We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.... but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Hua Hin
Ranked #68 of 290 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice.... but...”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Not the typical hotels that are aplenty lining parallel to the shoreline of Cha-Am and Hua Hin, but more like a twenty over units of two and three bedroom villas cuddled up in the middle of scorched farmlands within the vicinity of a few also scorched hills. Getting there requires some intuitive navigation skills and some phone calls to the resort as cows passed by your car on the local roads that you will be lost.

The Residence Hua Hin, is located next to Stamford University. However, unlike the university that could afford a large piece of land thus the strategic entrance from the main Phet Kasem road, entry to The Residence Hua Hin is from Hua Hin Soi 6, pass a railway track and through many villages inland that requires some driving. The villas are single storey bungalows toned orange brown enclosed by bamboo fence that's too low for any privacy comfort. So one could not skinny dip into the small Jacuzzi so inviting out front of the every villa on a hot day's night. The villas are all very spacious, a few of which have three bedrooms with the rest made up of two bedrooms units. In fact it is so spacious that if your friends brings along their own sleeping bags, you could sleep well over ten just in the living room. However, the air conditioners have aged and took a long time to cool the room down. So for the first half of the night, your slumber will be an episode between waking up to scratch unknown number of mosquitoes bites and peaceful hibernation before one can finally snuggle fully into the so thick comforter shielding one from the abundant pest.

The Kings sized bed, is actually made up of two rather hard mattress. You gotta roll over the hard ridge in your sleep on the bed I think intended for people with back problems. It's too rigid for my preference and I truly did not enjoy my sleep at all, waking up a dozen time looking at the clock hoping morning will come soon. Breakfast, I wished they could have done better for the price that one has to pay. Limited in selection and equivalent to two star motel quality which I frequent on my upcountry work trips. Dinner, again a disappointment on my end. Fish & Chips - Cod coated in delicious batter served with French Fires and salad the menu stated. And so I ordered with high expectations on the taste of a true English Fish & Chips reminiscence of my childhood which I had so many. Now the batter was good, but the Cod is not a Cod. It was some fishy tasting thin slab of local shallow water fish. So, don't ever ever ever ever order the Fish & Chips here. It ain't chip either.

Showering in the villas expect some surprises. Well there's a huge bathtub one could onzen in the bathroom and that's a plus point. Water pleasantly heated will be available and the flow is strong so no minus points on that too. Draining the tub, my bathroom was flooded from the water oozing out from the other drainage hole driving up scores of black scum accompanied by an appalling smell which infiltrated into the bedroom. No more onzen for me after my first try. Maintenance on the clogged drainage had been neglected in the villas and I wonder if they knew. Big minus point.

If it is a quite place one is looking for to be with a number of friends to get away from Bangkok, then The Residence Hua Hin is one good idea. Since it is spacious and large, taking on a three bedroom unit will allows for six or more guest. Chilling out to wine and snacks chattering the night away. Holding that cold beer in the Jacuzzi amongst laughter of friends soaking. Away from the packed beach pubs and noisy hotels lining the shoreline, this will be the place for you. However, if you come along with great expectation on the F&B, the quality of sleep matching the price, then one will truly be disappointed. Impression neutral I have, but nevertheless over these New Year holidays, rested my mind somehow I had.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kings L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We arrived with my husband on Hua Hin residence after being picked up in Bangok AIrport by the Hua Hin residence pick up service.The vehicle that they sent was in perfect condition and the driver expremely polite and spoke perfect english.The drive was very smooth and pleasant and since it was out first time going to Hua Hin for us the drive was very enjoyable.

The Hua Hin Residence is in a quiet spot close to some beautiful hills and the amazing Palm hills golf course. The place is serene and peacefull full of green and vegetation. We rented one of the two bedroum villas which was vary spacious with two huge on suite bedrooms. The living com kichen area was also very spacious and nicely decorated with wide screen tv and dvd equipment.

Our outdoor yard with the plunge pool was also amazing ,not to mention the common huge swimming pool with three palm trees inside.

The staff were very friendly and always smiling.The villa was cleaned daily for us.

Dont miss trying the amazing small estaurant at the residence and try especially the home made spring rolls,chicken and cashew nuts and the burger!!!

Dont leave before you try the spa and the 2hr massage treatment from heaven.

The residence also offers free shuttle to Hua Hin center (less than 10min drive)several times a day plus you can have free bikes to go for a ride around the countryside.

Room Tip: All villas had privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed here from Sep11th- 13th'11. We booked 2 villas with 2 bedrooms through Golf of Siam package. The villas were tastefully decorated size of approximately 120 sq m, sufficient amenities, a simple kitchenette with dining and comfortable living area. Rooms had split unit air conditioning unit, dining area had a 2hp air conditioning unit, therefore the whole villa was kept cool. Had a nice little jacuzzi in each villa, housekeeping staff kept the villa well maintained. Beds were comfortable, only setback was the pillows were too high and soft (synthetic filled). Tropical countries are always prone to mosquitoes, best way is having scented oil fragrant like lemongrass or eucalyptus applied on tissues in room or toilets preventing mosquitoes in the evening. Windows should be kept closed during dusk.
Swimming pool was well landscaped, lots of palm trees to keep swimmers in shade. A nice and small restaurant with simple menu to whet our appetite after a tiring day. Breakfast was a la carte, basic but sufficient to fill our stomachs as most guests here will tee off early morning.
The staff of The Residence were all friendly and helpful, especially the kitchen staff were very accommodating, assisting us to heat up our food bought from a Muslim stall in town.
Location of The Residence is off the town area, arrangement with front desk for shuttle van can easily be arranged for send off & pick up from town which is about 20 minutes away.
We had always preferred staying in resorts away from crowd. However accessibility of courtesy transport available will not pose any difficulties. This place is very suitable for a quiet & peaceful holiday, yet you can stroll Hua Hin town by courtesy shuttle van.
Hua Hin has some real good and reputable golf courses, it was certainly an experience for golfers to enjoy their tee off the beautiful green carpet grass, an expression they can only feel.
Tip for Muslim travelers - inside Chat Chai market there's a simple and basic stall Muslim food stall opened from morning till 4 pm. Lynn and Arif served the tastiest seafood fried rice that I had tried. You may buy seafood ( clams, prawns, fish ) from the market and they will cook for you for a nominal fee. It is best to take-away and enjoy the meal at the comfy villa. Try the Mango and sticky rice is available in this wet market, it's really tasty and addictive.
The ever helpful staff and friendliness shown, will keep us returning here @The Residence Hua Hin.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLoi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Organised by a good friend of mine as he is a regular visitor to this property.

Location
A bit far from the town centre and the beach. A 18 hole golf course, a university campus next to the property.

Room
Spacious, Clean and the bed is good. Make sure all windows are closed when sleeping. Mosquito is a problem here. My brother and I had more than 10 bites in 1 night!

Each villa has its own spa - very relaxing.

Internet
The wireless did not work during the 2 night stay. No staff has a clue on how to make it work.

Breakfast
Choice of Western or Thai. A buffet breakfast is served if more guests staying in the property.

Amenities
Gym equipment looks new (didn't try). Cycling nearby is a treat. The villa can lend you a bike for free but I don't think they have many.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The detached villa with it's own spa pool was great.- a fabulous way to cool down without having to venture far from your lovely air conditioned villa. The villa was very clean and the staff helpful. Big comfy bed. Shuttle bus into town is a lovely bonus. We went to a traditional Thai restaurant that was recommended by Pomm the manageress. She even arranged for the shuttle bus to collect us from the restaurant as it was a little further out of town. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The food on site was very good wth plenty of variety to keep us Brits happy. Our visit was over the Thai New Year so the guests and staff had a very memorable day and a huge water fight! It is something that my husband and I will remember forever.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerRamjet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

After many years of holidays in Thailand staying at hotels this was the first stay in our own private villa. So relaxing, with great amenities, we didn't need to go into town. We had needed a total chill out and this was the perfect place for us. The shuttle bus was on site when we were ready to venture out although we usually ate at the restaurant in the evenings as the food was very good. WE SHALL RETURN.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valtomere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2010

It was our fist time to Thailand and from the moment we arrived the staff at the residence were on hand at all times. Very nice accomidation with great golf courses in the sur rounding areas. Food was good and the air condition was certainley up to the job as the temp was around 35 most of the holiday. Made full use of the spar and gym. Nice clean pool. Used the bike hire to go to town centre once or twice. Also found tennis court locally which was very cheap to hire.

We also visited the national park which was beautiful and di some fresh water fishing wish was truly amazing.

Very relaxing and special holiday for us and would go back. .

Mark & Leigh

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astonjagcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
8.4 mi away
G.House
G.House
#52 of 136 in Hua Hin
84 reviews
8.9 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,273 reviews
9.7 mi away
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
G Hua Hin Resort & Mall
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#14 of 136 in Hua Hin
448 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dhevan Dara Resort & Spa Hotel
8.7 mi away
Baan Talay Chine
Baan Talay Chine
#65 of 136 in Hua Hin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hua Hin

Property: The Residence Hua Hin
Address: Bor Fai, Soi 6, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residence Hua Hin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Hua Hin offers luxury two and three bedroom villas with private gardens and jacuzzi pools. The resort also offers a main swimming pool, restaurant, pub and pool bar, fitness suite and spa. Just a short distance to the beach or town, there is a regular shuttle bus service. Golf rounds can be arranged at neighbouring Palm Hills Country Club or any of the other popular golf courses in Hua Hin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing