We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grat day out for the kids”
Review of Elephant Village

Elephant Village
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A grat day out for the kids”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a great break from just being around the beach. Arrange this excursion with your hotel and enjoy a fantastic day riding and feeding the elefants in a beautifull are not far from Hua-Hin centre. Its cheap, clean and the people are very welcoming and helpfull.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    70
    61
    28
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

OK £20.00 per person for a one hour Elephant ride. but hey it feeds the elephants. It can be very hot so cover up well, they provide umbrellas but it's not easy to hold on an elephant.
The downside is that the Mahoots will try to sell you trinkets that are dubious in quality and over priced, and if you don't want anything they can badger you a bit for money.
To hell with that you just paid £20.00 plus per person to ride a Chang.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJack112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So-so experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went here by Tuk tuk, versus taking a tour. We only randomly found out about this place after the Tuk Tuk driver suggested it. It was about 7-8kms outside of Hua Hin, so it's not far away. When we got there, I was shocked to learn that the admission was 1,500 baht for adults and 1000 baht for kids; we paid it since we were out there.

They offer different packages:
- Elephant show + elephant ride
- Crocodile farm
- ATVs

We only did the Elephant show + the elephant ride

Staff:
The staff is VERY pushy. They try to upsell you on everything! They ask for tips, they try to sell you stuff, overall, they're quite aggressive

Experience:
The elephant show wasn't very good. We've been to the one in Sam Phram, outside of Bangkok and this doesn't compare. You really feel sorry for the elephants, they do not look happy at all. The only enjoyable part of the show was being able to feed them bananas... which, by the way, takes up A LOT of the time... they tell you that the show is 1 hour long, but a good 30 mins is dedicated to letting people feed the elephants bananas.

The elephant ride was worth it. Our driver was pretty good. They get off the elephant half way through to offer to take pictures for you - they will expect a tip. In lieu of the tip, we bought a necklace off of him for 300 baht - he said it was made of elephant teeth and not of elephant ivory or plastic. The elephant ride was LONG! it was a good 40+ minutes, but it was very fun. Bring an umbrella, it really helps you get some shade, as the pathway isn't very shaded. Our driver gave us an umbrella, but the Chinese couple in front of us did not get one from their driver... even though he had one - actually, I think they pissed him off; he didn't even offer to take pictures for them.

Facilities
There are animals and elephants all over the place. As is the case with most of Asia, the area isn't necessarily the most child friendly - always keep a sharp eye out on your little ones because there are wild animals roaming, LOTS of places to fall, and quite a few sharp things; there's also a lot of Europeans... who LOVE to smoke everywhere; it is difficult to escape the second hand smoke.

One big thing - i felt bad for the animals; you can tell they're being totally exploited... actually, that's a bit of everywhere in Thailand... we saw other elephants being exploited when we visited one of the floating markets. If you're sensitive to things like this; it's probably best you avoid this attraction... in fact, i would probably avoid it altogether, as the value for your money will probably leave you disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“really enjoyable experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Well cared for animals in nice location.we enjoyed our trip and was reasonably priced.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good trip”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great for a family day out - lots to see and do. Watch out for the gorgeous gibbon.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Elephant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing