We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another pleasant stay except for feeble wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin
Ranked #36 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Kololi, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay except for feeble wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Choosing this hotel situated in the centre of HH for the 2nd time was an easy decision. Immaculately kept, Thai themed & exceptionally comfortable all at a reasonable cost. Choosing a suite (without view on a lower floor) provided extra space but without the noise from the pool pump found on the higher floors. The vast bed was supremely comfortable, the bathroom with shower & jacuzzi bath. Care needs to be taken with the water as it comes out cold, hot or scalding. The room fridge provided the desired artic temperatures as did the air con unit. The bedroom's large flat screen tv came with a dvd. With dvds for sale locally for just £1 the dire local tv offerings can be avoided easily. Breakfast is improved, offering both breakfast for foreigners or 'dinner' than serves as breakfast, lunch and dinner for some other nationalities, but is still better than the majority of the awful food served locally. My only gripe was needing to clear tables of debris myself on occasion to get seated. The real downside here (seemingly prevalent across the whole country) is the feeble provision of wifi which just didn't work at all. (Somebody somewhere needs to explain that a wifi router doesn't spray fine gold dust but just emits radio waves so that customers can use their latest high tech gadgets with ease!) Nevertheless an extremely pleasant stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a suite for extra space and comfort, lower floors if you will be disturbed by the groaning of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    103
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
103
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

What an amazing hotel. Looks new. Front desk was very nice. Pool is amazing with a great view! Perfect location close to night market, Chatsulak market, when you exit the hotel, on your right there is a coffee shop and a massage place that is great! 10 minutes walk to the Beach close to the Hilton. Rooms was beautiful, comfortable bed. Good basic breakfast except the coffee. A 7Eleven right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Chalelarn has an excellent location close to the center of Muang Hua Hin and close enough to the beaches near the Hilton Hotel (about 10 minutes walking). The rooms are nicely decorated, ours was quiet, and the bed comfortable. My traveling companion had an issue with the AC cycling on and off as it reached its set temperature. I had an issue with the shower head being too low and there being no shower curtain or partition and the water going everywhere, as others have noted. I wish that they would re-design the internet protocol. Its restricted to two devices and I had a host of problems signing in after using a different device. It was nearly impossible to get anything done continuously. When it did work it was strong enough, however. The breakfast was ok not great, and its better to get there early as they do tend to run out of items. We did not use the pool area. Bell staff were very nice; front desk staff were efficient but not effusively friendly by Thai standards, but given the endless parade of high season obnoxious, boorish "farang" that we saw, its almost understandable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Hotel itself is pretty ok they say remodelled hmmmm the pool ICE Cold! The free breakfast awful! I think the whole problem is communicating in English! They cannot. I cannot speak Thai except please and thank you... so we really were at a loss and this hotel Staff tried hard!! Although I do Not know the Bell boys name he was so Happy and tried to be helpful. I do Thank him.. We had a great view from room. ! I guess I'm trying to find good things to say. sorry I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I thought middle of the scale would be ok BUT go to a different hotel and in this town pay a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

good location by walk to the beach 5 mins and walk to the night market 5 mins room very clean and very nice area the 7 11 just opposite and massage just next door. Swimming is on the roof is very beautiful. i really happy to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kunballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, new and nice interior. Close to nightlife and Night Market, but no place to stay for beach vacation. Nice little pool are on 8th floor with view over ocean and city. Ok breakfast, all you need, but less choice than the larger hotels.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Øivind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

For our short stay we decided to stay in Hua Hin centre. Hotel Chalelarn is in the heart of town. It offers a somewhat more local experience than the resort beach holiday. We wanted to have a good base to explore the town and outskirts (Pala U waterfall, Elephant Village) and it's a great hotel for this purpose. It's a three-minute walk to the night market with great dining options, has a quiet running trail all the way to the coast and a 711 for basic necessities across the road. The hotel also hire out scooters to guests and this by far is the most effective way to travel around Hua Hin. I have posted some pictures and can highly recommend this place and the fantastic team that are running the operation.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_n_adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#30 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
MANATHAI Hua Hin
MANATHAI Hua Hin
#41 of 133 in Hua Hin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#39 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
D Varee Diva Kiang Haad Beach
2.6 mi away
Ayrest Hua Hin Hotel
Ayrest Hua Hin Hotel
#34 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Pavilion Hua Hin
Royal Pavilion Hua Hin
#26 of 133 in Hua Hin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin

Property: Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin
Address: 53/1 Nahb Kaehat Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 133 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing