We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary excellence”
Review of Lo Stivale

Lo Stivale
Ranked #36 of 623 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
tynemouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Culinary excellence”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have had three meals at this wonderful Italian on this trip.
The menu is fabulous, and the food is delicious. My husband said his steak wasthe best ever. I love tagliatelle, and it's cooked to perfection. The sauce is so good and the portions are right.
The staff are gracious and knowledgeable, especially Robin.
We have met the owner, and he introduced himself, and made us welcome.
The food is excellent value for money. The red wine is really nice. In many restaurants in Hua Hin the wine is dreadful and overpriced. A great romantic meal with Italian music. You must go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantesdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    65
    17
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Lo Stivale is trying to do all the right things. It has the atmosphere, attentive waitstaff, reasonable wine selection served a good temperatures and their pizzas are yummy. They let themselves down on some of their pasta dishes where the pasta is not always fresh, although the sauces are good. In my experience the Gnochi can be a little to heavy and chewy, whilst the Gorgonzolla sauce is great. So a little bit hit & miss but will return to try more as it remains to be a good western restaurant of which there are far and few between in Hua Hin.

Helpful?
Thank Yahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, dedicated service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

A good italian restaurant on a nice place in the middle of town, opposite of the Hilton. The anti pasta is the best in town: excellent by any standard, both the quality as the selection of dishes. The pasta, vis and meat good. The pizza not impressive. The desserts perfect (share one with the two of you).

In the warm Italian service the dinner will be made complete with a free good tasting limoncello or grappa.

If you want to taste an excellent red wine order the primitivo, not cheap but very recommandable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gjhuahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Third visit...”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We'd been before on a previous visit a couple of years ago and given that it was opposite the Hilton we decided to eat here again - it was so good that we returned the following night!
The restaurant gives a choice of air conditioned indoors or al fresco outside, outside seems to fill up quickest and in higher season you will struggle to get a table here, it's (rightly) a very popular spot. The menu is limited but excellent, the service is attentive but at times the food can be a little slow out of the kitchen thought I'm reticent to criticize as I believe this to be a reflection of it's quality. The staff are very child friendly and the prices represent very good value - as always in Thailand the pork and chicken dishes are the value/quality picks on the meat front...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank slj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cosy place for a good meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed in HH for 4 nights and i ate in this restaurant on 3 memorable occasions. The food and service was first class and we were lucky enough to have the owner around for most nights, a real typical italian guy with some great stories to tell.I would recommend you make a booking if visiting during high season.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Stivale also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Lo Stivale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing