We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food turn Un memorable”
Review of Chao Lay

Chao Lay
Ranked #126 of 861 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

It was windy night when we parked our car at custoners free parking lot (only Chao lay got this and non else), we decided to sit a corner table.

Food was ordered, drinks served, we started having fun, enjoying the food though but by 9.00 pm, the waiters starts keeping their chairs, making too much disturbances while gossiping loudly.

I noticed that a lots of Chinese people comes here as tour buses ushers them in exchange for a cut in commissions and dont bother much with individual customers..

I wont be visiting this anymore as there were 2 more equally big restaurants beside this place that i am thinking to visit soon.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 388 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2019

If you want a great and reasonable seafood..this will be a good place to visit. Fantastic food quality for the price paid.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LittleLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

We fortunately made it back for another great meal at our favourite seafood restaurant in Hua Hin. We made a reservation as it was Valentine's Day. The location is perfect, the food was excellent and the service was perfect. Eating here was the highlight to my wife's holidays and they didn't disappoint.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank MarcODAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

We have been going to Chao Lay over several years and visits to Hua Hin and have always enjoyed the food. This last visit was disappointing. The food had cooled off considerably by the time it was served, the server was not very welcoming or engaging, and several errors were made regarding our order. It seemed that Chao Lay has gone downhill, unfortunately.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Karonasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

Super menu laden with fish and seafood options. Very popular eith the locals which in itself is a great endorsement.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Lay also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chao Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing