pool. The staff are very attentive to your needs. I love having breakfast while watching the sea . It is very peaceful. The variety of the food is great too with both western and Thai food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
1.7 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,305 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
2.8 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 142 in Hua Hin
2,175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 142 in Hua Hin
1,303 reviews
4.1 mi away
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
Anantara Hua Hin Resort
#10 of 142 in Hua Hin
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Nidhra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Nidhra Hotel

Address: 97/2 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $194 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Nidhra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Nidhra offers its guests the best accommodation in this sought after location. Characterized by its impeccable service and its elegant accommodation, the hotel has been described as “one of the most distinctive in Hua Hin”. Perched on the shores of Hua Hin’s breathtaking beach, the hotel offers easy access to the seaside town’s wonderful street markets, shopping centres, restaurants, pubs and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Nidhra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Nidhra, Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing