We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hua Hin waterside restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chao Lay

Chao Lay
Ranked #266 of 609 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hua Hin waterside restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't be put off by the entrance open fish tanks and a bit smelly when we went.
Upstairs is a huge restaurant spread over the beach and water and is very popular.
The atmosphere is good but weave had tastier food elsewhere in Hua Hin. Still worth avidity to decide for yourself as we may have been unlucky as you cannot get 100 people sitting down without something being right.
When in HuaHin give it a try 15 Naresdamri Road Hua Hin

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GVC1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    136
    53
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Cho Lay several times for their battered shrimp and shrimp wrapped in springroll wrappers. Yum! While the food was good, the service is consistently "unhappy". Would it hurt the service staff to crack a smile?! The delicious seafood more than makes up for the unhappy service, though! No smile = No tip!

Helpful?
Thank Karonasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have to say I enjoy almost every one of the seafood restaurants down by the beachfront but this is the one I remember the name of and I can therefore recommend it. We really enjoyed the food here and I have nothing to complain on the service either. Price is bearable but could be cheaper.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good food the service wasn't so good and we waited the food 1 hour and it's usually full so you need to wait for a table but if you visit hua hin you need to eat here !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliusFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Slocan, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I ate here based on the reviews from trip advisor - we were not disappointed. My girlfriend ordered the steam crab, I had the scallops and we both shared a dish of wok fried vegies. Everything was excellent, particularly the crab- it was super sweet and tasty (reminded me of dungeness crab from home. You won't be disappointed, however bewarned that half the restaurant has no cover so if the weather is a bit off you will want to get there early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capilano_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Lay also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chao Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing