We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood cooked in Thai style”
Review of Chao Lay

Chao Lay
Ranked #126 of 853 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This is one of my favourite seafood restaurants in Hua Hin. They typically get a good crowd so I've always found the seafood to be fresh. It can get quite crowded at dinner time, especially during th high season. Living in Cha-am I go here often, especially when I have visitors. All of the food is excellent. I'd especially recommend the curried crab.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Rondalebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 386 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2018

We went there, also as it is recommended by lonely planet. It is very busy, but what appears to be with lots of chinese tourists. We ordered seabass and another fish, as well as some shrimps. The shrimps in curry were very well prepared. The fish though was overfried. Really lacking any taste, except for a crispy crust. Prices are not very low.

So in conclusion: if you want to eat some seafood, there must be better places to go.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank worldtravellerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I had lunch here, a large restaurant on one of the old fishing piers, because it was packed with Asians; alas they were mostly Chinese tourists.
The food was good, though overpriced.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

After a few days of resort restaurant meals, we decided to head into Hua Hin for an authentic Thai experience. Down at the waterfront, there are a series of restaurants built over the water, offering a variety of menus.

We chose Chao Lay to dine at: as it was at capacity at 5.30pm on Saturday; the diners were all Thai; the restaurant was outdoors and above the water, offering views of the Gulf and the night markets on the jetty; and there was plenty of fresh seafood on the menu. Many of the other restaurants were empty at this time, whereas Chao Lay was constantly filling seats as diners vacated.

When we travel we always like to find restaurants that are filled to the brim, with their own country men. To us this is generally a good sign that the food is good and that it was.

However, if you looking for a venue with top notch service, this would not suit you.

It's a local place, that take your order (and maybe a phone call on their mobile whilst they're taking it); and serve you your food and drinks. Drinks were served promptly and revisited during the meal. Our food arrived within 15 minutes.

There are plenty of staff, but it's quite obvious that the service component is not how the Thai's run their restaurants, unless they are part of a wider International Chain, Hotel or Resort Group.

We ate here to experience a local Thai Restaurant, great food, and a lower price than what we pay at home. We watched many meals come out over the period and the food looked amazing. We dined on 2 prawn dishes, the pineapple fried rice and 2 long necks of Singha, with dinner coming to about $32AUD. We had a great time and would definitely dine here again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C0nstantlyOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We were glad we pick Chao Lay as it was the most popular waterfront restaurant in Hua Hin. Excellent reliable food nicely cooked.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billeclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Lay also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chao Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing