We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful treatment of stressed elephants chained up! Please do not go!”
Review of Elephant Village

Elephant Village
UK
Level Contributor
635 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Awful treatment of stressed elephants chained up! Please do not go!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We went here thinking it was a sanctuary! It couldn't e further from the truth!
Our first sight after being hassled for money was an 18 month old elephant without its mother chained up pace back and forth the few feet it could clearly very bore and stressed. We asked the attendant if he was ok and she replied "she's a baby she wants to go and play". So let him then!!!
There are a number of quite elderly elephants who basically stand chained to a tree until a ride is needed and the trainers who force them to do tricks use sharp hooks over their ears to push them into moving.
The elephant trainer tried to sell us what looked like ivory jewellery saying that he needed the money to feed the elephant. An awful place and I would strongly reccomend that if you have any animal compassion you do not go here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    68
    60
    28
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Badly treated animals! Boycott!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent all of 5 minutes here. She noticed what the so called trainers were using had almost a sharp hook attached to one end and several cuts on the baby elephant at the entrance. It was tied with a chain that only allowed it to go around in a circle with a radius of 3 feet!! No water either. Extremely disturbing and when she questioned the "keeper" repeatedly, he stormed off. We left immediately after.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Arsibd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Riding, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Value for Money Experience”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent outing and well worth the money. Handlers were respectful towards the snakes, crocodiles and elephants. Staff were friendly and free pick up from our apartment was a bonus. Elephant ride was amazing and handlers let me ride for about 15 minutes on the neck of the elephant which brought one closer to the animals. Although commercialised one must understand that the handlers need the extra cash. We did not watch the elephant show as it is something that would most likely upset me - I don't like circus acts with animals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vernepagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I love this Elephant park”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We love this elephant so much such beautiful and graceful animal. my husband would love to come here and live and work with the elephant cause he say this animal such beautiful creature from the Gods

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinChan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamenca, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well worth a visit. More elephants than I imagined. A good hours trecking on the elephant. Afterwards got a drink & pineapple & chance to get some pictures of yourself riding the elephant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Elephant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing