We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Oasis of Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devasom Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A wonderful, family run boutique hotel with only a limited number of rooms & villas. It is some 10km out of Hua Hin city centre, so it is quite peaceful and relaxing. The grounds extend into the Bay of Thailand but while we were there, we did not see any beach as such. Unless you have your own car, you will have to rely on taxis to get into town (cost about THB300) as the hotel shuttle service is infrequent.
Would certainly recommend this place for chilling out!

Room Tip: For couples, the beach villas are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NavUK1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 735 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I arrived here from Bangkok on New years day 2014. The Devasom arranged for us to be collected from Don Mueang airport in Bangkok by a private car and driver. It was hassle free, simple, and a nice 2 hour drive down to the resort in a comfortable air conditioned Toyota Camry. It cost about THB 3000.
What can I say? We were warmly welcomed and our room was beautiful.

A pair of towel swans adorned our bed (A kind geature as it was our honeymoon) along with fresh flowers, petals and a plate of fresh fruit. The view was stunning, overlooking the infinity pool and ocean with a large balcony and outdoor lounger.

We had a slight issue with the plumbing in our room, but the next day we were very kindly upgraded from a superior room to a suite, with the sincerest of apologies. Beautiful.
The staff were amazing and totally professional. We were treated graciously and with the utmost respect.

Daily happy hours from 14:00 to 17:00 bacame a regular part of our routine, a cocktail or 2 by the pool and a game of Euchre in the warm sun.
The restaurant served both european and traditional Thai cuisine which were both very good and very reasonably priced.

I used the excellent free shuttle service from the resort to Hua Hin to explore the city and various markets on offer in the city (also to chow down on the local street food, which I love) and are bountiful in Hua Hin.

A taxi to and from the city of Hua Hin costs about THB250 and is only a 10-15 minute drive.

We spent an amazing and memorable 6 days in total at the Devasom. Upon our departure we were farewelled by the Managing Director of the resort, given some poigniant advice about travel in Bangkok, exchanged pleasantries, and were sadly on our way.

I have no hesitation in recommending this little gem of a resort to anyone who fancies being treated royally and needs a nice quiet break away from it all. 5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: Choose a villa, suite or superior room. They are all good and there is bound to be one that fits mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werdnareldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just come back from spending 9 days at the Devasom over New Year. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

We stayed in one of the beach villas (which is really a pool view villa) and loved our room. The decor is stylish, elegant and simple. The room is very spacious and you have everything you could ask for.

We spent most days at the resort just relaxing, reading and chilling out. It was the perfect chill out holiday.

COMMENTS:

BEDS : they are hard. It took us a little while to get use to them but they're not rock hard just very firm.

WIFI: it times out quickly but the hotel people are already looking into it.

FOOD : we found the food to be quite good. Is it the best you're going to have, no, but it was very good. Again the staff were great about adjusting dishes dependent upon level of spiciness you wanted. One of us likes very spicy and one likes only a teaspoons worth. Price wise we found it very reasonable.

BEACH : There is not a beach, as many have already noted. However, when we were there the water recedes in the evening (5pm) and you can stroll along to the Sheraton (one way) or to the Dusit (the other way) within 10 mins.

SPA : They don't have a spa but they can arrange massages and treatments at the resort. Alternatively book into the Sheraton Spa or the Dusit Spa. We tried both and the Dusit wins by a tiny margin.

LOUNGES & POOL : We didn't experience any issues with these which others have commented on. The hotel was full while we were there but there was no issue getting a lounger. The pools were nice and easy to use. Although a little cool at that time of the year. There was also plenty of shade provided by the large tree for those that wanted it and there were umbrellas for those on the sandy bit at the front of the lawn.

LOCATION : The hotel is not in Hua Hin as mentioned by others. You do need to get a tuk tuk or taxi or the hotel bus. This wasn't a problem for us. We were there as a holiday to do nothing but chill out. Getting into town only takes 10mins.

MINIBAR : As noted by someone else, it doesn't have alcohol and they only replenish it once a day. However we were advised that we could request diet coke if we dont want full sugar coke, etc. For alcohol, happy hour is from 2pm til 5pm when it's 2-4-1.

STAFF : The staff are lovely. Always willing to help, smiley and friendly. Every one of them was nice, from the gardeners to the wait staff to housekeeping to the security guard. They all work extremely hard and seem to work really well as a team with people willing to cross over into different areas as needed. Yes some don't have brilliant fluent english, but we managed quite well.

CHILDREN : This place isn't suitable for children, there's nowhere for them to play or hang out, the pool does have sharp edges. It really is best as a place for couples.

SMOKING : All the rooms are non-smoking. The restaurant is non-smoking as well. Although we did notice that there is one table at the very front that occassionally had smokers on it. Around the pool it's non-smoking as well. All of which we really liked. Tired of going to resorts in Thailand sitting by the pool and being covered in someone else's ash and secondhand smoke.

SUMMARY :
We loved our time there. The whole ambience is one of tranquility.

The team do some really good things, like when you have booked to go in on the 6pm bus to town, if it gets full, they hire a second van. Nobody gets told that they can't go in because it's full.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPMKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, quiet, clean. The staff were excellent, friendly and very responsive. The room (we stayed in a villa by the pool) was clean, big, nicely decorated. The breakfast were excellent with varieties. Everything was perfect if you need to stay quietly, relax, peacefully by the seaside. However, the hotel is not in Hua Hin. It is located some kilometers before Hua Hin and the sign is not very obvious (Look for Sheraton Hotel which has big sign, around 500m after Sheraton, you will see the hotel sign, turn left to reach the hotel). If you want to go to town (Hua Hin), the hotel provides shuttle bus, which is not very convenience. The shuttle bus schedule is every 4 hours, 3 times daily, and you have to book in advance. My friend was sick and we need to go to the hospital at 9 pm. It would be very difficult if we did not have a car. Anyway, we really like this hotel, the staff, the cleanness, the quietness, the very relax atmosphere, etc. We recommend this hotel, and we will come back to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa by the pool. The room is big, the bathroom is cute. We have a small comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pm-pmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a family trip to Hua Hin in Nov. Been wondering about this place as I've been aiming to come here for quite sometime already, but never had the chance as it doesn't feel like a couple's kind of place. 1st off, the website was gorgeous so is the resort. It is smaller than I thought, but the rooms are spacious. Beautifully designed very well maintained. Very detailed oriented. Every piece of furnishing had been carefully selected and placed.

Very nice breakfast, and dinner is excellent(aside from the Kuay Tiew Radna with special sauce).

It rained the whole time that we were there, but it is still nice. The waxed paper umbrella is a bit small for 2 person and not very easy to use, but it blends well with the resort theme.

Room: Seaside Suite is probably the best room layout, but don't take the one on the 2nd floor as there are no view(blocked by trees). Beach villas, the first 4 units are not that great, it's the beachfront one that you want, but I not sure if it was worth it. There's no smoking at the balcony of the hotel rooms. Only designated smoking area is near the public used bathroom on the 1st floor. Hmmm...ok, the shower is very wet. There's no curtain or door to the shower area, even if you use the rain shower the water is still gonna splatter out. These are minor stuff off course. Over all experience was great. Oh and no elevators, so not recommended for disabled even at the villas. There are also flight of stairs and if it rain, the stairs get slippery. Despite all these I would still recommend this resort. This is a privately operated resort and were greeted by the owner herself. So everything is very personalize. I would definitely stay here again with family.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Seaside suites and Devasom Grand rooms are probably the best as they are the biggest and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonwu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Personally I like staying in boutique hotels which are quiet and not have to be surrounded with lots of people. Devasom Hua Hin Resort is such that. There's not too many rooms hence you have all the peace you want whilst staying here.

My friend and myself opted to stay in the small huts (a pity the beachfront villa was fully booked). Nevertheless, we are able to get the 2nd villa from the beachfront, and see get a good view of the sea.

As you can see from the pictures that I post, the villa is really comfortable and quaint. Its as though you are staying in a vintage beach house. The bed was really comfortable, and the pillows were fluffy and firm.

The hotel grounds are really beautiful and you can just laze in the wooden rocking chairs placed outside the villa, and just daze into the beautiful scenery.

Hotel's breakfast is plentiful in variety. There were hot and cold dishes to choose from, and the hot dishes (rice / noodles / meat / vegetables / tofu etc) were actually delicious. and service was impeccable everything at the hotel.

Everything about this hotel is perfect. Am almost feeling selfish to want to share this hotel with others... We couldn't bear to check out of the hotel after 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Devasom is a small, privately owned resort that is very beautiful and relaxing. We stayed in a poolside villa, which was very comfortable, clean and roomy.
Do be aware that the resort is not near town, so you will need to catch a taxi,(THB250-300 one way) or the hotel's shuttle bus. The bus does need to run more often as it currently runs only at 11, 2 and 6pm to go into the town.
As the resort is small, it is not suited for young children, which suited us.
The beach at Hua Hin generally is not a nice tropical beach a some may expect and the resort's beach is not existent at high-tide. The infinity pool well and truly makes up for this.
The food is amazing and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We recommend this resort for couples who are looking for a romantic, Thai cottage experience. Definitely stay in the villas!
We hope to return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SimKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
5.8 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,318 reviews
9.0 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
10.3 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
7.2 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 144 in Hua Hin
835 reviews
9.0 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devasom Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devasom Hua Hin Resort

Address: 1446/23 Petchkasem Road, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $134 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devasom Hua Hin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a pristine beach of Thailand's best-loved historical resort town is a small luxury resort reminiscing Hua Hin beach front charms. Devasom Hua Hin Resort offers a unique seaside relaxing retreat. All 24 units are seaview and delicately designed to reflect Hua Hin's old time glamour. An award-winning beachfront destination for your restful holiday, Devasom invites our guests to join a journey to unwind into relaxing luxury, a journey to rewind the senses of Siamese beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Devasom Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devasom Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing