We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our elephantbaby”
Review of Elephant Village

Elephant Village
Hoganas, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our elephantbaby”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Since our first time in Hua Hin in early 2005 we have visit the Village every year, to meet our "baby", the little elephant that just where some month old when we first went there.
The first time we went out for the ride and just loved it and we also recomend our friends to do it when they first visit Hua Hin, the view and the nature are worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    68
    60
    27
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Majestic animals”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

After long consideration we took a trip to the elephant village. The people there were helpfull and nice to the elephants. Along the way you can make a ride yourself, and your guide will ask you to buy handmade souvenirs.
Still, fir western people it's harsh to see elephants on a chain. Or the baby's who need to perform tricks. It was a lovely experience, but we didn't do it again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelica1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great fun, well cared for, voice control”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

After reading many reviews both my and my husband regretted booking trip but wanted to check that everything was okay here.

We arrived at 8.00am there was only us there. We met our elephant for the ride, a lovely 35year only lady elephant. She seamed happy and quite a character, while out on our ride she sent away stray dogs with her trunk and took a branch from a tree to ether waft away flys, cool herself or waft me I'm not sure haha we had a great time. All the elephants looked in great condition no cut and all responded to our guides voice as he spoke to her and often praised her. Although he has a stick with a hook it was never once used (this I feel is the same as having a whip with a horse; you don't need to use it just holding it makes them behave)

The elephant lifted the guide to her shoulders; here is a great group of 11 families with 13 elephants all well looked after, very well fed and all very happy.

We where charged 1000 Thai baht each for the ride. 100 Thai baht for a basket of bananas to feed the elephant (we treated her to two baskets) two framed photos of our ride 400 Thai baht, a lovely bracelet made by the family 400 Thai baht and our taxis there and back 400 Thai baht. Totalling roughly £36.80. I highly recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank CharChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“It is a joke for the name of the ride”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This elephant village is NOT what we expected. The ride was too expensive for a FAKE jungle ride. We felt so sad that they hit the elephant we were riding so hard so he moved the way they want him to moved. Never again we will ride on the elephant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Relaxison99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hua hin elephant village”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been to elephant parks in Malaysia,indonesia and other places in thailand.....this one was the worst....dont go there!!!!!!
I bought banana s when i walked in.....the mahouts just sitting there and dont even bother to get up when you tell em you dont want to go for a ride....love elephant but these ones absolutly scared me....they were very restless and nervous,i didnt wanna go too close but the mahouts just said...go go...they wont hurt you!!!!! The 3 year old baby was chained up and taken of the chain when you got close,make to do tricks and i do admit,it was nice to be kissed by the baby.....but then you are forced to make a donation.The park is not clean,skinny stray dogs around....dont go there!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Elephant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing